Any problem pumping RON97 for Swift Sports

Deckbuild

IF the car isn't heavily modded, there shouldn't be any problems. There's knock sensor to retard the ignition timing when lower-octane fuel starts to cause the knocking/pinging.

My friend even pumps in 95 in his stock SSS sometimes to save $$$. [:p]

On 3/26/2012 at 5:06 AM, C-K said:

IF the car isn't heavily modded, there shouldn't be any problems. There's knock sensor to retard the ignition timing when lower-octane fuel starts to cause the knocking/pinging.

My friend even pumps in 95 in his stock SSS sometimes to save $$$. [:p]

Ic, but still it's harmful to the piston right? thanks for your reply!

On 3/26/2012 at 5:58 AM, Deckbuild said:

Ic, but still it's harmful to the piston right? thanks for your reply!

1 octane is nothing...no problem,Malaysia got so many high performance cars,all pumped 97.

come on la TS.... did u read ur manual??? i believe 95 oso can go as long as u dun tune ur car wif piggyback ECU which tune to only can use certain octance (usually is 98)... if so scare, pls dun drive... seen more higher end cars pump 97 or even 95 in sg b4... duhz...

On 3/26/2012 at 12:53 PM, Zniper said:

come on la TS.... did u read ur manual??? i believe 95 oso can go as long as u dun tune ur car wif piggyback ECU which tune to only can use certain octance (usually is 98)... if so scare, pls dun drive... seen more higher end cars pump 97 or even 95 in sg b4... duhz...

why are you so critical of a car lover? haha... [laugh]

good for the next owner... :wub:

On 3/26/2012 at 12:53 PM, Zniper said:

Bro, haven't buy, don't get so worked up, Im planning, need to find out more :)

I have pumped RON 97 in Malaysia. And to satisfy my OCD I add a bottle of octane booster.

I feel that V Power Racing in Malaysia works the best. I experienced a smooth ride, engine revvs faster.

  On 3/26/2012 at 11:34 AM, Dscheng said:

I also pump 97 for my Rex. I even see GTR pump at Jb too le.

REX / GTR compression ratio is lower at 8 to 9 due to their TC nature, so no issue.

SSS is NA and tuned for higher octance fuel with compression ratio of 11.1 That's why it's more sensitive.

On 3/27/2012 at 2:57 AM, Pocus said:

REX / GTR compression ratio is lower at 8 to 9 due to their TC nature, so no issue.

SSS is NA and tuned for higher octance fuel with compression ratio of 11.1 That's why it's more sensitive.

dont talk co(k lah

stock car sure no problem.

my frens with dc5r n celica ss2, both @ 11.5 no problem pumping 97.

On 3/26/2012 at 1:57 PM, Deckbuild said:

Bro, haven't buy, don't get so worked up, Im planning, need to find out more :)

hi bro. yeah SSS manual indicates ron 98 bdue to the compression ratio. but for me, i have been using petronas 97 since 2 years back and so far so gd bro. only once or twice a year i pump shell 98 or vpower if got promotion. as long as u avoid 95, shud be fine mah. den again, ppl can say any ron also can. yup can means can but at the end of the day if engine ping n spoil, u are the one paying for maintainence. so juz do wats deem right bro.

Have heard from friends who experimented with lower RONs. 92 and 95 all produce knocking. Sounds like the pistons are knocking the bonnet. The car still runs but they tell me that it is not as responsive.

On 3/27/2012 at 3:29 AM, Huntsman said:

Have heard from friends who experimented with lower RONs. 92 and 95 all produce knocking. Sounds like the pistons are knocking the bonnet. The car still runs but they tell me that it is not as responsive.

If there's any knocking, it's in the head. Petrol companies make fools of you people.

On 3/27/2012 at 4:04 AM, Cwk said:

If there's any knocking, it's in the head. Petrol companies make fools of you people.

it will knock with 92 & 95.

we r not talking about family car here.

  On 3/27/2012 at 3:14 AM, Cdior said:

dont talk co(k lah

stock car sure no problem.

my frens with dc5r n celica ss2, both @ 11.5 no problem pumping 97.

Hey wtf pal, I only say sensitive I never say cannot. why so hostile???