Iiiusion 2nd Gear April 1, 2012 Share April 1, 2012 While lights are red, car not moving...legal?? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Silver_blade Turbocharged April 1, 2012 Share April 1, 2012 Illegal. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Iiiusion 2nd Gear April 1, 2012 Author Share April 1, 2012 Illegal. Wa, been doing this quite often, better stop liao Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Turret Clutched April 1, 2012 Share April 1, 2012 My understanding is that texting when the car is not in motion is LEGAL. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Iiiusion 2nd Gear April 1, 2012 Author Share April 1, 2012 Any TP spy around, please confirm Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dafansu Turbocharged April 1, 2012 Share April 1, 2012 Vehicle must be in motion. ALL the following 3 conditions must be fulfilled: (a) the vehicle is in motion; and (b) the driver is holding on to the handphone with one hand; and © the driver is communicating with any person with that handphone. [Para 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Silver_blade Turbocharged April 1, 2012 Share April 1, 2012 (edited) I stand to be corrected. Learn something new. I said illegal cos I once saw a driver being asked to pull over texting/dialing @ junction. TP was beside his car. Edited April 1, 2012 by Silver_blade Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Darkblue 1st Gear April 1, 2012 Share April 1, 2012 Confirm legal, because junction + red light and not moving is not an offence. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Renotrafic Neutral Newbie April 1, 2012 Share April 1, 2012 once car move off pls dun hold on to ur hp even u r not doing anything to it... I knn stop by TP once, he was beside my car n i m texting. green light n I move off with hp still on my hand but not doing any sms. Was let go with a warning.. So just be careful. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Iiiusion 2nd Gear April 1, 2012 Author Share April 1, 2012 Thanks all Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lovemyride 4th Gear April 1, 2012 Share April 1, 2012 All of the 3 must be fulfilled? So if one is playing Angry Birds while driving, they satisfy (a) and (b). But not communicating with any person. Logically, I understand it as when the car is in motion, both your eyes must be on the road. If you take your eyes off the road to look at your handphone for whatever reason, it is an offence. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lightbringer 6th Gear April 1, 2012 Share April 1, 2012 Vehicle must be in motion. ALL the following 3 conditions must be fulfilled: (a) the vehicle is in motion; and (b) the driver is holding on to the handphone with one hand; and Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
13177 Hypersonic April 1, 2012 Share April 1, 2012 I stand to be corrected. Learn something new. I said illegal cos I once saw a driver being asked to pull over texting/dialing @ junction. TP was beside his car. Maybe that TP was in a bad mood on that day. I though if your car is not moving, it is not illegal to text or use your hp. But once you start to move your car, you cannot hold onto your hp or doing anything with your hp. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dadiao 1st Gear April 1, 2012 Share April 1, 2012 All of the 3 must be fulfilled? So if one is playing Angry Birds while driving, they satisfy (a) and (b). But not communicating with any person. Logically, I understand it as when the car is in motion, both your eyes must be on the road. If you take your eyes off the road to look at your handphone for whatever reason, it is an offence. hmm ... sounds like a loop-hole. Maybe the handphone is considered as a digital device and covered another law for digital media, e.g. watching DVD, playing games, etc. ? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Peregrine Clutched April 1, 2012 Share April 1, 2012 Vehicle must be in motion. ALL the following 3 conditions must be fulfilled: (a) the vehicle is in motion; and (b) the driver is holding on to the handphone with one hand; and Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dafansu Turbocharged April 1, 2012 Share April 1, 2012 And your source for this assertive statement is? Your interpretation, or what an actual judge in Singapore actually wrote out in his post-trial report or explained during a court session? If unsure, please do not make such interpretations of the law with authority - you might mislead many innocent and misguided souls into getting their licenses KANTONG! The above was extracted from Traffic Police Website. You can get more information from Section 65B of RTA or even sgcarmart. Link is appended below http://www.sgcarmart.com/news/writeup.php?AID=24 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yewheng Twincharged April 1, 2012 Share April 1, 2012 Thanks for the comprehensive & correct answer. On the other hand those who tend to text whilst vehicle is stationary waiting for change of traffic lights must be more considerate. Once during peak hours I was behind a SUV on second lane from right Paterson waiting to turn right into Orchard Boulevard. When most vehicles on right-most lane were moving of, that car still did not move. When I had the chance to signal and move to right lane annd pass that SUV, I realised that the lady driver was not held up by anyone; she had been engrossed in texting on and was not occasionally looking up to see if traffic lights have changed and vehicles ahead has started to move off. How inconsiderate she was to other motorists who have to stop again when lights turn red. Please do not be like her. But at least she stop and text. I also do that sometimes, but well.. I admit i should't do that. [laugh] Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dadiao 1st Gear April 1, 2012 Share April 1, 2012 While lights are red, car not moving...legal?? Actually sounds legal as the car is not moving, however, it seemed quite difficult to respond to the traffic light change even w/o the phone. Am thinking that 'Siri' will help a lot if it is stable. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...