C180K now at $153,088 - C&C showroom packed!

Astrid

Looking at the car-buying patterns of many Singapore families, they'd rather spend that $5K more and be seen driving home a brand new Merc C-Class, than a Toyota Altis [:p]

OT a bit - At that price, you can buy a BMW M5 or Nissan GTR in UK.

$153K is far from cheap; rather it's just a less rip-off price. [cool]

OT a bit - At that price, you can buy a BMW M5 or Nissan GTR in UK.

$153K is far from cheap; rather it's just a less rip-off price. [cool]

But what to do?

We live in COE land.

Even a 0.8L Chery QQ costs $87K.

Would you buy that China-made car for nearly $90K???

Yah lor - it's this thingy about badge/prestige/image call it whatever.

A Thai-made Toyota Altis 1.8L now lists for $148K! $5K more can get a Merc sedan - why not? many may think!

A C class & Altis are difference only in badge/prestige/image?

Of course, because take away the badge, the Altis looks better, have better engine, gearbox, more features, higher quality interior, better ride quality & road noise, etc...... [rolleyes]

I hope you are not one of those rumor internet trolls for some Dealer, as you seems to post negative things in almost all your posts about the new C180k Or did you bought a new Altis at high price, and bottomhurt at the new C180k price?

This kind of pricing is eating into the Japanese executive car market territory. I was looking for a BM Toyota Camry on the new car section of sgcm to make a comparison, couldn't find it. Have they discontinued the model? :o[laugh]

Yes, many interested buyers. I went to have a look yesterday.

Did you buy one?

Or just kaypoh kaypoh, like me? [:p]

Of course, because take away the badge, the Altis looks better, have better engine, gearbox, more features, higher quality interior, better ride quality & road noise, etc...... [rolleyes]

I hope you are not one of those rumor internet trolls for some Dealer, as you seems to post negative things in almost all your posts about the new C180k Or did you bought a new Altis at high price, and bottomhurt at the new C180k price?

He is making a comparison using the 1.8L altis. Not a good comparison imho. It suffers from a much higher COE at Cat B and the model doesn't sell well be it in high or low COE situations anyway.

Eh hello, pls read my initial post hor.

I said that the C180K's pricing now is a very attractive proposition - better than what Audi, BMW or VW are able to offer at this price point.

And in case you did not get my drift, between a C-Class and a tomyam Altis, the choice for many families would be the Merc, a no brainer!

Your English sure has room for improvement, I think! [wave]

Did you buy one?

Or just kaypoh kaypoh, like me? [:p]

I just changed my car, but not merc. I just curious because when I changed my car, I did considered merc too but I preferred another car as merc is too comman on the road. Eariler, they were selling it at 150k. Plus, I saw a few SF* cars parked in the carparks mostly camry.

Edited by Princey_anne

This kind of pricing is eating into the Japanese executive car market territory. I was looking for a BM Toyota Camry on the new car section of sgcm to make a comparison, couldn't find it. Have they discontinued the model? :o[laugh]

I had brought up the Altis 1.8 pricing, to compare with the C180K. Close, very close.

Who will want to buy the Altis?

Camry? Though larger in girth, it's even more expensive - tomyam car also!

Already it's pressured by the PI sales of the Jepun Mark X.

Why anyone want to buy a less reliable half-baked Italian, with a GM-sourced JTS engine?

I used to own Alfa Romeos, but never considered the models after the last Twin-Spark and Alfa V6 blocks to be true-blue Alfa Romeos. Ba$tardized in it's truest form - by GM somemore!

Even the discontinued Alfa Boxer engine was a beaut, in it's time.

The twin-spark, I love it and she is actually problem free.

Are you out of your mind?

For ride quality and road noise, the Merc beats the Altis hands down lah. No debate.

The Merc's M271 IL-4 was an award winning engine. I don't recall the Toyota Altis engine having won any award.

The C180K's interior upholstery are all German factory-fitted.

The Altis leathers are locally fitted.

Where got fight?

Get Real!

And IMHO, the current C looks better than the Altis.

Its F/R RWD handling is also a notch or two above the Altis lah.

Altis springs very soft and bouncy too, at the extremes.

Are you out of your mind?

For ride quality and road noise, the Merc beats the Altis hands down lah. No debate.

The Merc's M271 IL-4 was an award winning engine. I don't recall the Toyota Altis engine having won any award.

The C180K's interior upholstery are all German factory-fitted.

The Altis leathers are locally fitted.

Where got fight?

Get Real!

Bro, your scarasm dector low battery today? [:p] I am being sarcastic in my post as another bro compare Altis with Merc, saying many people will get the Merc mainly due to badge/prestige/image thingy...