Shor 1st Gear April 4, 2012 Share April 4, 2012 Self assembled is already respectable. Self made furniture is Not many can do this, time is an issue..... Not like last time stay in Kampong, everything can DIY. Used Milo canned can make latern liao!!! LOL After eating the Pamelo, the skin can also used as helmet!!!!!!!!!!!! ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chucky2007 Turbocharged April 4, 2012 Share April 4, 2012 haha, yes stupid Robert kiyosaki. but if you rent out then where you stay? you rent out only to rent a cheaper one? wahh. dude, in life, there are many things that you simply cannot measure with dollars and cents. Stay in another place that has lesser rental value. Ya I know, life is too short to measure with dollars and cents.. But me n my wife always tell ourselves "we must buy that thing, but let's buy it next year... Then never buy.. 2 jiam kana.. Lol Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
SLSAMG88 1st Gear April 4, 2012 Share April 4, 2012 Beautiful house does not equate to beautiful home..A happy family does.. I remember when I was young, my parents cant even afford tiles in the hdb flat, remembered the cement flooring..seriusli tis not for fashion but can't afford tiles. Later, they buy those rubber floor mats, then my dad DIY cut to fit the floor.house sparcely furnished but we happy. An upvote for you! I had a similar upbringing, back in the day, we had no aircon, just a ceiling fan and the cold, hard floor, but I really enjoyed sleeping on the cold, hard floor, especially in the afternoons! I still do! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
SLSAMG88 1st Gear April 4, 2012 Share April 4, 2012 On a/c still on fan? wow...isn't that too cold? but i know some ppl likes it cold like one of my colleague....a/c always on full blast even if its rainy days....his car always like freezer... Turning on both the aircon and fan is advisable. You cool down a room quicker, and you don't need to set the thermostat at frigid temperatures. With a fan, setting your aircon to 27 degrees is very comfortable for me. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chewbacca 1st Gear April 4, 2012 Share April 4, 2012 When you guys say self assembly furniture....are you referring to IKEA type self assemble or something else? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chowyunfatt Turbocharged April 5, 2012 Share April 5, 2012 I have this friend who is a goument cooks in his free time. He keeps 2 fridge also. One for food that will have strong smell...another for normal food.... Actually my wife buys these little cube things that she throws into the fridge to eliminate smell from food, it works so far...but not against Durians & Jackfruits... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chowyunfatt Turbocharged April 5, 2012 Share April 5, 2012 wow...your wife knows her stuff...very good brand! I suppose it must have cost you thousands...even tens of thousands already Its not the cost of the Knives...Its how she handles them that makes me think twice when I say no to her or try anything funny... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Porker Turbocharged April 5, 2012 Share April 5, 2012 Jasmine very fierce Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chowyunfatt Turbocharged April 5, 2012 Share April 5, 2012 why that brand so ex?? can anyone share share??.. i thought a knife is still a knife.. Regardless of Brand...A good Knife is subjective to the individual... For me, the weight & balance is the most important factor... Some Knives cost more than others because of Steel Grade, but mostly because of Balance... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chowyunfatt Turbocharged April 5, 2012 Share April 5, 2012 hmmm, in overseas where supermarkets are where they cant go as often, big deep freezers are common for them to store food and keep for very long time. but in sg, we go supermarkets at least once a week. unless you will be storing alot frozen foods, a deep freezer wont be useful i find the fridges now, inside comes with more compartments and relatively small compared to older days. for me, 1 fridge nearer kitchen store those more perishable foods, fruits ,vege, meat, left overs, and things need to use more often freezer - all the frozen meats, fish, lup cheong, etc the other fridge more for dried food stuff, medicine (cough syrup, etc), eggs, candies, chocs, chinese herbs, juices, drinks, and other junk foods in freezer, ice creams, frozen precooked/quick to prepare food stuff eg pau, tang yuan, prata, frozen timsum, etc (just my opinion to try not put them together with frozen raw meats) chum i almost listed out all things in my fridges liao For me, I'm used to buying things by the Bulk, so I save a little here & there (OK, I'm CHEAP)... I usually buy like 1 whole Salmon, 1 whole Threadfin, 1 rack Ribs, etc...You get the picture... & later come home to repack them into daily usage, so a freezer works better for me... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chowyunfatt Turbocharged April 5, 2012 Share April 5, 2012 That's exactly what we do, two kitchens but only one big fridge and one big wine chiller. It doesn't increase electricity or water for us. Fridge and air-con are definitely the two biggest contributor to power consumption, and getting a new energy saving fridge will help, as well as ceiling fans. We got bigger fridge, and smaller electric bill than with the older smaller fridge. No need Grohe, as long as the toilet and shower have water saving features - two biggest contributor to water consumption. Our water consumption is below national average and we have 4 bathrooms, 2 kitchens. You are right, the new generation fridges are pretty good... Grohe was having a sale the last time at their showroom, so since we were going to do 5 Bathrooms + Powder + 2 Kitchen... They gave us a pretty good discount & the whole house is uniform...Well at least that's how my wife convinced me... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chowyunfatt Turbocharged April 5, 2012 Share April 5, 2012 say no cos you are not operating zhichar tuah. You are not going to believe this, but that was our original intention for the outdoor kitchen...& it would have been cheaper to build except that we couldn't use town gas or the burners & ovens wouldn't be able to operate to its full potential...& since we have 3 kids...I'm uncomfortable to have tank of gas ard... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chowyunfatt Turbocharged April 5, 2012 Share April 5, 2012 actually WMF is not expensive ma.. i got them cheap at robinsons sale henckel is the one.. theres another brand ex also, cannot remember. You are right WMF is not expensive, the commercial ones are very affordable & the quality is pretty ok... But the Pro Series is... Henckel Knives are subjective...if you see only 1 man on the Logo, its made in CHINA... You will be able to tell the difference immediately cos the handle is some cheap plastic. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chowyunfatt Turbocharged April 5, 2012 Share April 5, 2012 you didnt use 3 Tick toilet bowl hor?? last i check. 3 tick toilet bowl waste more water than 1 tick after a few times. I use this for my Utility Toilet & I remove the Sink to increase space...Helps to save some water... http://manolohome.com/2008/10/03/strange-combo/ Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chowyunfatt Turbocharged April 5, 2012 Share April 5, 2012 Nin Lau Hia! You had it coming lar... [laugh] Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Espresso Neutral Newbie April 5, 2012 Author Share April 5, 2012 For me, I'm used to buying things by the Bulk, so I save a little here & there (OK, I'm CHEAP)... I usually buy like 1 whole Salmon, 1 whole Threadfin, 1 rack Ribs, etc...You get the picture... & later come home to repack them into daily usage, so a freezer works better for me... wow...one whole threadfin can eat many meals leh... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chowyunfatt Turbocharged April 5, 2012 Share April 5, 2012 Ok, my bad on LED better distribution, but I really means is that you can put many LEDs in a room (for same power consumption), so the lights are welll spaced instead of from a single source. LEDs lighting are gaining popularity in places like kitchen, where traditional single ceiling lights can be block when you are working by the corner kitchen bench. If you work mainly on the island, then no so much issue. So its better to put multiple LED lights (to be fair, traditional lights will do as well, its more about the position than light type) along the bottom of kitchen cabinet. LED does usually last longer than traditonal flu. or inc. lights but then again, its harder to find replacement also. But do you know how much a simple LED down light cost?...My wife also say save electricty = save money... But when you have to buy more than 50 of them in one go, no joke leh...My underwear nearly drop when I saw the price... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Throttle2 Supersonic April 5, 2012 Share April 5, 2012 Stay in another place that has lesser rental value. Ya I know, life is too short to measure with dollars and cents.. But me n my wife always tell ourselves "we must buy that thing, but let's buy it next year... Then never buy.. 2 jiam kana.. Lol Ah, i think you kinda mis-read my post. i dont mean that life is too short to measure with dollars and cents. in singapore , we have no choice but to measure in dollars and cents. but there are just some things which you dont want to do so. in this case, it's not that you cant afford to live there, you just want to squeeze more. but when and where does the squeezing stop? it may be a virtue to be a saver and not a spendthrift for sure. but dont end up a miser. Balance it out a bit, dude. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...