Do not switch on hazard lights while driving in the rain

Slim

If one is in the habit of turning on the hazard lights while traveling on the roads (regardless lanes use) during extreme bad weather where visibility is low, my question to such drivers is:

How will you forewarn the drivers behind you when your engine suddenly fail? What alternative signals would you give especially when you are on an expressway since the driver behind you had been following your vehicle while you have your hazard lights on?

Can someone who practices turning on their hazard lights during bad weather advise me?

Thanks

Whenever I see someone turn on the hazard lights, I will immediately release accelerator, move right foot to break to standby and check what's going on.

If it is at the car park, most likely they want to park, stop, with1 car length behind.

If the car is slow but still moving, then just follow behind slowly and keep a safe distance. Observe the situation in front of the car in front. If right lane is clear and no joker charging from the back, filter to the right lane to over take.

Btw, how many actually remember to turn on the hazard lights when their engine stall? How do we pick up danger sign?

My answer is, be more observant when driving.

I believe the hazard lights are used to inform other drivers that you are slowing down to a stop or wanna do something eg reverse to park car etc. Just 5mins ago, this biatch still dare to horn me and give me that 'tsk' crumpled face when I already early on my hazard lights, coming to a stop and wanna park my car. *toot* biatch still drive into my way and horn me. I refuse to give way as I wanna park my car. Fyi, the carpark is one way... I really wanna go down and ask her where are her *blardy eyes.

Argh.. Piss

I just don't understand, during heavy downpour when visibility is extremely poor, everybody should be driving slowly and keep to their lane of travel, why is the need to change lane or overtake?

Switching on the hazard lights is to improve the chances of others seeing you in front and so keep their distance, what is wrong with that?

I am not a hero, so will always switch on my hazard light during very heavy rain to be more visible to others.

Even in bad weather, u stil need to change lane to exit the highway right? dun tell me once its heavy downpour, u keep to yr lane on ECP n travel all the way up to changi airport even though u stay in eunos?

Whenever I see someone turn on the hazard lights, I will immediately release accelerator, move right foot to break to standby and check what's going on.

If it is at the car park, most likely they want to park, stop, with1 car length behind.

If the car is slow but still moving, then just follow behind slowly and keep a safe distance. Observe the situation in front of the car in front. If right lane is clear and no joker charging from the back, filter to the right lane to over take.

Btw, how many actually remember to turn on the hazard lights when their engine stall? How do we pick up danger sign?

My answer is, be more observant when driving.

My question is directed at motorists having their hazard lights turned on while driving in bad weather with very low visibility. Perhaps, my question should have been:

How does one expect the rear vehicle to differentiate between a stalled vehicle and a moving vehicle (with hazard lights turned on) in extreme bad weather where visibility is very low?

Under such bad weather condition, I find it difficult; if not impossible, to differentiate between the two situations. Hence, I find it hazardous to have the hazard lights turned on in bad weather/ low visibility condition while in motion except for emergency situation with the purpose of slowing down and/or stopping.

Is it really useful to turn on hazzard lights during rain? Tot headlights can already... imagine the whole PIE jammed with cars... and with all the brake lights and hazzard lights blinking... i tink it'll be rather... messy?

OK for all those who still INSIST on turning on your stupid hazard lights during a heavy downpour. Here's the official word!!!

Our Ref: LTA/P&P/F20.017.000/6848/1/VT

Tel : 63961626

Fax : 63961650

Dear Sir

PROPER USE OF HAZARD LIGHTS

FEEDBACK NUMBER: 605164

Please allow us to explain that hazard warning lights are fitted on vehicles to warn other persons of the presence of a temporary obstruction on the road. The hazard warning lights are useful in the following scenarios when a vehicle is stationary, or slow moving, or about to be pulled to a stationary position. However, during heavy downpour when the visibility is poor, it is dangerous to use the hazard warning lights while the vehicle is on the move. This is because it is likely to cause an accident as lane change indication will not be discernable to other road users as both lights are flashing.

The enforcement officers from the Land Transport Authority (LTA) and Traffic Police (TP) are empowered to take action against any person who uses a vehicle in a manner likely to cause danger to other road user. The enforcement officers will exercise their discretion on the extent of danger it may pose before taking any action.

We thank you for your feedback.

Yours sincerely

(SIGNED IN LOTUS NOTES)

Celine Quek (Ms)

Deputy Manager

Community Engagement & Feedback

*We invite you to share your views on land transport related issues with us at http://talk2lta.lta.gov.sg. Now, you can also send us your feedback via SMS at "77LTA" (77582).

cc

Traffic Police

Email: [email protected]

Official or not.......it DOES HELPS!

I remember I was driving along NSE (in the daytime) quite sometime back. It was pouring SO BAD that the visibility was no more than 20-30m. I can hardly see the lines at the road and I do not know if I am wandering into the next lane. I was driving at only 80-90kmh......same as the other cars. The Malaysians cars in front turned on their hazard light and immediately I can better gauge the distance in front and align my car to the front car. I followed what they did and turn on my hazard lights.

If there is a need to change lanes, they will off the harzard lights and signal accordingly. After lane change, they will turn on hazard lights again.

In SGP, I have only encountered only once such heavy downpour. Most of the time it is not necessary to turn on harzard lights during rain (turning on would actually confuse SGP drivers!)

Our eyes are trained to see better things that moves. That is why in the army, we are told to keep still under camouflage when enemy is looking our way. Hence, despite LTA's explanation, I still think we should use hazard lights when there are VERY HEAVY downpour.

But rules are rules in SGP....... I would follow LTA.

Edited by Enots

still got stubborn dumbfarks who do not listen....haiz....

This shows that to teach dumbfarks is a waste of time. :blink: They think they are smart but instead create confusion to many other road users who do not think like them.

Well......I guess I am the dumbfark you guys are talking about. Ha. [;)]

I only turn on the harzard lights once when I am in Msia, under heavy downpour and moving along with the flow at 80-90kmh. I am only doing what I think is safe to myself and to others BASE ON THE SITUATION.

In SGP, I have NOT done that before as I know this is not the norm and will result in confusion. Also, in SGP, there are so many cars that I hardly go above 80-90kmh when it rains . Again, I am just doing what is safe to everyone according to the situation. Ultimately, the most important thing is that we and our co-road-users reach their respective destination safe and sound. Harzard light or not is not the real issue, we are well align on this point, right?

I am only sharing what I have encountered and have no wish to confuse, offend or impose my views on anyone.

Thank you. [wave]

Edited by Enots

..and also kayu drivers who use hazard lights when they going to park

nothing wrong ar... if the car dont use hazard light i will follow behind loh slowly cos Carpark mah.... if he /she want to park.. then alamak got to reverse for him/her to park cos not always they park at ground floor or lowest avail floor. so park at the floor they stay. so u wont know.

its a alt way to use hazard light. i find it useful.

sometime u wait for carpark lot , do u on hazard light? u on it so ppl also know u waiting, then if they snatch your slot. u sure tell them u waiting liao.... how they know...u will say "hazard light on liao, u blind ar?"

Official or not.......it DOES HELPS!

I remember I was driving along NSE (in the daytime) quite sometime back. It was pouring SO BAD that the visibility was no more than 20-30m. I can hardly see the lines at the road and I do not know if I am wandering into the next lane. I was driving at only 80-90kmh......same as the other cars. The Malaysians cars in front turned on their hazard light and immediately I can better gauge the distance in front and align my car to the front car. I followed what they did and turn on my hazard lights.

If there is a need to change lanes, they will off the harzard lights and signal accordingly. After lane change, they will turn on hazard lights again.

In SGP, I have only encountered only once such heavy downpour. Most of the time it is not necessary to turn on harzard lights during rain (turning on would actually confuse SGP drivers!)

Our eyes are trained to see better things that moves. That is why in the army, we are told to keep still under camouflage when enemy is looking our way. Hence, despite LTA's explanation, I still think we should use hazard lights when there are VERY HEAVY downpour.

But rules are rules in SGP....... I would follow LTA.

I believe LTA meant applicable with good visiblility only (rules are for safety purposes, so whichever safer should be applicable)