KARTer 2nd Gear March 29, 2012 Share March 29, 2012 I owned two before, so this is not sour grape...... They are heavy compared with normal cars Thirsty Not exactly good looking It encourages it's driver to be road bully due to its size or perceived ruggedness Hard for maid to wash due to its height Not as stable / safe on the roads due to high CG and suspension setup Etc etc Yet, it's very popular with SGP buyers despite our roads don't really need the high ground clearance or ruggedness. Sale talks + perceived imagine luring buyers to choose them? If you own one or planning to get one, why? There are other options eg station wagons which are safer and carry as much stuff, or MPVs which carry as many people.... ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mustank Hypersonic March 29, 2012 Share March 29, 2012 I owned two before, so this is not sour grape...... They are heavy compared with normal cars Thirsty Not exactly good looking It encourages it's driver to be road bully due to its size or perceived ruggedness Hard for maid to wash due to its height Not as stable / safe on the roads due to high CG and suspension setup Etc etc Yet, it's very popular with SGP buyers despite our roads don't really need the high ground clearance or ruggedness. Sale talks + perceived imagine luring buyers to choose them? If you own one or planning to get one, why? There are other options eg station wagons which are safer and carry as much stuff, or MPVs which carry as many people.... Brother, mai tu liao!!!! go buy a 2nd hand pigkarp truck and feel the invincibility of driving in god mode Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
KARTer 2nd Gear March 29, 2012 Author Share March 29, 2012 Brother, mai tu liao!!!! go buy a 2nd hand pigkarp truck and feel the invincibility of driving in god mode I ever tested two used pickups which were done up and looked very macho (Isuzu, Nissan, old models) .... was very tempted.... Wait first for prices to calm down Since the days of the 90s Toyota Stout, I have been itching, and itching...... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vectrasonic 2nd Gear March 29, 2012 Share March 29, 2012 For SHIOK factor. Was driver Outlander for 4 yrs and change to Volvo V70 a yr ago. Can't compare which is better as different cat. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mustank Hypersonic March 29, 2012 Share March 29, 2012 I ever tested two used pickups which were done up and looked very macho (Isuzu, Nissan, old models) .... was very tempted.... Wait first for prices to calm down Since the days of the 90s Toyota Stout, I have been itching, and itching...... buy those no value one, long tio no heart pain! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mustank Hypersonic March 29, 2012 Share March 29, 2012 For SHIOK factor. Was driver Outlander for 4 yrs and change to Volvo V70 a yr ago. Can't compare which is better as different cat. should upgrade to xc90 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vhtfhwlego Supercharged March 29, 2012 Share March 29, 2012 (edited) You need to break down in a) Small SUV (Rush) b) Mid Size (Rav 4, Tucson) c) Huge Size (Pajero & Fortuner). A) 99% FWD.... Not meant for off-road so owners are "all show - no substance drivers". Perhaps they need the "space" but a wagon / mini MPV will provide more space. Maybe they love kerbs alot so SUV have no problems wih kerb riding which wagons & MPVs cant They go over humps in a speedy manner - since they are no substance drivers, they are probably the worst drivers around... B) 80% FWD thanks to the 90% of modern SUVs owners that admit that they dont go off-roading. Most of them love the space & ride height thus creating the demand... C) Road Bullies.. because I cannot afford them... ... IMHO, these are people which wants quality stuffs... Like wearing a diver watch but dont go swimming. Their minds would be as ease knowing it is waterproof. Edited March 29, 2012 by Vhtfhwlego Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vectrasonic 2nd Gear March 29, 2012 Share March 29, 2012 Too big and high. Test drove that too and was actually impressed with the handling. Changed to have similar boot size but lower ride. I even lower my V70. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vhtfhwlego Supercharged March 29, 2012 Share March 29, 2012 Brother, mai tu liao!!!! go buy a 2nd hand pigkarp truck and feel the invincibility of driving in god mode http://www.sgcarmart.com/used_cars/info.ph...298&DL=1000 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
PSP415 Supersonic March 29, 2012 Share March 29, 2012 Bro Karter, care to share why u chose to own 2 SUVs in e past? I did once contemplate to get one eg Murano or Rav4 becos of a driving holiday in Australia....it was a Rav4 and very gd handling when drove frm Perth to Albany. But its a thirsty gal....e Murano has a either u love-hate design and e interior is comfy. Settled on a Mpv in e end for e extra seats. Safe ride Cheers 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
KARTer 2nd Gear March 29, 2012 Author Share March 29, 2012 buy those no value one, long tio no heart pain! exactly, scratches, dents, etc all no pains.... but usually the interior of such pickup needs a thorough clean up Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Shox87 4th Gear March 29, 2012 Share March 29, 2012 my parents were contemplating getting a toyota fortuner a couple of years back when it was going at around 108k. but they decided against it when my mum had difficulty getting into the backseat as the ground clearance was quite high even with the side stepper. when seated into the driver seat of the fortuner, it has a commanding presence on the road due to its size and height. basically u would be looking "down" on all the cars except for the buses and lorries. the fortuner when properly done up with bling bling rims and HIDs will look darn good and PIMPED. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
KARTer 2nd Gear March 29, 2012 Author Share March 29, 2012 Bro Karter, care to share why u chose to own 2 SUVs in e past? I did once contemplate to get one eg Murano or Rav4 becos of a driving holiday in Australia....it was a Rav4 and very gd handling when drove frm Perth to Albany. But its a thirsty gal....e Murano has a either u love-hate design and e interior is comfy. Settled on a Mpv in e end for e extra seats. Safe ride Cheers Before talking about my SUVs, i can share with you Murano is a very spacious car, my sis's can take 4 passengers behind and they still feel comfortable (not very big size passengers though)... the boot is huge. As soon as the driver gets use to parking it in tight spaces, its quite a good practical SUV. Down side: high fuel consumption, and a 2 - 2.5 litre station wagon can do almost the same tasks but drive and handle better due to lower CG and car-like (not SUV type) suspension. If the need to go off road or rough roads is there, then maybe we can justify the SUV, else it could just be an overkill. I bought my first SUV, the Pajero V6, due to curiousity and wanted to try SUV for the first time. Its ok for me coz i can handle its size/height etc although my short wife and children had to climb up and down. Taking corners needed cautions as it wasnt very stable at high speed in corners. I hardly used the 4x4 function coz i travel only on sgp roads. FC was high, about 6-7 km/L... but my boss was paying for the petrol bills, so i didnt really care. I couldnt really wash it at home, its always autowash --- roof too hight to wash manually. It had extra 2 seats (folding type) at the back, so its 7-seater, but these extra seats faced each other and were only accessible from the boot-door at ther back. I kept for two years and lost about 25k, which wasnt that bad, maybe i bought it 2nd hand at a low price. The first owner lost 55k in two years. The second SUV was actually a wolf in sheep's skin:- 240hp turbo in a soft SUV body.... strictly 5-seater and boot size was good, could be extended to carry much more goods when rear seats were folded down. I bought it not because i needed a SUV, but for the power and the look..... i had to lowered the stock suspensions (which was actually already lower than other normal SUVs) to make it drive more car-like and faster in bends/turns. FC about 7 km/L If you do lots of off road driving and go outdoor activities a lot, maybe SUV is for you. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
KARTer 2nd Gear March 29, 2012 Author Share March 29, 2012 (edited) Agreed. One thing i am still not very sure:- are SUVs safer in a collision compared with normal cars? The look/size of SUVs give us a psychological 'safe' feelings.... one thing for sure, even if orchard rd floods extend to other parts of sgp, still no problem with SUVs Another thing, for looks only, a SUV can be done up looking really macho eg jacked up suspensions, over-size blink rims and agressive off-road tyres, snorkel, spot lights, roll bars, shovel fixed to rear hatch door, etc etc, You need to break down in a) Small SUV (Rush) b) Mid Size (Rav 4, Tucson) c) Huge Size (Pajero & Fortuner). A) 99% FWD.... Not meant for off-road so owners are "all show - no substance drivers". Perhaps they need the "space" but a wagon / mini MPV will provide more space. Maybe they love kerbs alot so SUV have no problems wih kerb riding which wagons & MPVs cant They go over humps in a speedy manner - since they are no substance drivers, they are probably the worst drivers around... B) 80% FWD thanks to the 90% of modern SUVs owners that admit that they dont go off-roading. Most of them love the space & ride height thus creating the demand... C) Road Bullies.. because I cannot afford them... ... IMHO, these are people which wants quality stuffs... Like wearing a diver watch but dont go swimming. Their minds would be as ease knowing it is waterproof. Edited March 29, 2012 by KARTer Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
13177 Hypersonic March 29, 2012 Share March 29, 2012 my parents were contemplating getting a toyota fortuner a couple of years back when it was going at around 108k. but they decided against it when my mum had difficulty getting into the backseat as the ground clearance was quite high even with the side stepper. when seated into the driver seat of the fortuner, it has a commanding presence on the road due to its size and height. basically u would be looking "down" on all the cars except for the buses and lorries. the fortuner when properly done up with bling bling rims and HIDs will look darn good and PIMPED. Lol, i also like the size of the toyota fortuner. Dont mind to own one if i have the money, but too bad no money to pay for the road tax, as this SUV is 2.7L, also no money to pay for the petrol! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
KARTer 2nd Gear March 29, 2012 Author Share March 29, 2012 should upgrade to xc90 i had been tailgated/pushed by xc90 a few times last year... i quickly gave way even though my car was fast if i really wanted to run with him..... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fcw75 Hypersonic March 29, 2012 Share March 29, 2012 Some small SUVs do until damn garang but I wonder do they ever go off-road before or can they even tackle it? Saw those with a shiny spade on the rear tyre. So shiny until I wonder if they polish it with Autosol weekly. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
KARTer 2nd Gear March 29, 2012 Author Share March 29, 2012 For SHIOK factor. Was driver Outlander for 4 yrs and change to Volvo V70 a yr ago. Can't compare which is better as different cat. If i had the money, will take the V70!! ... huge cargo space, volvo safety features, looks good,... 2nd hand one should be a bargain? (very niche market) ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...