CAN YOU SPEAK CHINESE?

JJ_JJ

Funny thing is, I have been hearing our own Chinese locals complaining that these FTs only speak Chinese.

I have never hear it from my Malays or Indians friends. I thought it is them who should be more irritated.

+1.

TS, the prc is employed by GIANT to serve Giant customer - for eg : customer asking where to find specific giant merchandise - or replenish stocks , or do cashier duties. This PRC in question is not Information Counter staff of Turf City!!! She is not obliged to answer your question in English....

What made you think I was not a patron that day? You need my receipts to prove what I bought there in Giant that day?

when i encounter a PRC who has problem speaking English, i will jolly well change to Mandarin...I just want to get my request right n done! If u r a chinese and u simply dont want to speak Mandarin, shame on u! The other day I saw a pinoy ordered chicken rice speaking in mandarin!

only ppl like non-chinese may have problem dealing w PRCs as their 2nd language is not mandarin so die die must speak in english...

although its better to hire someone who can speak english but in this case, a prc who cant speak english but can still speak mandarin, it doesnt affect me much.

Edited by Babyt

<<Story>>

I notice that most retail outlets and small eateries are filled with foreign customer service (Pinoys, China...especially).

I was at Turf City a couple of days back and was hunting for the Steamboat Restuarant. Maybe they had relocated and I was searching in vain.

Went into Giant Supermarket and was trying to ask for confirmation about the "Missing" Hotpot. Encountered this chinese lady customer service who was playing her handphone while standing at one location of the mart:-

Me :- Can you please tell me if the Steamboat Restuarant is still around? (In english)

She :- Can you speak chinese? (In mandarin)

Me:- No, I dont know chinese. (In mandarin)

Apparently, she is one china chineses foreign talents in SG.

It left me thinking, instead of apologising for not able to understand our common language, she could just blatantly "demand" others to speak "her" language. WTF customer service is that?

FRUIT FOR THOUGHTS:_ Why not GIANT employ our local aunties and uncles ? I dont mind speaking hokkien, teochew, cantonese to them when seeking their service; as compared to being asked to speak chinese by all these #!%*!$%*%#!^

Thanks for viewing and comments.

As much as I dislike too many FT...on SUnday, I was in a big retail outlet and there is a chinese sales .,..I talk to her in english and she really try her best to speak english to me...and I feel her english standard is really not bad...moreover, we are talking about technical specification of the item that I wanted to buy.....I was thinking she might had studied in singapore and worked after that so her english is good...to my surprise, I found out later that she was employed direct from china ''Jilin''......very good service standard, can speak reasonable english and well manner person too...at a later part..I switched to chinese in our discussion and she is even more delighted.........for this, I give a thumb up for her... [thumbsup]

Wait till u go big nite clubs in sin.

Suddenly all these English speaking big bosses can speak good mandarin to communicate with the xmm [laugh]

when i encounter a PRC who has problem speaking English, i will jolly well change to Mandarin...I just want to get my request right n done! If u r a chinese and u simply dont want to speak Mandarin, shame on u! The other day I saw a pinoy ordered chicken rice speaking in mandarin!

only ppl like non-chinese may have problem dealing w PRCs as their 2nd language is not mandarin so die die must speak in english...

although its better to hire someone who can speak english but in this case, a prc who cant speak english but can still speak mandarin, it doesnt affect me much.

Whats so shameful whether if you choose to speak in one language or the other? Your sentence one just slapped your sentence two without prejudice.

If i couldnt speak one language which was probed, I would apologise for my incapability and request another mutual language for understanding. It will be especially so if I put myself in the servicing front. To put it in layman's, if i speak one language to you and you dont understand; would you express your regrets and seek a mutual communicable language or would you just be like that PRC ?

Glad that you are open minded enough to see that not all PRC are bad. I had good and bad experiences with foreigners so i don't immediately write them off as bad like other singaporeans do.

In fact i am so far very impressed with the PRC and pinoy, their service is good, they strive harder at their jobs than some other people and they are polite too. Erm... Please don't think dirty thoughts ok.

With regard to politeness: it is a two way street. I noticed singaporeans like to talk down to PRC and Pinoy service staff, so how can you blame them for reciprocating? You treat people with respect, you get the same back. It is like how last time singaporeans always complain why SQ gals treat singaporeans differently from they way they treat Westerners. Well, look into the mirror and look at your own behaviour first then maybe you will understand.

I have noticed from young that many singaporeans are really goddamn rude when they speak. Really "no family teach". Well what to expect from peasant heritage.

Edited by Viceroymenthol

TS - your question to the prc is about - where did the steamboat rest relocated to rite.... - the prc need not need to know where it relocated to rite.... if some other shops decide to move out - she must go find out where they move to not...

Good for the management of the company.

for me, i ever kena...ask for kopi Gao...she tok chinese, i look at her like she was some alien....and STARE.......she got msg and call supervisor...and i said lim la [laugh][laugh][laugh]

Try ordering F&N Fruitade, Root Beer or Sarsi from a PRC helper at coffeeshop. [laugh]

TS - your question to the prc is about - where did the steamboat rest relocated to rite.... - the prc need not need to know where it relocated to rite.... if some other shops decide to move out - she must go find out where they move to not...

My question to her was :"Do you know if the steamboat/hot pot restuarant is still around?"

My thinking, as turf city is undergoing some major reconstruction; that restuarant could have been relocated to another part of the building.

some singaporeans need to hv brain surgery... they need to remove a certain part of their brain telling them that Customer Service Officers owed them a living.... they need to know that they are the ones who needs assistance from the CSO....

if any of u guys hv frens in customer service... go ask them... who are the worst customers... i bet it will be us...

Agreed, if the customer find fault with the customer assistant, regardless he/she is local or FT, i would think that customer needs to have brain surgery. But if the fault lies with the customer assistant due to his/her lack of competency, then i would not give chance. [rolleyes]

Edited by 13177

<<Story>>

I notice that most retail outlets and small eateries are filled with foreign customer service (Pinoys, China...especially).

I was at Turf City a couple of days back and was hunting for the Steamboat Restuarant. Maybe they had relocated and I was searching in vain.

Went into Giant Supermarket and was trying to ask for confirmation about the "Missing" Hotpot. Encountered this chinese lady customer service who was playing her handphone while standing at one location of the mart:-

Me :- Can you please tell me if the Steamboat Restuarant is still around? (In english)

She :- Can you speak chinese? (In mandarin)

Me:- No, I dont know chinese. (In mandarin)

Apparently, she is one china chineses foreign talents in SG.

It left me thinking, instead of apologising for not able to understand our common language, she could just blatantly "demand" others to speak "her" language. WTF customer service is that?

FRUIT FOR THOUGHTS:_ Why not GIANT employ our local aunties and uncles ? I dont mind speaking hokkien, teochew, cantonese to them when seeking their service; as compared to being asked to speak chinese by all these #!%*!$%*%#!^

Thanks for viewing and comments.

TS you very unreasonable, our common language is not their common language. She is asking you to speak in her language so she can help you, but you got offended so easily.

Errrr.....were i in Giant China then???

I speak only mandarin which is their (pu tong hua) whenever in China, Xiamen.

When i try to speak mandarin to any old folk in service at coffeeshop, and when she cant understand, she will tell and ask me " Sorry, wa mei hiao tia hua yu, ni a sia gong hokkien bo?"

See any attitude difference comparing subject matter?

if they know english, would they still be getting $1000, 12 hours day, 6-day week job?

Just like asking maid to know english for $400? she can be a english teacher at their hometown if they know english!

Exactly!

I always tell my wife. If the maid is so smart, so logical and can take initiative like you can, then she won't be a maid liao lah!!!!!