How much did you spend on house renovation?

Espresso

it may help in COV to some families (especially PRs) who want a nice place that is in move-in condition.

to most young families, its TEAR TEAR TEAR. I WANT MY OWN DESIGN! [laugh]

hahaha sounds like me....tear tear tear...(but we are not that young anymore)

Yes..but called the laminate contractor to complain, their so call superior water resistant blah2..spill bit got bubble pop up liao.only 1/2 year old.

they wanna charge me $80 per area.. [:/]

My FIL china laminate use for years..even more abused..hardly see a bubble.

Yes, I do. The valuation is also much higher than normal. BUT the reno has to withstand the test of time, meaning, it doesnt look aged with current trends. So choose your design and materials carefully. My reno for my previous place was done more than a decade ago and when I sold the place last year, it still looks modern and fresh.

Agree.

Simplistic, clean, (boring?) design sells better, usually.

Because tear down also cheaper, hehe.

And people complain HDB is expensive......

I have a small apartment, but include funitures & TV, around 12K (exclude Kitchen & fridge, tiles, toilet. Those are there when I came). Done over 3 months, few at a time. But there are still some work to be done (little things like curtains & canopy for the balcony, & some painting pictures on the wall). I am guessing, at the end, it will be about 16k.

Reno cost: about 1/2 dozen 200ml Beer. My friend help me in transporting & assemble some furnature, fix the lights, & paint the house.

I think the profit margin of these contractor must be enormous in Singapore.

I think contractors in SIngapore is abit like dealers in Singapore. They know we pay a huge money for our car/housing, so they charge 'appropiately' high.

you cannot compare renovation cupboard to those off the shelf carboard.

renovation cupboard are consider fabricated on demand so the price will definitely higher as compare to those off the shelf one size fit all type.

there are advantages to both as well as disadvantage to both. so its really our own choice of what we want to spend on.

Yes..but called the laminate contractor to complain, their so call superior water resistant blah2..spill bit got bubble pop up liao.only 1/2 year old.

they wanna charge me $80 per area.. [:/]

My FIL china laminate use for years..even more abused..hardly see a bubble.

your renovation should have warranty 1 year min right? 1/2 year only how can they charge you..

also $80 per area is how big an area?

hahaha sounds like me....tear tear tear...(but we are not that young anymore)

i think not just you...

same as me [laugh]

first house i keep it simple cause no money...

2nd house is because i can afford then change one.. so must renovate..

i can imagine, if i change third house.... [laugh][laugh][laugh]

i think not just you...

same as me [laugh]

first house i keep it simple cause no money...

2nd house is because i can afford then change one.. so must renovate..

i can imagine, if i change third house.... [laugh][laugh][laugh]

For me i am more functional...i want lotsa build in cupboards so that everything can be concealed. I am on my 2nd house now too :D

$80 is change 2 planks with the bubble..including the laminate itself..according to the sales manager i dealing with, he say "negotiable"..knn

heard others change FOC.

$80 is change 2 planks with the bubble..including the laminate itself..according to the sales manager i dealing with, he say "negotiable"..knn

heard others change FOC.

should be under warranty leh.. how can they charge. [mad]

mine's HDB Premium flat.. came with flooring, doors, toilet tiles and fittings.. the likes. not bare like standard flat.

4 room, 90sqm, about 65k for everything including furnishing. open concept. that was in 2010.

Actual pix.. a few to share

Living

kitchen

mbr toilet

my flat entrance

Nice house bro. Can I ask, how do you hide the aircon trunking and for toilet tiles, did you do a overlay?

if water damage is chargeable, if planks discolour,faded, stains cannot remove, planks pop out..they will do FOC.

like that feel like kena con leh... cause they tell bro tarzan its water resistant.

bro, french fries, chicken wings still alright. easy to wash cos its dry and no oil.

but.. i made char siew with it.

the chao ta sauce gets stuck in the small crevices.. i soaked in water overnight.. still difficult to wash man.

yummy :wub:

You give me some of that delicious looking char siew and I wash for you. :D

Wah. Singaporeans really spend a bomb on renovation.

All in the 40-60k range.....

Dear lord....

This sort of range is so BIG meh?

You have not or have frds ...I supposed who had to ..

spend..

$XXX,XXX to $ M and that have not include the land cost yet? :D

This sort of range is so BIG meh?

You have not or have frds ...I supposed who had to ..

spend..

$XXX,XXX to $ M and that have not include the land cost yet? :D

yeah.. i think my friend spend around 3 million to tear down his whole bungalow and rebuild it up to 5 storey high..

Heard consider cheap liao.

Nice house bro. Can I ask, how do you hide the aircon trunking and for toilet tiles, did you do a overlay?

thx bro.

aircon trunking hidden in false ceiling.

i did overlay only for mbr toilet, to keep up with the black theme in my mbr.