Ahtong 1st Gear April 2, 2012 Share April 2, 2012 A place he can call home By Gerald Goh The New Paper Wednesday, Mar 28, 2012 Being a financially prudent person led to him finally being able to afford his first bachelor pad more three years ago. Local comedian-host and Gold 90.5 DJ Hossan Leong told The New Paper: "Getting my own place for the first time was a major step forward in my life. "I'd always been renting a place to stay and it was quite unsettling to me over time, as I didn't have a place I could call my own. "I'm a natural saver. I find it quite gratifying to see my savings grow, so when I found the perfect place to stay, I said to myself, why not put those savings to good use?" Leong used his Central Provident Fund savings (in his Ordinary Account) and was able to make the 20 per cent downpayment. The 42-year-old's two-bedroom apartment near City Square Mall cost around $800,000, a sum that will be paid for with the aid of a 30-year housing loan. Leong added that even though the apartment was completed in July last year, he could only move in November as he had to see out the remainder of his rental contract with his landlord. "Housing in Singapore is really hard for the less affluent segments of society to afford. "It's been reported recently that a person who earns less than $1,000 a month is able to own a two-room Housing Board flat. "That may be technically possible, but I imagine he or she will have to spend almost every cent of their remaining income just to meet daily expenses. "Will the person have anything left over to save? " Leong also counts his endowment insurance plan, which his mum got for him as a child, as part of his saving strategy. "It's a good way to 'force' me to save about $100 each month," he said, adding that he took over the premiums from his mother when he was in his early 20s and started work as an actor. "The policy will mature in my 50s. It will include not only the accumulated interest, but also a yearly bonus." He added: "Saving some of what you earn each month isn't just for old age. "If something catastrophic happens to you and you're unable to work for a period of time, can you survive on what you've saved in the bank? "I feel you should save enough to prepare for a possible down period of at least half a year, should anything happen to you - touch wood! - and you are unable to earn an income." Working hard for the money Which could explain why Leong has packed his schedule to the brim. He was recently a guest judge during the auditions of the youth talent search competition okto Star and will be hosting a short segment of the local game show We Are Singaporeans at Singapore Day 2012 in New York in April. But his main job is still helping to run communication agency Paul Carr Consultancy, which he co-founded with friend and business partner Paul Carr. After the company's expenses have been accounted for, Leong pays himself a monthly salary of about $4,000. "Having a company to run helps me control my spending, as I'm responsible not only for my own personal finances but for my company's finances as well." And though he used to spend heavily on clothes before, that's a thing of the past, he says. "As I grew older, I thought to myself that I don't really care how many branded shirts I have any more. "Does anyone else honestly care if I wear branded clothes or not? The answer is no." This article was first published in The New Paper. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Porker Turbocharged April 2, 2012 Share April 2, 2012 I've seen him with his ang moh bf at River Valley many many times Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Zanter 3rd Gear April 2, 2012 Share April 2, 2012 If he is born a woman, he don't even need loan! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
2009k Neutral Newbie April 2, 2012 Share April 2, 2012 Age 42 can take 30 year loan? Sure or not? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lucaswh 1st Gear April 2, 2012 Share April 2, 2012 I've seen him with his ang moh bf at River Valley many many times oh he is gay? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Raymondism Twincharged April 2, 2012 Share April 2, 2012 A place he can call home By Gerald Goh The New Paper Wednesday, Mar 28, 2012 Being a financially prudent person led to him finally being able to afford his first bachelor pad more three years ago. Local comedian-host and Gold 90.5 DJ Hossan Leong told The New Paper: "Getting my own place for the first time was a major step forward in my life. "I'd always been renting a place to stay and it was quite unsettling to me over time, as I didn't have a place I could call my own. "I'm a natural saver. I find it quite gratifying to see my savings grow, so when I found the perfect place to stay, I said to myself, why not put those savings to good use?" Leong used his Central Provident Fund savings (in his Ordinary Account) and was able to make the 20 per cent downpayment. The 42-year-old's two-bedroom apartment near City Square Mall cost around $800,000, a sum that will be paid for with the aid of a 30-year housing loan. Leong added that even though the apartment was completed in July last year, he could only move in November as he had to see out the remainder of his rental contract with his landlord. "Housing in Singapore is really hard for the less affluent segments of society to afford. "It's been reported recently that a person who earns less than $1,000 a month is able to own a two-room Housing Board flat. "That may be technically possible, but I imagine he or she will have to spend almost every cent of their remaining income just to meet daily expenses. "Will the person have anything left over to save? " Leong also counts his endowment insurance plan, which his mum got for him as a child, as part of his saving strategy. "It's a good way to 'force' me to save about $100 each month," he said, adding that he took over the premiums from his mother when he was in his early 20s and started work as an actor. "The policy will mature in my 50s. It will include not only the accumulated interest, but also a yearly bonus." He added: "Saving some of what you earn each month isn't just for old age. "If something catastrophic happens to you and you're unable to work for a period of time, can you survive on what you've saved in the bank? "I feel you should save enough to prepare for a possible down period of at least half a year, should anything happen to you - touch wood! - and you are unable to earn an income." Working hard for the money Which could explain why Leong has packed his schedule to the brim. He was recently a guest judge during the auditions of the youth talent search competition okto Star and will be hosting a short segment of the local game show We Are Singaporeans at Singapore Day 2012 in New York in April. But his main job is still helping to run communication agency Paul Carr Consultancy, which he co-founded with friend and business partner Paul Carr. After the company's expenses have been accounted for, Leong pays himself a monthly salary of about $4,000. "Having a company to run helps me control my spending, as I'm responsible not only for my own personal finances but for my company's finances as well." And though he used to spend heavily on clothes before, that's a thing of the past, he says. "As I grew older, I thought to myself that I don't really care how many branded shirts I have any more. "Does anyone else honestly care if I wear branded clothes or not? The answer is no." This article was first published in The New Paper. he wont need such a long loan if he goes for a resales two bedroom HDB apartment otherwise known as a 3 room flat Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Raymondism Twincharged April 2, 2012 Share April 2, 2012 I've seen him with his ang moh bf at River Valley many many times u never wink at him? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Unidentified 1st Gear April 2, 2012 Share April 2, 2012 a comedian who never fails to poke fun at pappies. 1 up for him. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Soya Supersonic April 2, 2012 Share April 2, 2012 I've seen him with his ang moh bf at River Valley many many times poor thing. u muz hv been beri-beri jealous. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
RadX Moderator April 2, 2012 Share April 2, 2012 poor thing. u muz hv been beri-beri jealous. eh u look like him lah dey.....your twin ah.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Joseph22 Turbocharged April 2, 2012 Share April 2, 2012 Age 42 can take 30 year loan? Sure or not? he had likely taken a bank loan. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Soya Supersonic April 2, 2012 Share April 2, 2012 eh u look like him lah dey.....your twin ah.... he look like andy lau meh? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
David Clutched April 2, 2012 Share April 2, 2012 Cash-in-hand is king. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Toapayohkid 1st Gear April 2, 2012 Share April 2, 2012 Age 42 can take 30 year loan? Sure or not? sharp! that's very true. unless joint home with bf and bf is much younger. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Duckduck Turbocharged April 2, 2012 Share April 2, 2012 is he really gay? ive seen him sing in a church long ago... w a mouth that wide can fit many cocks LOL Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Joseph22 Turbocharged April 2, 2012 Share April 2, 2012 sharp! that's very true. unless joint home with bf and bf is much younger. Some bank allow loan up to 72 years and beyong. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Csnewbie 1st Gear April 2, 2012 Share April 2, 2012 Some bank allow loan up to 72 years and beyong. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Raymondism Twincharged April 2, 2012 Share April 2, 2012 Some bank allow loan up to 72 years and beyong. and if he doesnt want pple to know tt he is loaded... he just say he down 20% and take 30 yr loan lor ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...