You are not entitled to jobs in your own country

Ahtong

These expats used to run the show. Dun forget Sgp was once colonised by the British, they were here since Raffles era. It's not like they only came last decade, last year or yesterday.

Would you rather have ang moh FT or PRC FT or Indian FT or Viet FT or Jap/Korean FT?

Irrelevant questions.

You should be asking why allow insensitive FT like her to tell us how to run our place when her own people are more xynophobic and anti-immigrant as ever?

KNN, want to bring in also bring in those young blue eyes blonde hair german gals. Not this kind of Lao Go... [furious]

If proven true, a big boo-boo even though CAG apparently not part of cheng hu anymore... [shakehead][shakehead]

From ST:

http://www.straitstimes.com/BreakingNews/S...ory_781179.html

Changi Airport Terminal 4 design: Let local firms in, say architects

Published on Mar 24, 2012

By Karamjit Kaur, Aviation Correspondent

The job was to design the new Terminal 4 at one of Singapore's most recognisable icons, Changi Airport.

So local architects hit the roof when they were apparently told this: Only foreign firms need apply.

They claim that they were made to understand this during a meeting with the airport on March 14.

Less than a week later, the Singapore Institute of Architects wrote a letter to the Changi Airport Group (CAG) chief executive, Mr Lee Seow Hiang, to protest. A copy was obtained by The Straits Times.

Seems like big developers seem to like to associate their condos with famous ang mo architects as well.

Frankly what's the big deal about foreign architects anyway?

Local ones really CMI? Sad sia...

The services of these renowned foreigners must have been obtained at a premium $$$$

Now you know why your 2-room pigeon-hole condo cost two arms and two legs instead of one each.... <_<<_<

If proven true, a big boo-boo even though CAG apparently not part of cheng hu anymore... [shakehead][shakehead]

From ST:

The job was to design the new Terminal 4 at one of Singapore's most recognisable icons, Changi Airport.

So local architects hit the roof when they were apparently told this: Only foreign firms need apply.

They claim that they were made to understand this during a meeting with the airport on March 14.

Less than a week later, the Singapore Institute of Architects wrote a letter to the Changi Airport Group (CAG) chief executive, Mr Lee Seow Hiang, to protest. A copy was obtained by The Straits Times.

Edited by Vulcann

It doesn't matter where the FT from...doesn't matter what kinda fark smell they let go.....salted veg, kimchi, sushi, curry or what....if they don't respect the culture and people here....out they go....!!!!

Edited by LoverofCar

Hong Kong deals with PRC, we reckon with global talents.....

Hong Kong Middle Class Bitter as Tycoons Choose Leaders

By Kelvin Wong - Mar 23, 2012

Stephen Chung gave up on buying an apartment in Hong Kong after realizing it would take him 10 years to save the $115,000 deposit for a two-bedroom box in the northern part of the former British colony. He isn

Errrr.....I think the Swiss cannot understand our dialet lah. I help you translate,

Schrauben Sie Ihre Mutter [lipsrsealed][laugh]

though I LOL but the fact is that these FTs are not in any wrong coming here to work.

Blame those who employ them, blame the SG policies makers ..

I'm very sad to see my country becoming a Whore to the world...

From ST:

SG architects no Tarent lah, CAG or any big fat company spun off from Stat boards like AMTKLPNKK one.

I'm not entitled to a job in the country of my birth?

Then my country is not entitled to my military service or loyalty in a time of war.

The door swings both ways.

Anyway, Europe (especially) is becoming more right-wing and protectionist of its own citizenry. Ours is one of the few countries to happily screw our own citizens' backsides. :angry:

They are moving towards the "come to Roman, do what the Romans do" already like no scarf, batman veil..

In SG its "come to SG, do what you like to do".

They are moving towards the "come to Roman, do what the Romans do" already like no scarf, batman veil..

In SG its "come to SG, do what you like to do".

let add

do what you like to do

cause got different set of law for you?

I'm not entitled to a job in the country of my birth?

Then my country is not entitled to my military service or loyalty in a time of war.

The door swings both ways.

We are now stuck in a rock & a very hard place.

We certainly have jobs, but a lot of Singaporeans do not wanted these jobs, normally due to lower pay. But again, we (or the gov) create this low wage job structure, so housings & food are cheap (or wait...they are not).

So even if someone say, damn it, I take any job, he will be not able to have a decent living if he say do lowly construction work. Then how do these foreigners with such low pay survive in Singapore, wait, you didn't ask, cause you don't really care.

If we put FWs aside, & only FTs, since we do not have a union (or do we) that at least moderate the minimum wage for certain profession. A lot of jobs are kept very low wages, as there are no control. As long as there are countries much poorer than us, they will keep coming. And there will always be countries poorer than us, even not from the region.

How to buy a bloody house & live a decent live with just a few K a month! While some people blame Singaporeans for asking too much, we also need to check out the expenses to live in Singapore.

I think of many iterations, & most ain't positive for the future. Maybe someone smart or farsighted can tell us how we can get ahead in the future generation of our children.

I feel (maybe I am wrong), that the 'impressive' GDP we boosted in recent years are just due to the immigration. More people spending, more people need a roof, & cause the properties boom, more people throw even more money on cars dues to high COEs.

None of these are sustainable IMO.

In an interview conducted by the Straits Times today on the expatriates working in Singapore, 37 year old Ms Zimmermann felt that Singaporeans are generally friendly to foreigners though some harbor anti-foreigner sentiments, that is to be expected.

I agree with them leh.

We are not entitled to jobs in our own country, including the ruling party's MPs leh. We can help more of them realized that in 4 years' time.