Adrianli Hypersonic March 30, 2012 Share March 30, 2012 BTW no guarantee that a gou lou or panjang will jump further than a shorty. It all depends on how your abdominal muscles plus that of your lower limbs work in tandem during that leap. Errr.........I always over shoot the markings for SBJ. But if sit n reach is still tested, I will never pass it!!! Impossible for me to pass. I got no special technique, two feet together, swing arms forward n jump. Make sure to land on two feet. I seen someone jumping with the legs swing outwards. Wow....jump further than me!!! ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vulcann 6th Gear March 30, 2012 Share March 30, 2012 Errr.........I always over shoot the markings for SBJ. But if sit n reach is still tested, I will never pass it!!! Impossible for me to pass. I got no special technique, two feet together, swing arms forward n jump. Make sure to land on two feet. I seen someone jumping with the legs swing outwards. Wow....jump further than me!!! Before jumping you got ask those busybodies at the far end to siam not? [laugh] Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
SimonTan 2nd Gear March 30, 2012 Share March 30, 2012 All activity points to the physical fitness of the soldiers lah. Lucky army never test you on your sexual stamina or yout BJ skills. Because if yoou become POW, the emeny may just ask you to Anal and BJ them......if you can do these skills well.....your life will be spared and be useful to them. Else if failed the Anal and BJ test, then you are useless and will be killed and thrown into the ditch. So you see.....cannot directly SBJ to whether its required or not.......the subtleness of certain capabilities will be very important in time of desperation!!! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Adrianli Hypersonic March 30, 2012 Share March 30, 2012 (edited) If land inside pail not only fail but also got high chance of tripping and falling flat on face, kena serious injury and get downgraded. No more IPPT. Should scrap IPPT and get NS men to hit the gym, ALL must attend once a week for 2 hours and to be trained by chio bu trainers. Enjoy and be fit as fiddle, 2 birds 1 stone, no stress! Those PT sessions conducted by PTIs, can die arh!!! I cannot count how many times kena touch lampost, wall or fence. Each PT session last for two hours, after that almost dead liao. Then later on, rifle PT. Even more siong. Lucky my time got no Log PT. But looking at how the Divers train during PT session, 100X worse than us. I dread going for any PT sessions conducted by male/female PTI. Edited March 30, 2012 by Adrianli Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nhrisuzu 1st Gear March 30, 2012 Share March 30, 2012 just go ipt , rt training there u get freee sbj leg workout till u drop, measure ur power to weight ratio just like 4x100, for most of us its the high rpm we struggle to maintain at 2.4 , of cos some got vvti in lung so can rev less my shuttlerun can do 10sec flat.. (torque high).. but 2.4km 12min 15sec.. (i bo vvti).. [bigcry] Cat Y here.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vulcann 6th Gear March 30, 2012 Share March 30, 2012 Those PT sessions conducted by PTIs, can die arh!!! I cannot count how many times kena touch lampost, wall or fence. Each PT session last for two hours, after that almost dead liao. Then later on, rifle PT. Even more siong. Lucky my time got no Log PT. But looking at how the Divers train during PT session, 100X worse than us. I dread going for any PT sessions conducted by male/female PTI. Went through log PT throughout our physical training cycles & it was no freaking joke. Your hands were like jelly after each "training"... Those who had charged up Peng Kang Hill in PLC with logs would know how it was like... You should have seen how diver trainees run or do push-ups with their tanks in Sembawang Camp. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cars08 1st Gear March 30, 2012 Share March 30, 2012 (edited) Anyway if anyone has problem passing SBJ, this is the training to try. Take a water pail, those big red colored water pail used for car washing. Put it in front of you, about 1 meter away Try to jump over it, as if u are taking the SBJ test. If you can jump over it, push it abit further away. And jump again. Just keep trying to jump over it, and push further and further away. Once u feel v comfortable jumping over the pail when it's about 1.5 to 2 meters away. You sure pass the SBJ test. Wah...this is a old school man...there is an easier way lah...build your lower leg muscles by doing this...tip toe and lifting up/down your body slowly..do 50 counts x 5 each day...confirm one week later, u can jump better.... Edited March 30, 2012 by Cars08 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Adrianli Hypersonic March 30, 2012 Share March 30, 2012 Went through log PT throughout our physical training cycles & it was no freaking joke. Your hands were like jelly after each "training"... Those who had charged up Peng Kang Hill in PLC with logs would know how it was like... You should have seen how diver trainees run or do push-ups with their tanks in Sembawang Camp. During my BMT time, saw the very 1st batch of NSF diver BMT. Got one diver sign on one, so he join us 1st while waiting for the NSF diver BMT to begin. See them doing duck walk with their flippers make me shiver!!! While we were having breakfast, they were already running ard the camp. They only eat after we are done. When we lights out, still can hear their instructor shouting at them in their parade square. But hearsay they have better bunk than us. Never seen it with my own eyes thou. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Maxus-MIFA9 Supersonic March 30, 2012 Share March 30, 2012 Is it for some death move where you pounce on the enemy and squish him with your weight? If you need to leap over an obstacle, surely it is better to do a running jump? I can't think of any practical use for standing broad jump leh For serious discussion and also creative replies Is for you to stand on the ledge & leap further out should you want to do a sky-diving from any HBD flats so that you won't land on the parapet below.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
13177 Hypersonic March 30, 2012 Share March 30, 2012 During my BMT time, saw the very 1st batch of NSF diver BMT. Got one diver sign on one, so he join us 1st while waiting for the NSF diver BMT to begin. See them doing duck walk with their flippers make me shiver!!! While we were having breakfast, they were already running ard the camp. They only eat after we are done. When we lights out, still can hear their instructor shouting at them in their parade square. But hearsay they have better bunk than us. Never seen it with my own eyes thou. Heard Diver training very very siong! So those who can survive and pass the training really very very fit and strong! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Watwheels Supersonic March 30, 2012 Share March 30, 2012 Heard Diver training very very siong! So those who can survive and pass the training really very very fit and strong! So what? Do you know who go and fish out the dead bodies in the reservoir suicides? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ahtong 1st Gear March 30, 2012 Author Share March 30, 2012 I feel that the secret to passing SBJ is simply technique. The idea is to leap or lunge forward as fiercely as you can (like Cantona's kungfu kick) People fail because they do hop or tuck jump. I ever saw one guy jump body first with legs trailing behind ..... sure fail Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
13177 Hypersonic March 30, 2012 Share March 30, 2012 So what? Do you know who go and fish out the dead bodies in the reservoir suicides? Diver? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Donut Supercharged March 30, 2012 Share March 30, 2012 Wah...this is a old school man...there is an easier way lah...build your lower leg muscles by doing this...tip toe and lifting up/down your body slowly..do 50 counts x 5 each day...confirm one week later, u can jump better.... Your "new school" method needs to do 50 counts x 5 each day, for one week. My "old school" only needs 2-3 hours ONE TIME. Once u can jump over the pail about 1.5 to 2 meters away, you can score 5 point liao. So which one is better in time saving? My "old school" trains someone to have better balance from leaping to mid air and to landing. it's more visual coz u see an obstacle in front of you (the pail), and u use this visual to clear the obstacle. So once you can clear this obstacle, you can clear the SBJ. I went through this "old school" myself just in one afternoon. jump for 2 hours, and i tried the actual SBJ station Wow! 5 points instantly!!! Happy like F!!!! Its not my own idea actually. Kena forced by my PC to do it. He saw my SBJ only 1 or 2 point. Called me in, he took a pail, placed it outside his office walkway, and asked me to jump over it. So i jumped. Then he placed it abit further away and i jumped again, until he placed further and further. Just in 2 hours, i can score 5 points. no need to tekan, no need to shout, no need to run from one tree to another, no need to do 5BX. I tell you, this is only useful take-away that i learned from my NS days. I forgot about the rest of it. No one knows about this training, not even those PTIs. I always asked them how to train for SBJ, no one can explain on how to train. They always say the same thing "swing arms together with yr legs, coordination, look far, blah blah blah". But it never works. No one mentioned about this pail training that i went through. Nobody knows about it. I always wonder how my PC knows about this training.......... Then when i became reservist, and need to take IPPT annually. I trained on my own, by just putting the pail in front of me and jumped. Just do it one time, can liao. Then i realised something about SBJ. It's the fear of losing balance and falling that makes some ppl scared of it. I went thru this fear myself. So this pail training trains ppl not to fear the falling because if you can clear the pail, you will not fear of jumping over it. Then it builds up the confidence of jumping high and far. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cars08 1st Gear March 30, 2012 Share March 30, 2012 Wah...such a long reply...ill skipped the details....most importantly...dun get injured while training...it is only 1 of the obstacle out of the rest...i recommended it bcos quite a few yrs ago..i had problem w sbj...maybe too much sex... ...PTI recommended this method to me...i tested it...n within the following week, I jump...4pts from 1pt...quite effective...n fyi, I do it whenever I hv time...waiting to meet someone, while brushing my teeth...n etc...as i personally dun hv the time n discipline to really do wat he recommended me...The pail or dustbin method...is to train u to look far...but sometimes...it is really the muscle part that needs to be work on... Cheers Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Heng51 2nd Gear March 30, 2012 Share March 30, 2012 SBJ's really about technique... 1. One swing; don't swing and swing as it dont really help. 2. When the hands are pulled back, jump off. This is the most crucial part; the acceleration in which you take off will determine ur score. Like what some bros mentioned, explosiveness; really push out fast. 3. If can tuck in the leg will add some more distance before landing Used to fail SBJ... But following this helps me in passing. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tianmo Hypersonic March 30, 2012 Share March 30, 2012 SBJ is to test the flexibility of a person?! Actually i also dont understand any practical use for sit-ups and shuttle run? shuttle run is very very important..................again is explosive strength to cover...............the abilities to run to cover in the shortest time............imagine if you are shot and needs to be pull to cover...................would you want someone who can run shuttle in under 10 sec or someone who always fail shuttle to pull you??................. [laugh] Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kar_lover Supercharged March 30, 2012 Share March 30, 2012 Is it for some death move where you pounce on the enemy and squish him with your weight? If you need to leap over an obstacle, surely it is better to do a running jump? I can't think of any practical use for standing broad jump leh For serious discussion and also creative replies Chey when i saw SBJ i tot is standing blow job.... ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...