What's the reason Lornie Rd can't be widened?

KARTer

Question on preservation of Bukit Brown aside, why can't Lornie Rd be widened to ease traffic jam?

Isn't it cheaper and quicker to widen the existing road than to build a new one cutting thru the cemetery?

Question on preservation of Bukit Brown aside, why can't Lornie Rd be widened to ease traffic jam?

Isn't it cheaper and quicker to widen the existing road than to build a new one cutting thru the cemetery?

Maybe after opening a road, it will be easier for the govt to exhume the rest of the land in Bt Brown, and sell the surrounding areas to improve the NATIONAL RESERVES!

Govt is good at employing 2-step approaches...eg, raise GST but give rebates for X-no of years. Increase utilities but give "some" rebates to some, move CPF goalpost a bit at a time so you and I become immune...just too many times the govt had use this methodology until IMH patients also know liao.

Edited by Latio2005A

i'm just making an educated guess..widening Lornie road leading to Braddell might make the SICC lose some golfing space..and part of the land is utilized by MacRitchie reservoir..which is part of the nature reserve

I believe many people can have many ideas. I believe value for money to divert part of the east-west traffic through an entirely new dedicated East-West overhead/aboveland route, or overhead route along the Nothern coast. More land can be available for other usage.

First the objective, then the justifications. Ease the traffic is the objective or the justification? Hahahaha... Unless you are the tummy worm lah...

清明 liao, don't anyhow talk hor... later kena play. ..

speaking of qingming, the roads at mandai super crowded, and all the side roads leading there.....trafiic chaos

Me go cck every year just as crowded.

Maybe after opening a road, it will be easier for the govt to exhume the rest of the land in Bt Brown, and sell the surrounding areas to improve the NATIONAL RESERVES!

Govt is good at employing 2-step approaches...eg, raise GST but give rebates for X-no of years. Increase utilities but give "some" rebates to some, move CPF goalpost a bit at a time so you and I become immune...just too many times the govt had use this methodology until IMH patients also know liao.

A case where they have a hiden agenda?.... not very steady.... :D

Isnt MacRitchie reservoir is located besides lornie road? If they widen the road, will it affect the MacRitchie? [:/]

They can build an elevated road over the scenic MacRitchie but they think the elevated road over the grave yard is more scenic...

Maybe they afraid to spoilt the nature in macRitchie by building an elevated road over it. But perhaps they are not afraid by building an elevated road over the grave yard since they have no living things inside there?! [rolleyes]

U don't know who "s dad was buried at bukit brown? Check with your old folk on Coffee Mountain.