How to make public toilet not so smelly?

KARTer

Always wished for the urinal design to be like a narrow and sufficiently high sink design which can go under a guy's crotch area and gradually expand out to the splash area. Height of urinal and countours of splash area are very important to minimise drips and splashes while peeing. As much as we want to reduce drips on the floor, I think it is equally important to have minimal urine splashes on trousers or out of the urinal. [laugh]

On 4/2/2012 at 12:21 PM, Jetabout777 said:

Always wished for the urinal design to be like a narrow and sufficiently high sink design which can go under a guy's crotch area and gradually expand out to the splash area. Height of urinal and countours of splash area are very important to minimise drips and splashes while peeing. As much as we want to reduce drips on the floor, I think it is equally important to have minimal urine splashes on trousers or out of the urinal. [laugh]

I like the idea of contoured urinal!

Keeping the "wall" of the urinal further away from the user's body will reduce the splashing also.

On 4/2/2012 at 11:34 AM, Ben5266 said:

How to make public toilet not so smelly?

... allocate more resource to clean it lor.

If every hour still stink, make it every half hour lor. If still stink... every minute lor.

Or provide cloth peg to clip our nose?

On 4/2/2012 at 11:31 AM, Good-Carbuyer said:

I believe many are taught by maids. So no maids help him to pee correctly? [laugh]

Will MOM allow teaching boy boy how to pee as part of the job scope of maids? Will it include teaching the father also? [:)]

On 4/2/2012 at 11:25 AM, Good-Carbuyer said:

Got more cheaper/effective method. ioniser needs operational cost [laugh]

Put a few buckets of char coal in the toilet?

  On 4/2/2012 at 1:07 PM, KARTer said:

Or provide cloth peg to clip our nose?

then must also dim the light so that cannot see the yellow yellow mark...

On 4/2/2012 at 1:50 PM, Ben5266 said:

then must also dim the light so that cannot see the yellow yellow mark...

LOL,....then how to aim properly in the dark?? :D

Actually it is more of mentality. Those uncle never finish properly then take out and shake shake. Some take out let the water flush, then faster stick back in to wash their dick. No amount of designer toilet bowl can help. The best toilet is the one I used in Korea. The toilet bowl fixed with Washing capability. A press of the button, it washes your butt. Another button, washes your dick. One more button forgot is what. That is a heavenly washroom.

  On 4/2/2012 at 2:36 PM, Passion said:

Actually it is more of mentality. Those uncle never finish properly then take out and shake shake. Some take out let the water flush, then faster stick back in to wash their dick. No amount of designer toilet bowl can help. The best toilet is the one I used in Korea. The toilet bowl fixed with Washing capability. A press of the button, it washes your butt. Another button, washes your dick. One more button forgot is what. That is a heavenly washroom.

[laugh] [laugh] [laugh]

Talking about shaking, I do get amused when some guys really shake their weapons vigorously after the small business. Disgustingly obscene.

Edited by Jetabout777

Yesterday came across this disgusting uncle in the toilet.. Just started to pee when this uncle entered and used the urinal beside mine. Fcker just when he started to pee he had this loooonnng and loud fart [furious] CB! And it was not those accidental farts, it was fcking deliberate and he forced it out and lasted like a good 5 sec and like no "excuse me" whatsoever. I no choice but to hold my breadth :wacko: Then when he like about to finish he shake his dick and like 10 drops of pee dropped onto the floor [dead]. KNNCCB!! And I doubt he washed his hands when he left.

[FYI I'm not sick to look at him or his younger bro to know what happened. Was looking straight and from the side of eye can see what is happening]

On 4/2/2012 at 12:03 PM, Joseph22 said:

hire FW to clean toilet every 30 min :ph34r:

The shipyard toilet is cleaned by FW, but its still as stink. No amt of cleaning will stop the stink.

Somehow we lack public consideration for others, which I really respect the Japanese for it. Even their dirtiest toilet (the one that their women need to walk past you to go to the ladies), is still very clean. In fact, I stopped peeing as I was surprised to see women walking behind me, really gave me a shock.

I saw the same in the Scandanavian countries as well where toilets in the most outskirt areas are very well maintained.

So no matter what we do, it's not going to change for the better unless the mindsets are changed.

On 4/2/2012 at 2:00 AM, KARTer said:

main culprits are men who drips when they pee........

how to stop this?

this is not joking..... lets start with the urinals chosen for the toilets.

some urinals really cmi..... too small and any drips sure land on the floor, and become smelly

there are basically a few types of urinals, which you used and found more drip-proof than the others?

1. old school common urinals in stainless steel, one long longkang everyone can see next guys' didi... but the 'drain' catches the drips quite well (but i think no more liao, even SAF camps also not using this)

2. individua "box type" hanged from the wall, open front, with a little 'lip' sticking out in front trying to catch the drips... quite useless

3. the moden individaul oval (egg-shape) type, also hanged from wall, i find this type catches the drips quite well (my vote goes to this)

4. the full height individual urinal which sits on the floor, we pee all the way down into its 'catchment' on the ground.... quite rare nowadays

5. other types?

maybe they should introduce a drip-sensor ---- anyone drips, he gets water jet shoot at his face from the wall.... this way he will aim and shoot properly :D

maybe the urinal should be shaped like a xmm's open mouth, then the guy insert his didi and shoot, sure no drips on the floor, not smelly toilet... ??

This reminds me of the worse toilet I seen, and that's in Xinjiang where I can smell the toilet 10-20 metres away!!!! In fact, i rather pee in the desert when i was there.

  On 4/2/2012 at 5:44 PM, Kurtselva said:

Yesterday came across this disgusting uncle in the toilet.. Just started to pee when this uncle entered and used the urinal beside mine. Fcker just when he started to pee he had this loooonnng and loud fart [furious] CB! And it was not those accidental farts, it was fcking deliberate and he forced it out and lasted like a good 5 sec and like no "excuse me" whatsoever. I no choice but to hold my breadth :wacko: Then when he like about to finish he shake his dick and like 10 drops of pee dropped onto the floor [dead]. KNNCCB!! And I doubt he washed his hands when he left.

[FYI I'm not sick to look at him or his younger bro to know what happened. Was looking straight and from the side of eye can see what is happening]

Luckily he didnt spray his pee onto your side! [rolleyes]

  On 4/2/2012 at 9:53 AM, Freestylers09 said:

Ya i used their toilets in mtr tats y v shocked also lol

I think this is their own habit and "bringing up" when using the toilet. Perhaps taiwan people are more considerate and think of others when using public amenity. [:)]

I was travelling through NZ and had to stop at public toilets several times. I was expecting the worst but at each stop I was very surprised to see the toilets are so clean you could even sleep in them. And there were no cleaners in sight.

But I guess with the increasing spending power of Asian tourists, especially from China, things will soon change for the worse.

And being in Asia, there is really only one correct answer to OP's question:

Clean it thoroughly and keep it locked 24/7

Edited by Karoon

On 4/3/2012 at 12:09 AM, Jchuacl said:

Somehow we lack public consideration for others, which I really respect the Japanese for it. Even their dirtiest toilet (the one that their women need to walk past you to go to the ladies), is still very clean. In fact, I stopped peeing as I was surprised to see women walking behind me, really gave me a shock.

I saw the same in the Scandanavian countries as well where toilets in the most outskirt areas are very well maintained.

So no matter what we do, it's not going to change for the better unless the mindsets are changed.

Wow, you must have a very powerful bladder-control to do emergency stop!! :D

Jokes aside, the Jap (maybe including the Scandanivians) are habitually clean and tidy:- just look at their homes, though small, but are uncluttered and neat.

One contradiction though: some side roads lamp posts are still the favourite peeing spots for the Japanese when the sky is dark..... very big contrast to their clean toilet habit :o

On 4/3/2012 at 1:17 AM, Roadrunner2029 said:

Two things.. the upbringing and social responsibility. In Taiwan, if you do something stupid, you are mostly sure to be reprimanded on the spot from other witnesses. Here, you tell someone off, you will most definitely get "don't be busybody", "nevermind lah", "don't create trouble".

Could it be our forefathers were mostly economic migrants (ie poor and unfortunately lacking in social grace also) when they came here. They were more concerned with making ends meet (some became rich along the way :D ) and there's no time left for being social-minded including keeping public facilities like toilets clean.

It's not surprising the same mentalitly continues to our generations when along the way there's no efforts spent on correcting the bad habits. Did you remember your teachers / parents reminding you the proper use of the public toilets?

As I said before: the rulers also dont really care coz they have their own clean toilets and hardly use public toilets...