What's the rationale for SBJ?

Ahtong

Is it for some death move where you pounce on the enemy and squish him with your weight?

If you need to leap over an obstacle, surely it is better to do a running jump?

I can't think of any practical use for standing broad jump leh [confused]

For serious discussion and also creative replies

IMHO, to build lower body strength, esp those 'explosive' muscles in the legs. Helps you to jump high enough to grab something overhead, e.g. when clearing tall obstacles like walls... I know the necessity for this becos I'm a bit height-challenged [laugh].

Furthermore, for activities like rope-climbing, if you can jump high enough to start the climb, is also an advantage.

my view is that...........the SBJ............or rather the IPPT is more a test and guide than actual usage..............each station tests different part of our body...........which is use in different situation in combat...........so that we can know where we are weaker and train on those areas........

SBJ would likely be testing the explosive power of our lower body.............or legs.........those who cannot jump very far usually have weaker legs...........or weaker lower body power............close contact combat when all are tired may be at disadvantage............just my guess.......

IMHO, to build lower body strength, esp those 'explosive' muscles in the legs. Helps you to jump high enough to grab something overhead, e.g. when clearing tall obstacles like walls... I know the necessity for this becos I'm a bit height-challenged [laugh].

Furthermore, for activities like rope-climbing, if you can jump high enough to start the climb, is also an advantage.

very useful for SOC................. [laugh] [laugh] [laugh]

But standing broad jump you need to jump far. Jumping high will only land on the same spot.

Is it for some death move where you pounce on the enemy and squish him with your weight?

So you can jump over wide trenches while overrunning the enemy lines lor [;)]

Maybe to test your ability to Jump ba. but seriously who will walk up to a Hole. Close 2 legs and jump across. lol. usally ppl run and jump which is more effective :D

I think the idea behind this exercise is to "handicap" you, so that in actual situation, with running start and so on... you can jump even further (or even fly! like in kung fu movies!!) [laugh]

So if you can jump a respectable distance from a stationary position, 2 legs together... then there's confidence that you can jump much further in the actual situation with running start.

if u fail ur sbj, better to cut down on stuffs which makes ur legs weak like sex....

No wonder I can score 5 points in every station except sbj [sly]

The SBJ is simply a test of your lower body muscular strength and power. Singaporeans usually find it a problem because we seldom use our leg muscles for anything more than walking to our cars and shopping.

I also never understand what is SBJ all about, for soldiers to pass.

I understand that SBJ is to test lower body strength. But to jump SBJ, it's a technique to use with your hands and leg coordination.

Anyway if anyone has problem passing SBJ, this is the training to try.

Take a water pail, those big red colored water pail used for car washing. Put it in front of you, about 1 meter away

Try to jump over it, as if u are taking the SBJ test. If you can jump over it, push it abit further away. And jump again. Just keep trying to jump over it, and push further and further away.

Once u feel v comfortable jumping over the pail when it's about 1.5 to 2 meters away. You sure pass the SBJ test.

Luckily now don't have sit and reach....

I also never understand what is SBJ all about, for soldiers to pass.

I understand that SBJ is to test lower body strength. But to jump SBJ, it's a technique to use with your hands and leg coordination.

Anyway if anyone has problem passing SBJ, this is the training to try.

Take a water pail, those big red colored water pail used for car washing. Put it in front of you, about 1 meter away

Try to jump over it, as if u are taking the SBJ test. If you can jump over it, push it abit further away. And jump again. Just keep trying to jump over it, and push further and further away.

Once u feel v comfortable jumping over the pail when it's about 1.5 to 2 meters away. You sure pass the SBJ test.

Wa, what if u miss cue, leg or head into the pail how sia

Then excuse RMJ lor. If heng, down grade and siam IPPT for life.