ST Forum: Tuas: A 'Different' Part Of Singapore

Vulcann

Bros working in Tuas, this place really that jialat? [shocked]

The way he described the area machiam a big slump like that...

ST Forum:

http://www.straitstimes.com/STForum/Story/...ory_781675.html

Tuas: A 'different' part of Singapore

Published on Mar 26, 2012

I WORK in the Tuas industrial area and I wonder why the place is so different from the rest of Singapore.

Rubbish lines the roads and cleaning is seldom carried out. Many eating places are dirty and infested with flies, and packs of dogs roam the streets.

Cars are parked on pavements, and many roads are not properly maintained and often obstructed with planks or other objects that have fallen out of trucks.

Public transportation is badly organised, with routes taking many twists and turns. Also, transit times from MRT stations to the area are extremely long.

To drive in the mornings and evenings to and from work is a nightmare, with accidents occurring often on the Ayer Rajah Expressway.

People working here deserve a spotless environment, good service, clean food outlets and properly controlled traffic.

We do not have tourists visiting the area, but business contacts coming to our factories and offices often comment that Tuas is a 'different' Singapore.

Rinaldo Romani

Dogs.. Real dogs, roam the street at night.. Drivers beat redlights at night.

Worse is you can have Blanga workers sitting in the middle of the road as though having a picnic at night.

Any police patrol? Din see any.. Vehicles can park anywhere de.. Potholes here and there

The kopitams there are dirty indeed..

That is 2 years ago when I was working there.. Not sure if any better

Yes it is. Personally I think the roads are worse than those in Malaysia with potholes and uneven repairs. Over time you will see on the roads all kinds of debris imaginable (and unimaginable!) - giant rocks, sand, sewer contents, tree trunks - just to name some. The authorities should really start to cleanup the area. <_<

Kopitiam is dirtier, blangas cross roads crazily sometimes. Once in a while some cars parked on pavements.

But roads pretty good, actually.

To be honest, no problem leh. But maybe I'm in the better part of Tuas (Gul Way). I'm posting from there now and I've been working here 6 years.....

My friend (whose predictions have been right nearly 100% of the time) predicts that Tuas will be the "next big thing". The gahmen has quietly been keeping the area underdeveloped until the rest of Sg cannot support the population rise (read: unbridled influx of FTs). Then they will "release" the area onto the residential market, with appropriate commercial support like shops and medical services. The reason they're not doing it too early is to keep property prices from plummeting from oversupply (like OPEC controlling the oil or diamond miners controlling diamond production). When the time is ripe, Tuas will be unleashed and many Singaporeans will be suckered into paying high prices for the "new frontier".

It's ok, I'll rather buy the geylang redevelopment story than the Tuas CBD story. Anyway, by then my property in Eastern part of Singapore will be worth a fair bit to afford Tuas if I really want to.

Cheers.

Hey.....Rinaldo Romani.......are you Singaporean?

Why you no like the Rustic and Laidback style Tuas is providing?

in such cases, garment will only listen to foreigners... so at least tis FT voice out someting to improve SG...

Tuas is under the management of JTC, not LTA, not Nparks, not NEA, hence the difference in environmental standards.

Kopitiam is dirtier, blangas cross roads crazily sometimes. Once in a while some cars parked on pavements.

But roads pretty good, actually.

To be honest, no problem leh. But maybe I'm in the better part of Tuas (Gul Way). I'm posting from there now and I've been working here 6 years.....

I'm at Gul Link! [laugh]

Anyway, most of the roads are quite good. Just that even the well-run kopitiams have it's fair share of dirtiness to it. Once found a dead fly in my noodle soup and I had already eaten half of it. <_<

Sometimes cars park on pavements because parking on the side of the road can result in a lost side mirror or some bumps and dents from passing vehicles.

So yeah, Tuas is really different.

I'm at Gul Link! [laugh]

Anyway, most of the roads are quite good. Just that even the well-run kopitiams have it's fair share of dirtiness to it. Once found a dead fly in my noodle soup and I had already eaten half of it. <_<

Sometimes cars park on pavements because parking on the side of the road can result in a lost side mirror or some bumps and dents from passing vehicles.

So yeah, Tuas is really different.

Umi/Flash/Sanakawa?

I pass by that stretch everyday.....

Yeah, the roads are actually quite decent. It's because of some of the huge loads being transported at night. If you leave your office at around 9 or 10, now and then you'll have police escorts for huge objects on trucks that take up over a lane. Mostly parts for the offshore/marine industry (oil rigs and ships). So I guess the roads are tougher, more durable to cater for this....

Umi/Flash/Sanakawa?

I pass by that stretch everyday.....

Yeah, the roads are actually quite decent. It's because of some of the huge loads being transported at night. If you leave your office at around 9 or 10, now and then you'll have police escorts for huge objects on trucks that take up over a lane. Mostly parts for the offshore/marine industry (oil rigs and ships). So I guess the roads are tougher, more durable to cater for this....

Most of Tuas is reclaimed land until recently. The ground is still settling down. Many of the buildings have problems with the ground sinking around them, especially in Tuas South.

the Kranji industrial stretch also like Tuas... very lok kok

no need passport, in Kranji you'll feel as though you are in JB