ST Forum: Tuas: A 'Different' Part Of Singapore

Vulcann

Get lung and other cancers from breathing in the chemicals and fumes in the air.

Get skin and blood cancer from swimming on the Tuas coast full of oil tankers, refuelling vessels, chemical waste "accidentally" disposed of in the waters....

You sure it is not a bad place to live?

different strokes for different folks..perhaps becoming a mutant might be an plus point for some people :D

My friend (whose predictions have been right nearly 100% of the time) predicts that Tuas will be the "next big thing". The gahmen has quietly been keeping the area underdeveloped until the rest of Sg cannot support the population rise (read: unbridled influx of FTs). Then they will "release" the area onto the residential market, with appropriate commercial support like shops and medical services. The reason they're not doing it too early is to keep property prices from plummeting from oversupply (like OPEC controlling the oil or diamond miners controlling diamond production). When the time is ripe, Tuas will be unleashed and many Singaporeans will be suckered into paying high prices for the "new frontier".

For that to be true, it may take many many years judging from the condition of Tuas now. It will easily take more than 10 years from the time the gov announce any development plans for an area to the time they start acting according to plan. Much has been said about Punggol when my bro bought a flat there about 10 years ago. Until recently you started to see some development there...

he is correct, he is not rich.. .we are just poor [smallcry]

99% of the people in other countries will say we are all rich: the so-called B&B cars we drive cost as much as their highend cars..... :D:o (OT)

You must be near tuas south?

From my co yard i can swim across to JB. [cool]

i think M Selamat's kakis want to friend you liao......... :D

Not only Tuas is different lah. When I walked in GL in the past, I thought I was in certain parts of China..... [lipsrsealed][laugh]

LOL... i was about to say it. Rename it to "Littel China"? :D

heavy industrial area is the same everywhere around the world leh... don't tell me this fella expect CBD level cleanliness in heavy industry area..

Agree.

Kopitiam is dirtier, blangas cross roads crazily sometimes. Once in a while some cars parked on pavements.

But roads pretty good, actually.

To be honest, no problem leh. But maybe I'm in the better part of Tuas (Gul Way). I'm posting from there now and I've been working here 6 years.....

No mention the regular accidents at Gul Way/Gul Avenue junction (most frequent along that road)?

My friend (whose predictions have been right nearly 100% of the time) predicts that Tuas will be the "next big thing". The gahmen has quietly been keeping the area underdeveloped until the rest of Sg cannot support the population rise (read: unbridled influx of FTs). Then they will "release" the area onto the residential market, with appropriate commercial support like shops and medical services. The reason they're not doing it too early is to keep property prices from plummeting from oversupply (like OPEC controlling the oil or diamond miners controlling diamond production). When the time is ripe, Tuas will be unleashed and many Singaporeans will be suckered into paying high prices for the "new frontier".

I believe he read of the report years back. No prediction required? [laugh]

Most of Tuas is reclaimed land until recently. The ground is still settling down. Many of the buildings have problems with the ground sinking around them, especially in Tuas South.

Tuas South Extension 2, more serious there. The main roads also affected [shakehead]

Get lung and other cancers from breathing in the chemicals and fumes in the air.

Get skin and blood cancer from swimming on the Tuas coast full of oil tankers, refuelling vessels, chemical waste "accidentally" disposed of in the waters....

You sure it is not a bad place to live?

i think whole of sg is not spared from pollution. At least in Tuas when you complain of a smell or smoke, pick up the phone, call NEA and action is taken.

In Punggol however, got smell and smoke also nothing you can do. Also, the only beach in Sg where fishes died, and waters declared unfit for human activity. [lipsrsealed]

I believe he read of the report years back. No prediction required? [laugh]

There was a report? Sorry, I don't read the Propaganda Times. :D

Ah bear, the other day under another thread u said got pretty [gorgeous]. These few days open eye big big driving around (tuas south) not a single [gorgeous] soul lah. [smallcry]

Got meh? In Tuas? I must have been on something.... :blink:

Tuas South Extension 2, more serious there. The main roads also affected [shakehead]

I heard that you might fall off the island if you drive too close to the edge. :ph34r:

Got some lar. The big companies have some.....

But they dun walk around. At most see them at Raffles Marina or Jurong Point. :wub:

Or at Arena Country Club or Pioneer Mall during lunch.