After passing driving, how did your first time driving go?

Pocus

So after your passed your driving....must be damn excited..... How is your first time driving as a public road user?

Your first car without instructor?

For me, I passed in the afternoon but it's only at night I get to drive my dad's car. a humble 1.6 Ford Laser KJ .

Dad's offered to give me a "crash course" on driving in SG, tell me things that instructors don't teach.

Once I hit out the road, I'm still driving at 50km/h, dad told me to pick up speed and not to slow down the traffic.

Once we hit our expressway entrance, he told me to pick up even more and keep to the middle lane if I want to drive normal.

I remember his advise:

- Keep out of lane 3 if unless nessesary, esp from the entrances as you don't want to block other cars.

- Lane 1 is the faster lane, but never roadhog in lane 1, even if you are travelling at 90km/h and a car comes from behind fast, give way and keep yourself safe.

- Beware of taxi's, these uncles work all day and may be tired, they are more prone to misjudgement.

- Beware of heavy vehicles, try not to put yourself in a position where you end up in their blind spot.

- Beware of malaysia vehicles, we are not insured against them.

- Beware of speed cams, if all cars suddenly slow down, take caution.

It was a 45mins trip, from 1 end of my house to the other end, traveled CTE, PIE and TPE. Then to my ex-gf's(current OC) place. I remember I only wave to my ex-gf from downstair and boy she was pissed saying I didn't even ask her to come down, but hey my old man was with me and it was awkward then.

It was a nice experience and I'm glad my dad offered to guide.

How about the rest of you? Do state your first car you drove.... any friends/guides? any happening encounters?

no guide bro.

my 1st time was 3 days after i passed. wif the slip, i went to rent a car from a pte owner. come to think of it, really bo hua. if major accident no insurance coverage sia!

it was a honda city vtec. the 2002 model wif the 115bhp one. as usual, tried to "kui" vtec after hearing so much legend abt vtec. kanna cheated by petrol kisok unker to pump v-power. tat was the one and only time i used shell and v-power after tat. lolx

oh ya, i bluff the owner into renting me the car by saying i was a 3 tonner driver during my ns however did not convert as i got problems wif my officer. hahaha. drove from TPY bk to jurong on my own. lost my way..song ah. :D:D:D

Edited by So_nice

When I passed, my dad offered to let me drive his much loved honda accord

So we drove from changi via the ecp to marine parade and all i could remember was that it was quite stressful with my dad dishing out instructions and whatnot.

I remember taking the 3rd lane all the way because i believe he wanted me to learn how to go slow as i had just passed my test. haha looks like i didnt learn that lesson though.

my first time driving after i pass was several months later when i was forced to take delivery of my company new van(nissan urvan) from TCM at bukit timah, i was literally shaking as i haven't driven a van before and when i reached office safely, my colleague even commented my face was very red.

just a few days later, i bang the van when i was exiting a mscp carpark against the wall. [smash]

i still remember my boss face when he saw the damage. [grin]

Got Driving Licence on Friday afternoon [laugh] .

First trip drove alone, my father's blind van on following Saturday afternoon. Drove along first dead end road with cars parked along both kerbs, making the road much narrower :o . At the dead end road, no cul-de-sac for any type of U-turn [sweatdrop] Reverse the blind van all that 300m or so, to the main road (all wet with sweat like caught in a shower). [sweatdrop][shakehead] Always look out for DEAD END road sign [sweatdrop]

Edited by Good-Carbuyer

So after your passed your driving....must be damn excited..... How is your first time driving as a public road user?

For me, I passed in the afternoon but it's only at night I get to drive my dad's car. a humble 1.6 Ford Laser KJ .

Dad's offered to give me a "crash course" on driving in SG, tell me things that instructors don't teach.

Once I hit out the road, I'm still driving at 50km/h, dad told me to pick up speed and not to slow down the traffic.

Once we hit our expressway entrance, he told me to pick up even more and keep to the middle lane if I want to drive normal.

I remember his advise:

- Keep out of lane 3 if unless nessesary, esp from the entrances as you don't want to block other cars.

- Lane 1 is the faster lane, but never roadhog in lane 1, even if you are travelling at 90km/h and a car comes from behind fast, give way and keep yourself safe.

- Beware of taxi's, these uncles work all day and may be tired, they are more prone to misjudgement.

- Beware of heavy vehicles, try not to put yourself in a position where you end up in their blind spot.

It was a 45mins trip, from 1 end of my house to the other end, traveled CTE, PIE and TPE. Then to my ex-gf's(current OC) place. I remember I only wave to my ex-gf from downstair and boy she was pissed saying I didn't even ask her to come down, but hey my old man was with me and it was awkward then.

How about the rest of you? Do state your first car you drove.... any friends/guides? any happening encounters?

ur dad has given u the essences and gist of driving in sg already...

for me, i rented a car thru my cousin's name 2nd day aft i passed back in poly... drove some frens out for lunch and upon returning back to poly, saw an accident juz happened beside me... was waiting to turn right and a lorry juz u-turn w/o seeing oncoming vehicle thus causing tat car to bang the lorry juz beside me! 1st time drive out saw tis type liao... [blush]

I got my licence in my JC1. But didn't drive until one year is up. Cause scare to get involves in accident. The rumour at the time was new driver within one year kanna accident will have to retake the test. Not sure true or false but better play safe.

During JC2, drove my dad car out with him sitting besides. Kanna comments from Jurong until end of Lim Chu Kang and back to Jurong. After that seldom drives his car. Better take public transport. At least got some peace.

During NS, my CO came to know I got civilian licence. Convert my licence into military one and get MTO to assign a GP car to me. From that day onwards, my vocation becomes chief clerk driver cum CO runner cum signaller. During non field day, I have to drive chief clerk or her clerks around Singapore doing admin duties. And during field exercises, I am a combat signaller. Quite fun actually. And I become a very experience driver after ROD (Haha, at that time still call ROD and NSman is still called reservist).

So, I am actually grateful to SAF for giving me the opportunity to hone my driving skills.

Mine was 2 weeks after I got my license when I collected my Toyota Wish from Ubi. House was in Jurong. There was bumper to bumper traffic in Eunos and almost kissed the back of another car when I had to change lane.

I was so tensed up after that and didn't want to try changing lanes again that I missed the exit to PIE and decided to just head south all the way till i reached the exit to ECP :wacko:

Drove all the way to Jurong in the 3rd lane and had problems parking because its not the same as circuit. Decided to spend the next 2 hours driving the car around a nearby multistorey carpark and practicing parking. Threw whatever my driving instructor had taught me about parking out the window and used the easier 45-degree entry method instead. So much easier. [crazy]

Mine was 2 weeks after I got my license when I collected my Toyota Wish from Ubi. House was in Jurong. There was bumper to bumper traffic in Eunos and almost kissed the back of another car when I had to change lane.

I was so tensed up after that and didn't want to try changing lanes again that I missed the exit to PIE and decided to just head south all the way till i reached the exit to ECP :wacko:

Drove all the way to Jurong in the 3rd lane and had problems parking because its not the same as circuit. Decided to spend the next 2 hours driving the car around a nearby multistorey carpark and practicing parking. Threw whatever my driving instructor had taught me about parking out the window and used the easier 45-degree entry method instead. So much easier. [crazy]

instructor teach you one is to help you pass. if you do 45 deg in test i dont think they will pass us.

anyway 45 deg is skip step one [laugh]

No car to drive after obtain licence. Can only get to drive 1-2 years later! First time driving the car, i remembered it was a manual car, leg was trembling while trying to park the car! [sweatdrop]

My test was around 2-3pm at SSDC Yio Chu Kang. I was telling myself if I pass, I'll take the bus home, if fail, I'll take the taxi, just to make myself feel better. I took the bus home. In the evening, when my father came back, I told him I passed and asked him permission to take the car out, it was a old MB200 W123. He called mother, all 3 of us took a ride out to the BP station near my house, less than 500 meters away. After filling up, they said bye and walked home.

I drove down Balestier Road and got on the CTE towards Yio Chu Kang. Then I realized I did not have any practical experience on the highway. But the theory part kicks in. Drove to SSDC to pick up my buddy (we enrolled together) after his 7pm class. Drove back to his place at River Valley. Called up some friends and met them. Drove up to Telok Blangah Heights, over to CBD, went all over town. Drove to school the next day. Finished a whole tank of petrol in 24 hours. [laugh][laugh]

First day I got my license, I went for a spin with the 3tonner.

Shortly afterwards, I went back to my instructor saying "you are right. I sped!".

Edited by Vhtfhwlego

Took time off from NS to take private class 3 test.

Actually its to met GF at the same time also lar. ^_^

Anyhow drive also can pass!!! LOL

First car i officially drove was a SAF mini bog towing the 120mm motar. [laugh]

remember 3 years back, get my license after one shot :) and drive camry pass through KPE with speed 60 in tunnel and 80 out from tunnel, driving down through ecp area into the cbd, the lane getting small, hand sweating hahaha and then go chinatown park at people park complex, very hard nia cos parking lot is small

First time driving:- sibei song!!

I remember his advise:

i turn opp lane at traffic light on my 1st drive,lucky my friend is beside me if not lang ga loh..

You thought you are driving in US? :D

mine too long ago so cant really rem. but i can rem my wife's first drive. i guess i was like the "fathers" u guys mentioned dishing out guidance fr the passenger seat. she was doing fine, doing almost 100kph on ECP until we reached our destination and she couldnt park! ^_^

Seems like many people have problem parking after they have obtained their licence. :D