Leiquiz Clutched April 1, 2012 Share April 1, 2012 Dear Bros, Any recommendations for good local food - specific restaurants/shops etc in Melaka? Below are some that I already know, 1) BeiZhan 2) Teo Soon Leong Teochew food 3) Capitol Satay celup 4) 88 Chendol Any other recommendations????? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Shor 1st Gear April 1, 2012 Share April 1, 2012 On 4/1/2012 at 8:47 AM, Leiquiz said: Dear Bros, Any recommendations for good local food - specific restaurants/shops etc in Melaka? Below are some that I already know, 1) BeiZhan 2) Teo Soon Leong Teochew food 3) Capitol Satay celup 4) 88 Chendol Any other recommendations????? Porridge House Warong Coconut Shake @ Klebang Besar Nan @ Pak Putra Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Qpik Supercharged April 30, 2012 Share April 30, 2012 Don't waste yr time at 88 Chendol. Had it on Sat. The way it was made changed liao. Gula Melaka got a burnt & bitter taste. They used instant coconut instead of freshly squeezed ones. I tried Overtime there. The roast pork, mini pork knuckles r yummy. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Shor 1st Gear May 1, 2012 Share May 1, 2012 On 4/30/2012 at 11:19 AM, Qpik said: Don't waste yr time at 88 Chendol. Had it on Sat. The way it was made changed liao. Gula Melaka got a burnt & bitter taste. They used instant coconut instead of freshly squeezed ones. I tried Overtime there. The roast pork, mini pork knuckles r yummy. There's Overtime eatery in Holland V too right? But I find it so-so only. My 2 cents. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hamburger Hypersonic May 1, 2012 Share May 1, 2012 On 4/30/2012 at 11:19 AM, Qpik said: Don't waste yr time at 88 Chendol. Had it on Sat. The way it was made changed liao. Gula Melaka got a burnt & bitter taste. They used instant coconut instead of freshly squeezed ones. I tried Overtime there. The roast pork, mini pork knuckles r yummy. i have to agree with that. The last time i tasted 88 it and i went "wow"!!!! , but now......wah lau Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jflcorp Neutral Newbie May 8, 2012 Share May 8, 2012 Go to Jalan Bunga Raya, a small alley in the middle, serves the best char siew/roast pork rice you ever tasted! They call it Glutton's alley or something, serves during lunch.... Sit next to them chopping the char siew, roast pork and lap cheong..... Smothered in sweet sauce or curry, with some vegetables and fried crispy egg! Walau eh HEAVEN! Must always have it when I visit Malacca.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vega Turbocharged May 8, 2012 Share May 8, 2012 On 4/1/2012 at 8:47 AM, Leiquiz said: Dear Bros, Any recommendations for good local food - specific restaurants/shops etc in Melaka? Below are some that I already know, 1) BeiZhan 2) Teo Soon Leong Teochew food 3) Capitol Satay celup 4) 88 Chendol Any other recommendations????? Over rated in my opinion Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
TheRationalVoice 1st Gear May 8, 2012 Share May 8, 2012 On 4/1/2012 at 8:47 AM, Leiquiz said: Dear Bros, Any recommendations for good local food - specific restaurants/shops etc in Melaka? Below are some that I already know, 1) BeiZhan 2) Teo Soon Leong Teochew food 3) Capitol Satay celup 4) 88 Chendol Any other recommendations????? Restaurent Bibik Neo. Peranakan food. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jflcorp Neutral Newbie May 8, 2012 Share May 8, 2012 On 5/8/2012 at 1:39 PM, TheRationalVoice said: Restaurent Bibik Neo. Peranakan food. I think I been there, is it the one exactly opposite the post office in Malacca Raya? Yes, very nice Nyonya food, please refrain from those other more commercialised ones further down the street, you can always see buses loads of tourists....... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Christan Turbocharged December 18, 2012 Share December 18, 2012 Came back from Melaka trip few weeks back. Had a feast eating there, 4-5 meals a day. The food there was great, from the usual wan ton mee in coffee shop to Peranakan/chinese resturant. Of course there were some misses, like the fried oyster omelette. Didn't get a chance to try the satay celup/chendol/chicken rice balls/satay as my 'tank' full most of the time. Along the way stopped by some some famous attractions, Hang Li Poh well. Recommendations for food (can't remember road name as based on visual landmarks): 1. coffeeshop behing Renaaisance hotel - Wan Ton Mee - chewy not soggy, wan ton with good filling, chilli was nice Nyonya Bak Chang Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Amgm125 2nd Gear December 20, 2012 Share December 20, 2012 Been to Malacca road trips a few times this yr. If you go jonker street, can try the asam laksa, damn crowded always no place to sit. Another place of good nonya food is Nancy's kitchen, located near geography cafe. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chrispie 5th Gear December 21, 2012 Share December 21, 2012 Sun May Hiong Satay House: Pork Satay @ Taman Kota Laksamana Jalan Kota Laksamana 1/1, Taman Kota Laksamana, Melaka this is quite good... liver and intestine satay.. shiok Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Donut Supercharged December 21, 2012 Share December 21, 2012 i'm going in Meleka next week. Any more food recommendation? Will be staying at Excelsior hotel. nearby food outlets there? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
TVT Supercharged December 21, 2012 Share December 21, 2012 On 12/20/2012 at 3:27 AM, Amgm125 said: Been to Malacca road trips a few times this yr. If you go jonker street, can try the asam laksa, damn crowded always no place to sit. Another place of good nonya food is Nancy's kitchen, located near geography cafe. Jonker Street got one asam laksa is quite good. Yup, its dam crowded along the whole street and no place to sit so had to tao bao and eat on-the-go...! Nancy Kitchen I had tried last Sunday and its quite nice especially its curry chicken and asam fish. But its quite expensive, IMO. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
TVT Supercharged December 21, 2012 Share December 21, 2012 On 12/21/2012 at 3:41 AM, Donut said: i'm going in Meleka next week. Any more food recommendation? Go for Bei Zhan. I find the place there very comfortable, service good and food nice too. Best of all, it is not very expensive! (just IMO) Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Newdrive 1st Gear December 21, 2012 Share December 21, 2012 On 12/21/2012 at 3:41 AM, Donut said: i'm going in Meleka next week. Any more food recommendation? Will be staying at Excelsior hotel. nearby food outlets there? when u going next week? i am going on 29, coming back on 31. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Donut Supercharged December 21, 2012 Share December 21, 2012 On 12/21/2012 at 4:04 AM, Newdrive said: when u going next week? i am going on 29, coming back on 31. Ha! i'm going from 27 Dec to 30 Dec. 3 nights Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jman888 Moderator December 21, 2012 Share December 21, 2012 On 12/21/2012 at 4:06 AM, Donut said: Ha! i'm going from 27 Dec to 30 Dec. 3 nights i probably going for a day trip sometime next week, if i can squeeze some time for to go ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...