Accident near Singapore Flyer

Berncsp76

Princess Diana died in a Merc S-class. If she were in a Jap car people would all blame the car. But because it was a Merc, the blame goes to her not wearing seat belt, driver was going too fast etc. But not the car's fault at all. Sometimes perceptions are not really fair.

yeah its not a volvo [laugh]

also depend on how she died., knock her head or the whole body kenna crash because car crash. knock head confirm safetybelt issue. if whole car crash and body not trap by the car, also likely due to seatbelt.

Edited by Joseph22

Here's the latest 2011 update on the Honda Civic's NHSTA crash test ratings:

Side impact: 2 stars (nia ... fcuking sh!t) [blush]

Overall: 3 stars (only ... miserable) [bigcry]

http://www.thecarconnection.com/news/10541...-new-crash-test

Even the 2011 Nissan Sentra has 4 stars, and so does the 2011 VW Jetta! [rolleyes]

Wah that's serious man ... 2/5 stars for side impact is like driving a coffin on wheels!

I sure won't want my family and beloved one's to be sharing a Honda Civic - even if I dared to buy/own one.

Noticed he was using "Victra" tyres...... wonder if the tyres had anything to do with it, that's something I would never compromise on...... Its the first line of passive safety devices

Edited by Macrosszero

today newspaper show picture of the greiving family. i disagree with this practice. so i aint posting it here. media people should concentrate on gtting photis of bad guys like the ah tiong who hijack teksi and killed poor guy.post-25827-1333413883_thumb.jpg

post-25827-1333413780_thumb.jpg

The TP arrested the driver of the sedan and not the lorry driver. He must have tried something funny and lost his car and wife at the same time

today newspaper show picture of the greiving family. i disagree with this practice. so i aint posting it here. media people should concentrate on gtting photis of bad guys like the ah tiong who hijack teksi and killed poor guy.

I think one reason why photos of family may be use is as a shock factor to other drivers.

Although not very nice, but may be a effective tool of caution.

I'm sure some of us will be looking at our driving habits after seeing picture of the man causing the death of his wife.

I think one reason why photos of family may be use is as a shock factor to other drivers.

I'm sure some of us will be looking at our driving habits after seeing picture of the man causing the death of his wife.

For shock factor, maybe this new slogan (insensitive i know):

Drink and drive

Lose your wife

if media's purpose is to shock and awe, maybe can consider going vicom there to take a nice photo of the chui car [sly]

About time the authority gets tough on drink driving. They should really impose mandatory jail term for drink-driving traffic accidents. For those caught drink-driving at road blocks, these drivers should have their driving license ban for life.

If Singapore can have death sentence for drug trafficking, I don't see why tough laws cannot be enacted for drink driving.

I don't see why tough laws cannot be enacted for drink driving.

becos when u drive drunk without license and bang someone down u onli will kenna 4 months in SG. proven liao.

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

http://motoring.asiaone.com/Motoring/News/...402-337282.html

pic1_tn.jpg pic2_tn.jpg pic3_tn.jpg pic4_tn.jpg pic5_tn.jpg pic6_tn.jpg pic7_tn.jpg

SINGAPORE - The car he was driving crashed into a parked bus near the Marina Centre Bus Terminal on Sunday.

The impact killed his 25-year-old wife and left the driver, who seen to be in his 20s, inconsolable.

He was seen trying to pry open a mangled car door in order to get to his dead wife inside.

Officers from the Singapore Civil Defence Force (SCDF) later prised open the door but the woman was already dead, a security guard told Chinese evening daily Shin Min.

The man came out of the accident, which took place at about 8am, with facial and hand injuries.

Mr Anthony Ang, 57, a passer-by who was in the area at that time, told The New Paper (TNP) that the male driver had looked drunk.

Mr Ang said the man was "hysterical and sobbing". No one dared to approach him since he shouted at anyone who did so.

Later the man took off his shirt and was involved in a stand-off with the police, who arrived at about 8.20am, Shin Min reported.

He then ran into a wokers' quarters nearby and was followed by police and Singapore Civil Defence Force personnel.

But that was not the end. The man ran to the end of the road and back, flailing his arms in the air, TNP reported.

It was only at about 8.30am that the man calmed down and agreed to go to the hospital.

An SCDF spokesman said the woman was pronounced dead at the scene by paramedics.

According to a police spokesman, the man was later arrested for drink driving and causing death by a rash act.

The other one with the Euro R / Jaaaag

pic1_tn.jpg pic2_tn.jpg pic3_tn.jpg pic4_tn.jpg pic5_tn.jpg pic6_tn.jpg pic7_tn.jpg

http://motoring.asiaone.com/Motoring/News/...401-337006.html

http://motoring.asiaone.com/Motoring/News/...401-337003.html

SINGAPORE - A woman was trapped for 20 minutes inside her mangled Jaguar after a collision with another car.

The incident, which took place on March 30 at the junction of Serangoon North Avenue 5 and Yio Chu Kang Road, was believed to have been caused by the driver of a blue Honda.

According to a Stomp contributor, the driver was speeding along Yio Chu Kang Road when he beat a red light. It was around midnight at that time.

The driver caused a white Jaguar, which was about to turn right from the adjacent road, to crash into a lamp post, contributor zerr said.

"The male driver and his passenger attempted to flee the scene but were stopped by on-lookers," the contributor added.

A police spokesman told Stomp that they received a call regarding an accident between two cars at about 12.05am.

A driver was arrested in relation to the incident.

A spokesman from the Singapore Civil Defence Force said rescuers used hydraulic tools to rescue the trapped woman.

She was subsequently conveyed to Khoo Teck Puat Hospital.

One fire engine, a Red Rhino, an ambulance and two supporting vehicles were dispatched to the incident location.

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

A woman was trapped for 20 minutes inside her mangled Jaguar after a collision with another car at Serangoon North early yesterday morning.

When Singapore Civil Defence Force officers arrived at the scene, they had to use hydraulic tools to rescue the woman, who was conscious and taken to Khoo Teck Puat Hospital.

The male driver of the other car was arrested. The New Paper understands that he is suspected of drink driving.

The collision happened at the junction of Serangoon North Avenue 5 and Yio Chu Kang Road just past midnight, and the woman's white Jaguar was sent spinning into a traffic light.

Stomper zerr sent in her father's account of the accident to Stomp's Singapore Seen webpage.

According to her father's account, the other car was speeding along Yio Chu Kang Road and beat a red light before colliding with the Jaguar, which was about to turn right from the adjacent road.

zerr wrote: "The car was badly wrecked and a female driver was stuck inside. The male driver and his passenger (of the other car) attempted to flee the scene but were stopped by onlookers."

Too shaken to move

A witness told Lianhe Wanbao that the woman driver was conscious but was too shaken and shocked to move.

Another witness, who wanted to known only as Mrs Peh, told the paper that she was passing by when she saw the accident.

She immediately went over to the wrecked Jaguar to try to comfort the driver, who is in her 30s.

"I asked her if she was all right, but I couldn't make out her replies," Mrs Peh said.

"There was a wound on her forehead. She was conscious all the while. Even as she was carried into the ambulance, she spoke weakly to the ambulance personnel."

Other witnesses said the woman was trapped in the driver's seat for 20 minutes before being rescued.

An SCDF spokesman said SCDF received a call at 12.10am about the accident and dispatched a fire engine, a Red Rhino, an ambulance and two supporting appliances to the scene.

Mrs Peh said the other driver, who looked to be in his 40s, was unsteady on his feet after he got out of his car.

Other witnesses told Wanbao that they smelled alcohol on the driver when he walked past them.

A police spokesman told The New Paper the car driver was arrested and investigations are ongoing.

The woman's brother, who rushed to the scene, told Lianhe Wanbao that she owns a cleaning company.

He said she was awake in hospital, but was being kept there for observation after she complained of pain in her abdomen.

Edited by Mockngbrd

Lately too many drink driving cases and I urge the Authorities be it LTA or TP or whosoever to implement Tougher punishment on the culprit. Every driver on the road who party & drink dun give a damn about drink driving. At the most kena fined and 1 year suspension of driving license nia if kena caught. How many times will they be caught when they decide to drink & drive.

I suggest 5yrs imprisonment with lifelong Ban on drivibg as well as a hefty fine amount like our COE price. If its 1.6L and below car involved in drink driving, then shld be fine Cat A COE price. If its above 1.6L car involved or kenna caught, then shld be fine Cat B COE price.

This will increase our Gahment monetary coffer and as well as act as deterant to drink driving!!

Isnt this a Good Suggestion???

If one wanna drive after drinking session, better think twice!!

Too MANY and I REPEAT again. Too MANY Drink Driving driver dont bloodly care a damn about it.

Edited by Abachee

About time the authority gets tough on drink driving. They should really impose mandatory jail term for drink-driving traffic accidents. For those caught drink-driving at road blocks, these drivers should have their driving license ban for life.

If Singapore can have death sentence for drug trafficking, I don't see why tough laws cannot be enacted for drink driving.

Is it so hard for people to hitch a cab if you need to drink? Most of the time when drunk gets into an accident, innocent party or the passenger gets the hit.

Among my circle of frens I know of, already have 5 of them under driving ban, 2 on second timer, supposed to be jailed for 1 month but they release them after 3 weeks and fined 6k. Thats only my circle of frens, donno how many others I dont know of.

I too was before a drinker, but an incident stopped me totally from drinking non the least driving. Already more den 10yrs, only occasional seep of beer at coffee shops near my house. Was caught by tp on my way home after hungry ghost celebration, was really high and was driving normally one more traffic light to reach home, encik stop me, and told him its a company occasion and every was too drunk to sent each other home. I admitted drunk, he paused, lectured me and told me not to do it again and go straight home. He only charged me for beating red light, the next day sobered up realised wat he has told me and that change my bad habit. Din forget this incident, even he slapped me wif a ban I will still be grateful to him.

Lately too many drink driving cases and I urge the Authorities be it LTA or TP or whosoever to implement Tougher punishment on the culprit. Every driver on the road who party & drink dun give a damn about drink driving. At the most kena fined and 1 year suspension of driving license nia if kena caught. How many times will they be caught when they decide to drink & drive.

I suggest 5yrs imprisonment with lifelong Ban on drivibg as well as a hefty fine amount like our COE price. If its 1.6L and below car involved in drink driving, then shld be fine Cat A COE price. If its above 1.6L car involved or kenna caught, then shld be fine Cat B COE price.

This will increase our Gahment monetary coffer and as well as act as deterant to drink driving!!

Isnt this a Good Suggestion???

If one wanna drive after drinking session, better think twice!!

Too MANY and I REPEAT again. Too MANY Drink Driving driver dont bloodly care a damn about it.

Perhaps, confiscation of the drink driver vehicle would drive the message better. :ph34r:

Purpose:

1) Deny a drink driver his vehicle

2) Lelong to those who are more responsible and have better use for the vehicle

This problem seemed difficult to eradicate despite current campaign and penalties against drink driving. Hence, draconian laws, if necessary; should be put in place to tackle such hazards on our roads.

Perhaps, confiscation of the drink driver vehicle would drive the message better. :ph34r:

Purpose:

1) Deny a drink driver his vehicle

2) Lelong to those who are more responsible and have better use for the vehicle

This problem seemed difficult to eradicate despite current campaign and penalties against drink driving. Hence, draconian laws, if necessary; should be put in place to tackle such hazards on our roads.

well

they tried on the mobile phones right

still got idiots using mobile phones while driving