How much did you spend on house renovation?

Espresso

then you tell her.. need 2 wives. one for morning one for night [laugh]

You won't be saying this if you've seen my wife's WMF knife collection... :huh:

Actually I cannot understand 2 fridges...if 2 levels I can understand, but if 1 level, I would rather 1 fridge + 1 freezer... [:)]

I have this friend who is a goument cooks in his free time.

He keeps 2 fridge also. One for food that will have strong smell...another for normal food....

wow...your wife knows her stuff...very good brand! I suppose it must have cost you thousands...even tens of thousands already [:)]

Sometimes, to DIY your own stuff isn't about dollars & cent, but the satisfaction of having a hand in your house. 90% of my furniature are self assembled. There is a joy to say build up a bookshelf from catrons boxes shipped in pieces (or salf transport), & seeing it become a full bookself by your own hand, & populated it with decors from all over the places over time.

Its a little bit like polishing your own car. Every shine is your sweat, its just feel better. But I may be the minority.

i get your point...

my wife and i painted our own house.. besides saving a fair bit.. the satisfaction is much greater even if certain spots are not so well painted.. [:p]

but during the process, sometimes its really tiring and curse and swear though [nosebleed]

but when all is done, and admire your own piece of work.. its brillant..

That's exactly what we do, two kitchens but only one big fridge and one big wine chiller. It doesn't increase electricity or water for us.

Fridge and air-con are definitely the two biggest contributor to power consumption, and getting a new energy saving fridge will help, as well as ceiling fans. We got bigger fridge, and smaller electric bill than with the older smaller fridge. No need Grohe, as long as the toilet and shower have water saving features - two biggest contributor to water consumption. Our water consumption is below national average and we have 4 bathrooms, 2 kitchens.

[shocked][shocked][shocked][shocked][shocked][shocked]

why that brand so ex?? can anyone share share??.. i thought a knife is still a knife..

Actually I cannot understand 2 fridges...if 2 levels I can understand, but if 1 level, I would rather 1 fridge + 1 freezer... [:)]

hmmm, in overseas where supermarkets are where they cant go as often, big deep freezers are common for them to store food and keep for very long time.

but in sg, we go supermarkets at least once a week. unless you will be storing alot frozen foods, a deep freezer wont be useful

i find the fridges now, inside comes with more compartments and relatively small compared to older days.

for me, 1 fridge nearer kitchen store those more perishable foods, fruits ,vege, meat, left overs, and things need to use more often

freezer - all the frozen meats, fish, lup cheong, etc

the other fridge more for dried food stuff, medicine (cough syrup, etc), eggs, candies, chocs, chinese herbs, juices, drinks, and other junk foods

in freezer, ice creams, frozen precooked/quick to prepare food stuff eg pau, tang yuan, prata, frozen timsum, etc (just my opinion to try not put them together with frozen raw meats)

chum i almost listed out all things in my fridges liao :D

Edited by Sunny

why that brand so ex?? can anyone share share??.. i thought a knife is still a knife..

quality + contribute to those $ invested in their R&D and design [laugh]

but i like their knives n utencils

Rather, mostly the knives here are overpriced. Buy from Japan or U.S. The so-called R&D goes into the reseller's pocket or import costs.

ya. actually purposely say R&D/design costs. definitely x 100 from their material costs

dont want say too clear [laugh]

can buy a couple for regular usage...... but a full range set [knife]

for asian users, cleaver definitely must get from asian makers [:p]

Edited by Sunny

Going into 6 Months of renovation for my new home I bought sometime back in the resale market...

Currently at $250K excluding furnishing & electrical & still going ...

Old place, so must redo wiring, plumbing, water proofing, flooring, ceiling, etc...

Wife say got 3 small kids, so everything at home should be BLUM-ed... :blink:

Wife say Electricity very expensive, so everything must be energy saving... :blink:

Wife say Water very expensive, so everything should buy from Grohe cos they save water... :blink:

Wife say 1 Kitchen not enough, we should also have 1 more Outdoor Kitchen for heavy cooking... :blink:

(2xFridge / 2xBurner / 2xSink / 2xEVERYTHING....) :blink:

say no cos you are not operating zhichar tuah.

actually WMF is not expensive ma.. i got them cheap at robinsons sale

henckel is the one.. theres another brand ex also, cannot remember.

we don't all have so much leave to do this s--t.

if i have so much time, u ask me build my own house i oso ok la ... [rolleyes]

Actually Singapore leave not bad liao, by Asia standard. China is far worst. But of course cannot compare to some other places lah. I know I am lucky to have so much leave. [:p]

A house will be difficult. I known someone who spend....wait for it 8 years to build his own house. But he had another house to stay so no biggy. My collegue said his house was done in 9 months, contactors did most of the exterior work, he did mainly the interior. But his neighbour who DIY 100%, took 4 years!

Professional work is of course much faster. But you do not have to do 100% of your home to feel personal. Even small things like decors for the living room, an added mini water feature. Even mounting some nice artwork or family photos on the wall.

Its the whole process, the "journey rather than the distination". You saw something you like on a decor mag. You do some measurement on the area to reno, sterch some pictures, go out to source the items, then put together at home. For sure it would not look nicer than maybe if you ask contactor, but I bet you will like it more.

For me, the same view on top of a hill is nicer if I climb up from the bottom than driving to the parking lot, & walk 20 metre.

Speaking of leave, if compare to USA i heard we are living in heaven liao.. heard they only have 7 day leave.

Anyway back to topic.. I think getting contractor to do the job, it wont be nice. i tried it before. only Interior design do one is nice.

contractor damned stubborn, tell them to do this, they will do that without telling you. end up i have to sack my contractor for my first house.

Actually Singapore leave not bad liao, by Asia standard. China is far worst. But of course cannot compare to some other places lah. I know I am lucky to have so much leave. [:p]

A house will be difficult. I known someone who spend....wait for it 8 years to build his own house. But he had another house to stay so no biggy. My collegue said his house was done in 9 months, contactors did most of the exterior work, he did mainly the interior. But his neighbour who DIY 100%, took 4 years!

Professional work is of course much faster. But you do not have to do 100% of your home to feel personal. Even small things like decors for the living room, an added mini water feature. Even mounting some nice artwork or family photos on the wall.

Its the whole process, the "journey rather than the distination". You saw something you like on a decor mag. You do some measurement on the area to reno, sterch some pictures, go out to source the items, then put together at home. For sure it would not look nicer than maybe if you ask contactor, but I bet you will like it more.

For me, the same view on top of a hill is nicer if I climb up from the bottom than driving to the parking lot, & walk 20 metre.

Edited by Joseph22

My reno experience..my wife is like queen like dat, she didnt even step into the house to check till reno is completed.

most decision i make except kitchen & toilets, tiles & color of house.

My house is an EM, many energy saving devices, 4 ticks air con, fridge, ceiling fans in all rooms and LED lightings all round except in toilet..haha

contractor say i siao LED, 1st time he renovate house, owner use LED lightings all round..

It does help lower my utilities..3 toilets, MBR aircon on for nearly 12 hours & I watch tv till late each nite..bill ard 110-130 each mth.

My reno experience..my wife is like queen like dat, she didnt even step into the house to check till reno is completed.

most decision i make except kitchen & toilets, tiles & color of house.

My house is an EM, many energy saving devices, 4 ticks air con, fridge, ceiling fans in all rooms and LED lightings all round except in toilet..haha

contractor say i siao LED, 1st time he renovate house, owner use LED lightings all round..

It does help lower my utilities..3 toilets, MBR aircon on for nearly 12 hours & I watch tv till late each nite..bill ard 110-130 each mth.

you didnt use 3 Tick toilet bowl hor?? :ph34r:

last i check. 3 tick toilet bowl waste more water than 1 tick after a few times. [laugh]