Temasek Holdings ...... Piggy Bank broken?

This is not government bashing but I feel HDB is built for citizens, people born and bred in Singapore. It is the cheapest and only way owning a home for 70-80% of the population. Why are they charging exorbitant prices on HDB of all things. Does anyone know 500K (USD400K) can buy a decent 1200 sqf house in LA with your own backyard and front porch? With spare to buy a second hand car?

Increasing COE can be a way of national 'revenue' since owning a car is a need. If it is a want, most likely your company require you to have one and allocate car allowances. Now, almost every part of Singapore are connected by MRT, shouldn't HDB price be more stable??

Government should bear in mind not everyone are earning comfortably here. They can increase taxes of millionaires (helping the society in one way), lower defence expenses and invest safely.

About losses, it is OK. Who can make 100% predictions on investments? Just work double hard and earn it back. If it is more open, Singaporeans will know our country is going through a rough patch and may even go extra mile to work hard to turn over the tide. We're too divided now

[thumbsup] If only 50% of people can think rationally like you, Singapore would be a much better place.

Dont know why he post 2009 issue in 2012. iszi because 2012 he cannot find Temasek losing money or because now then he know 2009 we loss money. [rolleyes]

eat full nothing to do................trying to stir s--t lah...................look at all his thread started..............I am just waiting see when he going for kopi................

hope the mods are looking at this as well...................

eat full nothing to do................trying to stir s--t lah...................look at all his thread started..............I am just waiting see when he going for kopi................

i think he really need a sabbie to keep him in check...

when sabbie around, he only interested in ka jiaoing sabbie. [laugh]

GIC, TH all have false confidence or rather complacency

because everything they loose money o0r want more money

where do they go to look for money

COE, ERP, CPF, GST and etc

though as a country we do not have large external debts but the country has a huge debt from the citizens

worse, they are throwing money like no tomorrow

giving out scholarships, free lodging, free tuition to attract talents

other tax or other incentives to attract business here rather than making an effort to grow organically from within too

in the end

if all fail, the country make become bankrupt

Actually, there are risks in all investments. I can see that you are very strongly against losses, so am I and everybody else.

If we don't attract business here with tax breaks and other incentives, how are we going to survive? Go back to fishing and our SGD has a value less than the rupiah?

Who would ever give us a chance to build up our industry? I believe as long as what we are doing will end up bringing in more business/$ into our shores, we are still in the right direction. However, the challenge is to know where to draw the line on foreigners.

I used to think like u several years ago until i went into an industry that exposes me to global business and finance perspective. That is when I realised that whatever we have now, our HDB, our condo, landed properties, investments, cars can all vaporised very very quickly if our govt screw up in attracting business & foreign investments to our shore. Right now we are already grappling with extremely high costs and many countries within the APAC region can offer what we offer. Do we want to see businesses and foreign investment/investors move out of Singapore?

Dont know why he post 2009 issue in 2012. iszi because 2012 he cannot find Temasek losing money or because now then he know 2009 we loss money. [rolleyes]

[laugh] Good one!

thought this is done in 2006/7?? not 2009?

I think it's later... In the same block where i bought my flat for 179k, i recalled another flat above me was sold for $110k in 2007.

I rem the date cos that 110k flat was right next to in-law's place. Was vacant until early 2007 then sold.

I think it's later... In the same block where i bought my flat for 179k, i recalled another flat above me was sold for $110k in 2007.

I rem the date cos that 110k flat was right next to in-law's place. Was vacant until early 2007 then sold.

i think its earlier.

my 5 room i bought in Nov 2005 is 150K from then on started to rise liao. next opening for block below me already become 167K by Jan 2006.

next i know, my friend buying BTO one in 2007/8 are already paying high price for smaller flat liao.

and i was telling them because government peg HDB new flat to Resales.

Anyway, Its common for HDB to reduce the price of their existing flat if there is no one take up after a while.

Edited by Joseph22

i think he really need a sabbie to keep him in check...

when sabbie around, he only interested in ka jiaoing sabbie. [laugh]

boot licker only lah.............. [laugh] [laugh] [laugh]

Knowing Singapore does not have its own natural resources, we can sell our technologies, medical advancement or maybe weapons. Be a international leader in such fields. These does not require massive land space and feasible. Also, this is where we can make use of FTs (true talent type) of their knowledge. We have brains from all countries now. Why waste the resource.

And to put it bluntly, FTs are supposed to be tools and not asset (Singaporeans are). Don't talk about war, when financial crisis comes and there's a better place than Singapore, will FTs stay? They can just arrange Fedex and move to another country. Who will be left to pick up the debris?

Agreed.

you are my idol in MCF.... [laugh]

Actually, there are risks in all investments. I can see that you are very strongly against losses, so am I and everybody else.

If we don't attract business here with tax breaks and other incentives, how are we going to survive? Go back to fishing and our SGD has a value less than the rupiah?

Who would ever give us a chance to build up our industry? I believe as long as what we are doing will end up bringing in more business/$ into our shores, we are still in the right direction. However, the challenge is to know where to draw the line on foreigners.

I used to think like u several years ago until i went into an industry that exposes me to global business and finance perspective. That is when I realised that whatever we have now, our HDB, our condo, landed properties, investments, cars can all vaporised very very quickly if our govt screw up in attracting business & foreign investments to our shore. Right now we are already grappling with extremely high costs and many countries within the APAC region can offer what we offer. Do we want to see businesses and foreign investment/investors move out of Singapore?

bro, interesting pov from another angle. whilst I don't disagree with you, I have to say that attracting talents and investments will become even harder. the workforce has been trained to look for better opportunities within MNC which is playing a decreasing role going forward. I find my peers working regionally or based overseas due to opportunities and high costs locally. even local citizenry will use SG as a step towards bigger things elsewhere as the level or business creation is low.

they have realised this now and are frantically trying to encourage biz to start up in local scene via A*Star and other schemes. but this can only bear fruit in time to come. I think the previous big ideas such as Jurong Island and the casinos can only reached a certain level of success. The tech changes are too fast and few co locally are positioned to take advantage of the changes.

bro, interesting pov from another angle. whilst I don't disagree with you, I have to say that attracting talents and investments will become even harder. the workforce has been trained to look for better opportunities within MNC which is playing a decreasing role going forward. I find my peers working regionally or based overseas due to opportunities and high costs locally. even local citizenry will use SG as a step towards bigger things elsewhere as the level or business creation is low.

they have realised this now and are frantically trying to encourage biz to start up in local scene via A*Star and other schemes. but this can only bear fruit in time to come. I think the previous big ideas such as Jurong Island and the casinos can only reached a certain level of success. The tech changes are too fast and few co locally are positioned to take advantage of the changes.

Agree..and here in MCF, we have so many whiners still wanting this and that and not looking @ the extremely tough future that SG is now facing. They need to wake up their idea that the 70s-80s is already in the past... [shakehead]

by the way

our government is not only the highest paid but universe highest salary

if they cant do better than the rest of the lowly paid government that has done better than us for the people

then we have to ask

why are we paying them for

BTW, if you don't know, this is the year of the worst financial crisis that singapore has experienced. If you are into investments you will know that losing 55 billion out of say 190 billion portfolio value is not that bad at all. My first reaction when reading what you posted is.... 55 billion only??? [laugh]

my friend that is where you and i differ

the baseline is

these losers who cause these lost are still working in the same position

in many companies they are replaced by BETTER and more capable people

furthermore, to begin with what credibility is there for those running our TH and GIC

the like of WKS has just been enlisted to work for them

loses are inevitable as in any investment

but we are firstly dealing with singaporeans money and cannot afford to be vaporised

despite loses after loses the same management team are still in place and to add salt to open wound you have people like wks to join them

you go figure out