You are not entitled to jobs in your own country

Ahtong

expat.jpg

In an interview conducted by the Straits Times today on the expatriates working in Singapore, 37 year old Ms Zimmermann felt that Singaporeans are generally friendly to foreigners though some harbor anti-foreigner sentiments, that is to be expected.

‘This anti-foreigner issue is in every city. It’s a natural debate and the Swiss are questioning it too. But no one owes anyone else a living; you cannot say you are entitled to jobs in your country,’ she says.

Her colleague Ms Dalli added that she is ‘aware’ that Singaporeans worry about a growing divide between the cosmopolitan rich like her, and lower-income heartlanders, but praises Singapore as a society where ‘opportunities remain open to all.’

“Everyone in Singapore, regardless of his social background, has the same access to the MRT, education, safety and job opportunities. It’s only if these opportunities are available only to the top in society that you have a true divide,” she was quoted as saying.

Though Singapore has one of the richest country in the world, it has the highest income gap between the rich and the poor among the thirty most advanced economies in the world after Hong Kong.

I beg to differ...

Education: Rich has the money for tuition, enrichment class etc, where the poor have to scrape every dollars and cent just to put 3 meals on the table everyday.. Tell me whether it's considered "same"..

Safety: Well known.. rich has the money (again) to hire top notch lawyers to "air their grievance". While the lower class only can LLST..

Job opportunities: Refer to "Education". Nowadays, many govt sector or GLC follow the scholar model.. Anything less than 2nd upper can forget about applying for a decent position with fast-tracked path to career success.

Tell the 2 ang moh to try living like heartlanders (with heartlanders budget) for 1 year then talk..

Edited by Shull

Tio ler lo mo...Let me greet their mother first......... :angry: ....government is not elected to provide job to citizen then why vote for them

Edited by LoverofCar

Tio ler lo mo...Let me greet their mother first......... :angry: ....government is not elected to provide job to citizen then why vote for them

Errrr.....I think the Swiss cannot understand our dialet lah. I help you translate,

Schrauben Sie Ihre Mutter [lipsrsealed][laugh]

Errrr.....I think the Swiss cannot understand our dialet lah. I help you translate,

Schrauben Sie Ihre Mutter [lipsrsealed][laugh]

tumblr_lhaz3uLomx1qh1tpyo1_400.jpg

Ask the 60.1 -_-

this kind lawyer? did she even get the right issue?

we hv had expats in sg for the longest time but the grouse is fever pitch lately becos of (1) the floodgate quantity and (2) the f-up quality in the midst now cost cutting singaporeans and some getting to wave our red passport with doubtable merits.

.............. Though Singapore has one of the richest country in the world, it has the highest income gap between the rich and the poor among the thirty most advanced economies in the world after Hong Kong.

OT -----

ST new chief editor said in his recent article: in order to reduce the income gap between rich n poor, we should allow hawkers to earn more ie increase hawker food prices. ..... he's quite "smart"!!! :D:D ..........ST always has smart chiefs....

but he forgets that food prices are also driven up by rentals... and high rentals allow landlords (high incomers) to make even more money....

I beg to differ...

Education: Rich has the money for tuition, enrichment class etc, where the poor have to scrape every dollars and cent just to put 3 meals on the table everyday.. Tell me whether it's considered "same"..

Safety: Well known.. rich has the money (again) to hire top notch lawyers to "air their grievance". While the lower class only can LLST..

Job opportunities: Refer to "Education". Nowadays, many govt sector or GLC follow the scholar model.. Anything less than 2nd upper can forget about applying for a decent position with fast-tracked path to career success.

Tell the 2 ang moh to try living like heartlanders (with heartlanders budget) for 1 year then talk..

+1 [thumbsup]

These expats used to run the show. Dun forget Sgp was once colonised by the British, they were here since Raffles era. It's not like they only came last decade, last year or yesterday.

You are entitled to challenge for the job but how is it possible to challenge for the job when the opportunity never comes your way?

Balls to you Ms Zimmerman. Take your frankfurter ass back to Germany.

I thought she's a Swiss??? [confused]

Not all Zimmerman are Germans, I have 1 French colleague also have that as their family name too...

I thought she's a Swiss??? [confused]

Not all Zimmerman are Germans, I have 1 French colleague also have that as their family name too...

Switzerland has three regions: French, German and Italian. Their ancestry as well as language follows.

Btw, Zimmerman is a German Jewish surname.

Edited by Tuna_seng

And neither are we obliged to vote in a gahmen who does not make it a priority to provide jobs for the locals over foreigners.

You are entitled to challenge for the job but how is it possible to challenge for the job when the opportunity never comes your way?

Balls to you Ms Zimmerman. Take your frankfurter ass back to Germany.

discard the men.

keep the gals. :ph34r: