Some bus lans look like ghost-lanes .....

KARTer

Bus lanes are useful only if they are fully utilised and move more passengers on the buses to their destinations faster in a jam.

However, i notice there are bus lanes which remain empty during peak hours when the adjacent lanes are jammed with cars queueing for more than 1km daily!!

Example: during evening peak hour along Teloh Blangah Rd under the viaduct towards VivoCity from Alexandra Rd junction all the way to VivoCity. Most of the time the buslane is empty except for a few buses. The >1km car queue affect many drivers + their passengers while the few buses which use the empty bus lane only benefit bus passengers who are out-numbered by the drivers / car-passengers.

Our road system should be utilised to benefit the larger group, in this case (ie for this stretch of the road mentioned), the drivers / car-passengers. (Not counting the passengers in the vans / lorries who are also trapped in the jam.)

Have you noticed other such situation else where?

sure, all the time. the jam is always CBD bound in the morning and the reverse in the evening. and yet there is Bus lanes on either sides working at the same time.

some stretches of roads like you mentioned just don't justify having bus lanes.

but maybe its just to punish drivers and passengers to switch when they see busses zooming by.. uniquely singapore

LTA is brainless.

Esp those red / yellow bus lane.

Designate bus lane without considering the safety and difficulty of road

users.

there are more people taking public transport, people will not be happy if they are late for work is the bus kena jam on every road.

You know what these people will do when they are not happy?? [rolleyes] [rolleyes]

dont worry,our very 'efficient' gahment may just soon erect another ERP on those road jam caused by the bloody bus lane to suck more of your $.

Edited by Unidentified

Bus lanes are useful only if they are fully utilised and move more passengers on the buses to their destinations faster in a jam.

However, i notice there are bus lanes which remain empty during peak hours when the adjacent lanes are jammed with cars queueing for more than 1km daily!!

Example: during evening peak hour along Teloh Blangah Rd under the viaduct towards VivoCity from Alexandra Rd junction all the way to VivoCity. Most of the time the buslane is empty except for a few buses. The >1km car queue affect many drivers + their passengers while the few buses which use the empty bus lane only benefit bus passengers who are out-numbered by the drivers / car-passengers.

Our road system should be utilised to benefit the larger group, in this case (ie for this stretch of the road mentioned), the drivers / car-passengers. (Not counting the passengers in the vans / lorries who are also trapped in the jam.)

Have you noticed other such situation else where?

this mean the bus lane is working as no bus are caught in jam.

if you see bus lane pack with bus. the bus lane is a failure as the bus is still stuck in jam

dont worry,our very 'efficient' gahment may just soon erect another ERP on those road jam caused by the bloody bus lane to suck more of your $.

OMG, this is really scheming to squeeze money from motorists!!

before: 3 lanes and cars, buses, etc all moving relatviely smoothly...

after: they chop one lane for buses (but not many buses to begin with!), 3-lane becomes 2-lanes and end up traffic jams

next: new ERP and collect money!!

this mean the bus lane is working as no bus are caught in jam.

if you see bus lane pack with bus. the bus lane is a failure as the bus is still stuck in jam

like that ahh?! ........ and if bus lane also jammed, they add another bus lane!! [laugh]

Well, I'm trying to be subjective....

You see, 1 double decker/bendy bus == around....30-40 cars?

So the bus lane don't need to be fully utilized.

It just needs to be utilized enough so that more total people spend less time on road then if you remove the bus lane.

I hope I'm making sense.

Mathematical example:

Bus lane shortens travel time for 40 people by 20 minutes. That's 800 minutes saved.

If no bus lane, 40 cars (each consisting one person) reaches destination 5 minutes earlier, that's only 200 minutes saved.

Simple example here....

you want meh?? :o

no lah, but LTA may want...... [:(]

i think LTA should allow 'transporter truck' to use buslane also...

transporter truck : those which transport 6-7 new cars on a long trailer at one go. we can then park out car on the trailer, and presto!! it brings our car to office and we unload and park there... :D

Well, I'm trying to be subjective....

You see, 1 double decker/bendy bus == around....30-40 cars?

So the bus lane don't need to be fully utilized.

It just needs to be utilized enough so that more total people spend less time on road then if you remove the bus lane.

I hope I'm making sense.

Mathematical example:

Bus lane shortens travel time for 40 people by 20 minutes. That's 800 minutes saved.

If no bus lane, 40 cars (each consisting one person) reaches destination 5 minutes earlier, that's only 200 minutes saved.

Simple example here....

maths also show that a 1km long jam easily delays close to 340+- cars, ie 680 users!!

(each car takes about 6m of road space in a jam, so each km of road space can contain about 170 cars, two lanes = 340 cars, 340 x 2 passengers = 680 users

since the jam includes lorries/vans/pte-buese etc, the number is actually greater!!

maths also show that a 1km long jam easily delays close to 340+- cars, ie 680 users!!

(each car takes about 6m of road space in a jam, so each km of road space can contain about 170 cars, two lanes = 340 cars, 340 x 2 passengers = 680 users

since the jam includes lorries/vans/pte-buese etc, the number is actually greater!!

Zhun boh?? normally i see car only 1 passengers.

I really can't say if the bus lane is effective or not. Need more numbers....

But I'm just highlighting that, even if the bus lane looks empty most of time, it might still do it's job...

dont you guys still get it?

the more jams there is, the more revenue the government is collecting.

Y?

We pay Duty & GST paid to petrol & disel...

Idle do consume gases and more you consume, more you pay...

wah.. scholar debates.. i agree to count number of users and time saved.. its a scholar thing that they do..

but back in the real world.. so long as traffic moves smoothly, car and bus take the same time to arrive would be ideal.

however the argument now is that bus lanes actually is underutilised because it denies other users regardless of how few buses really use it. bus timings can be 5-10 minutes intervals. that means that 5-10 mintues of road space is wasted.