Alfa 159 Part III. (any alfa discussion welcomed too)

DIY, I only do slotted. for x drilled, I don't, having seen first hand discs with thermal cracks in singapore. i dowan to put my own car at risk. I may walk out alive. but $ to repair I dowan.

when I go and race, and have to spec the car, I get direct from factory, parts that are manufactured with slots, holes and what not. that saying, I haven't raced with the GT, so I am a suaku talkcocker like matt said.

forgive me if my 5 cent opinion become 2 cent. I guess that slot means got lines and longkang on the disc surface, x drill, means got hole. ventilated means got gaps in between the disc plates for heated air to vent out, so that thermal capacity of the metal can be constant for the repeated braking that a car goes through on hot laps, or endurance races, so that there is lesser chance for brake fade or longer duration of repeated braking before brake fade becomes an issue. the slots are so that that brake pad surface are kept "fresh" and have "new" material when it gets shaved every time the brakes are applied, so the pad material can be in contact with the discs for maximum friction. direction of the slots depends if its AP or Brembo. They both choose different direction for their own logic. Alcons, use crescents with their own logic. Tarox, I think its overkill, but they like it that way. gives them a unique look to the disc. and brembos have their flower shaped slots as well. so many types. but all serve the same purpose. other than motor bikes, I haven't seen a set of daily use discs that are factory x drilled. like what I infer from what you said, its prevalent on race specced cars for endurance races.etc.

my assumption was based on diy slotted and x drilled rotors. if diy, I'd keep away from x drilled. if from factory, go ahead... and for endurance races, i don't know how many people re-use the brakes after the race for day to day. for on and off sepang trips, 95% of people I know, use their daily drive. since my assumption is wrong, I am sorry.

so maybe I think I don't know what I am talking about.

my engineering education, i use money buy one. most of the time I am playing, go bowling, kick ball, hang out. so also talk c--k one.

I hope you find your parts you need. D3Badge has given links that might help you more. Cheers

Edited by Saabretooth

Ventilated is a must. and comes with most of our cars, especially those on 330mm brakes.

Slotted ones don't exploded :) they just become ninja blades of some sort... kidding with ya.

Cross drilled ones, are more prone to thermal cracking around the edges. Exploding? haven't seen one yet, but I'd be wondering why I'm using it when cracks appear, and I haven't gone through the life span of the disc material yet.

Those that come fabricated from factory probably have a much less chance of it happening, its those that are bought as a solid disc and then drilled locally or otherwise, I'd take it with a pinch of salt. and considering a lot of drivers have no clue on taking care of their cars, "read as washing cars after a long drive" and then wonder why their steering wheel vibrates when they tap their brakes..

well anyone trying to locally drill a solid disk I would agree - you mean there are ppl do that? Crazy man!!

Wobbling discs are quite common (and nothing to do with x drilling) - which is why they get machined back to flat.

Look dont even think about slotting or x drilling discs locally - go buy a set of these and have proper peace of mind................

The 2/6 you save for a dodgy local job put your life and a much bigger investment at risk and you will have zero insurance payout. So be smart and be safe...............

http://www.ebay.co.uk/sch/i.html?_nkw=alfa...0&_from=R40

Honestly, anyone here SUCCESSFULLY CLAIM ANY WARRANTY from our BELOVED AUTHORIZED AGENT EA for your 159 with

mileage between 80k to 100k??

Since they advertise warranty 100k or 5 years....if you have succesfully claim warranty from them, can u list what items they replace FOC?

I did but not on the 159. It's on my 156 when the car is almost 60k (the 156 is only 60k or 3 years).

I also did claim on the 159 which warrant the paint work for 1 year.

Yeah, I was young, foolish and on a budget. it was years back. my bad for thinking or recommending to think anyone would go down that route too.

Fortunately, it was for show, not for go, or stop for that matter. now, I rather invest in the original stuff.

Dear guys,

Just reached my JB house. It was such a hot afternoon and the custom was jammed. Initially, my car temperarture was at 90 degrees which was normal.

But as i was queuing up after 20 mins, the temperature went up to even higher at 100 degrees. Once after my passport is chop, the temperature went up near to the boiling point and that was when i realise my air-con suddenly becomes hot. I immediately exit the custom and speed up to the max i could to bring down the temperature back to about 80 degrees and then the air-con started to cool down.

Any bros here able to give any advise to prevent the temperature from going up high? Am driving a 7 year old 156.

I know 1 of the advise is to travel at night :D

Dear guys,

Just reached my JB house. It was such a hot afternoon and the custom was jammed. Initially, my car temperarture was at 90 degrees which was normal.

But as i was queuing up after 20 mins, the temperature went up to even higher at 100 degrees. Once after my passport is chop, the temperature went up near to the boiling point and that was when i realise my air-con suddenly becomes hot. I immediately exit the custom and speed up to the max i could to bring down the temperature back to about 80 degrees and then the air-con started to cool down.

Any bros here able to give any advise to prevent the temperature from going up high? Am driving a 7 year old 156.

Hi Suby (hope you dont drive a suby or is that the car heated up lol?)

Now the AC is NOT related to the engine T - it is an independent refrigerated system just like your household or AC or fridge.

To help the engine at idle and in high T conditions, it is best to let it work less which means switching off all ancilaries such as AC radio etc. Might help engine but not you (yeah I know). It is possible that there is a thermostat on the AC system detects high ambeint C (ie under your bonnet) and shuts it down - I had exactly the same years ago in a Volvo getting back to Sillypore and the stoopid inefficient Sillypore Immigration only had about three booths open (on a Sunday - morons). After some time (and getting home so car cooled down the AC worked fine again.) In this case the engine did NOT overheat but remember, if you are heading to a high T then save the engine first. Something is not working correctly in your cooling system perhaps?

Dear guys,

Is your radiator fan spinning? Start the engine and shine a torch in front of the radiator. Also check coolant level..

Edited by Count_duku

Hi Suby (hope you dont drive a suby or is that the car heated up lol?)

Now the AC is NOT related to the engine T - it is an independent refrigerated system just like your household or AC or fridge.

To help the engine at idle and in high T conditions, it is best to let it work less which means switching off all ancilaries such as AC radio etc. Might help engine but not you (yeah I know). It is possible that there is a thermostat on the AC system detects high ambeint C (ie under your bonnet) and shuts it down - I had exactly the same years ago in a Volvo getting back to Sillypore and the stoopid inefficient Sillypore Immigration only had about three booths open (on a Sunday - morons). After some time (and getting home so car cooled down the AC worked fine again.) In this case the engine did NOT overheat but remember, if you are heading to a high T then save the engine first. Something is not working correctly in your cooling system perhaps?

Well, have been travelling up north very frequent, but this is the 1st ever time i face this problem since 2 months of Alfa owenership. Did not regret somehow as it was fun [:p]

Had been driving but did not really go explore the car. I wanted to switch off the radio, but somehow i find that there's no button for me to switch off. Should explore the car later on.

Thanks for the advise pal [:)]

Is your radiator fan spinning? Start the engine and shine a torch in front of the radiator. Also check coolant level..

I just made a quick check, the radiator fan is spinning when i start the engine. The coolant level is also enuf..

Maybe today really tooooo hot liao and the car had been idling for 1 hour plus..

I just made a quick check, the radiator fan is spinning when i start the engine. The coolant level is also enuf..

Maybe today really tooooo hot liao and the car had been idling for 1 hour plus..

No, 156 cooling system quite efficient. Most likely

1) radiator fan too slow....on it's way out!

2) Radiator chokage.....on its way out also!

No, 156 cooling system quite efficient. Most likely

1) radiator fan too slow....on it's way out!

2) Radiator chokage.....on its way out also!

wa, so serious ar? but the fan seems working fine leh.. think better get it check with AS on coming friday as i gonna go there for servicing.

Yes I would get the cooling system checked - get it flushed out maybe a blockage someplce

clampdown has begun.. a few cars have been stopped by the roadside for impromptu inspection already...

i kena already.....

illegal tinting on the front two doors...

sheet...been there for ages..even with tp beside me at traffic light

but now..sianz....go back to legal..

i feel so...... bright.. [laugh] [laugh]

Dear guys,

I had the exact same problem as you and it happened last friday night. Found out that my aircon compressor side pulley had problem spinning when fan 2 is on but i do not understand why would my air con compressor has anything to do with my overheating issue.

Just for some discussion,

1) Air compressor pulley had problem spinning so will it cause the water pump to pump lesser coolant into the system?

2) Do you think that my rad fan has problem because after fan2 is on, my car overheated.

And the problem i am facing now right now if i do not switch on my aircon, my rad fan will not spin... Any idea if the problem is with my aircon portion or the rad fan motor which might be on its way going up the lorry.

Edited by Thingy

i kena already.....

illegal tinting on the front two doors...

sheet...been there for ages..even with tp beside me at traffic light

but now..sianz....go back to legal..

i feel so...... bright.. [laugh] [laugh]

I just kena too. Now tinted again but can pass type, felt like "zhao geng" without any tint.

Inspector sibeh kuai lan, seeing me removing the windscreen tint, then place his stupid gadget on, told me still fail. My reply was, am i to remove and drive without windscreen or you're telling me your stupid gadget not calibrated.

I just kena too. Now tinted again but can pass type, felt like "zhao geng" without any tint.

Inspector sibeh kuai lan, seeing me removing the windscreen tint, then place his stupid gadget on, told me still fail. My reply was, am i to remove and drive without windscreen or you're telling me your stupid gadget not calibrated.

Why are they doing all these insignificant action? Why can't they spend more time catching those speeding lorry running on 1st lane which endanger all road users especially to riders. Always doing all these small little "things" which during vehicle inspection will be 'well taken care of".

I had the exact same problem as you and it happened last friday night. Found out that my aircon compressor side pulley had problem spinning when fan 2 is on but i do not understand why would my air con compressor has anything to do with my overheating issue.

Just for some discussion,

1) Air compressor pulley had problem spinning so will it cause the water pump to pump lesser coolant into the system?

2) Do you think that my rad fan has problem because after fan2 is on, my car overheated.

And the problem i am facing now right now if i do not switch on my aircon, my rad fan will not spin... Any idea if the problem is with my aircon portion or the rad fan motor which might be on its way going up the lorry.

Your fans are either not working or not working at full capacity because they are weak. Air conditioner needs airflow to go through the coil in front of the radiator in order to work. It relies on the fans to cool the coil when the car is stationery. If you have an ineffective air-con and overheating engine coolant when stationery, very likely it's fan problems.