Channel 5 in decline

Ahtong

On 3/30/2012 at 11:18 AM, Donut said:

What feedback ??

I have never been asked by mediacorp to take any survey or the feedback. And I only lived within 2 KM from mediacorp.......

Wah.....2 km away from mediacorp......Must be landed property......Elite siah..... [lipsrsealed][laugh]

Edited by Yuan

On 3/30/2012 at 5:17 AM, Redplanet said:

Only watch the news at 9.30pm... If and only if OE is the anchor.

Even for the news, I prefer CNN and Bloomberg.

On 3/30/2012 at 3:56 PM, Rezorn86 said:

for me other than the NEWS, mediacorp show r crap...

Confirmed crap, look at the recent drama series showing on channel 8?! [shakehead]

  On 3/30/2012 at 2:27 PM, Yuan said:

Wah.....2 km away from mediacorp......Must be landed property......Elite siah..... [lipsrsealed][laugh]

Where got elite??? I live in a canal.....

On 3/30/2012 at 2:27 PM, Yuan said:

Or on a canoe in MacRitchie?.... Cannot be Bukit a brown, right? :D

Edited by KARTer

On 3/30/2012 at 2:29 PM, Yuan said:

Even for the news, I prefer CNN and Bloomberg.

I also watch NHK news and their current affairs prog not bad...... :D

Actually Channel did produced some good original shows lah.

I remember enjoying "The pupil", which I feel the storyline fusioned US drama in local scene. The important factor are the actors, besides Adrian Pang and Rebecca Lim, I feel another good actor is Andie Chin. I liked his performance in "Fighting Spiders", which I feel is better than Growing u. Andie Chin does both channel 5 and 8 very well. English and Mandarin also good.

Channel 8? Siao Siao one. Some of their production is actually not bad. I like a recent one from a mixed SG and MY cast on a kampong in the 60s. However the rest still CMI.

One of the best things that mediacorp did is their documentaries(travel, food, etc) and reality shows.....All very local flavour.

And to be fair, not all the shows in Channel 5 sucks. Some are quite updated.

And not all cable TV shows are nice.

When I subscribe to Singtel MIO TV, their movie VOD also sucks, it's showing the same stuff as channel 5. MIO TV owner would understand what I mean....and I paid for it somemore.

Then I subscribe to Starhub.....faint....the universal/warner TV also showing old movie, although slight newer than channel5/mio TV. dissapointed too!

It's all a conspiracy!! They are forcing me pay extra$$ to upgrade to HBO or FOX movie channel!

If not for the following channels, I would have given up on starhub TV!

- 455 - History Channel - My fav

- 422 - Discovery Channel

- 459 - Nat Geo Wild

- 555 - Starworld - Wifey's fav

Edited by Pocus

  On 3/30/2012 at 2:23 PM, 13177 said:

I think free to air channel cannot show current movies first before cable. Have to wait cable finished showing the current movie after a certain period, then the free to air channel can show. If not dont think got people want to pay money to subcribe cable liao. But in cable they are also keeps repeating the movies lo.

Since when was there such a rule? Whoever pays gets the movies right, $1 from Mediacorpse is the same as $1 from Starhub, right? I certainly won't care whose buck I take if I'm the seller. And It is precisely how Mediacorpse is rolling over that is sealing its own fate. Repeating relatively current movies I can understand, but those stupid ones where giant mosquito run around or some giant digital anaconda fight some equally ridiculous creature? Give me a break. I'd bet my bottom dollar even the top brass at Mediacorpse will not watch that garbage.

the only mediacorp news i watch is morning express.

and 10PM on CNA. the rest i dont,

the only mediacorp news i watch is morning express.

and 10PM on CNA. the rest i dont,

On 3/30/2012 at 4:18 PM, KARTer said:

I also watch NHK news and their current affairs prog not bad...... :D

You mean the news broadcaster also right? [:p]

On 3/30/2012 at 4:01 PM, Donut said:

Where got elite??? I live in a canal.....

Wah.....Private and personalized reservoir next to your house. Lagi elite..... [:p][laugh]

  On 3/30/2012 at 4:37 PM, Pocus said:

I like a recent one from a mixed SG and MY cast on a kampong in the 60s.

the current 7pm one?

SG/MY kampong drama but dubbed with TW accent!