Man Flung Out of Car near Khatib MRT

Holdenutessv

He is less than 500 meters from Khoo Teck Phuat hospital.

my thots exactly when i saw the vid.

Lucky lo...hecan walk der. Save the $50 ambulan [laugh] [laugh]

but go in by ambulance got priority.

Lucky lo...hecan walk der. Save the $50 ambulan [laugh] [laugh]

double post

Edited by Qpik

This junction has a signalised right turn traffic light + LTA's J-camera. I always turn right here to visit the fish shop.

Either driver must have beat the lights.

The timing on that green arrow changes? Sometimes it is Red arrow (no turning), other times it is no arrow then green (normal), is it?

door flung open the passenger fly out.

force so strong?

the passenger shld have put on seat belt which would have prevented him fr being thrown out....

but quite surprised tat the door flung open...maybe it won't happen if it's a bigger car tat got hit?

Edited by Timex1441

The aquarium? I tot is at the HDB area office there? Khatib also got big aquarium?

HDB office that one is Aqua Star. I go to them for marine fish.

That Aquarium is freshwater fishes. Lots of exotic fishes, like freshwater stingray, young tiger fish(the one in River Monster), etc.... Also cheap accessories. I get ehiem parts from them, if no stock they help me order from supplier.

The front door flung open upon forced by the human weight.

Not to ignore that the car frame was distorted, as can see the rear door totally deformed, so the front door catch mechanism may be compromised. Thus the front door flung open easily.

I don think people still sit in car without putting on seat belt in the front.

I admit I 100% put on seat belt in front....but never wear seatbelt if I am seated behind.

The front door flung open upon forced by the human weight.

Not to ignore that the car frame was distorted, as can see the rear door totally deformed, so the front door catch mechanism may be compromised. Thus the front door flung open easily.

I don think people still sit in car without putting on seat belt in the front.

I admit I 100% put on seat belt in front....but never wear seatbelt if I am seated behind.

The timing on that green arrow changes? Sometimes it is Red arrow (no turning), other times it is no arrow then green (normal), is it?

No. Its pretty straight forward one. When straight going traffic light(same direction one, on Yishun Ave 2 towards north) is green, right turn will also turn green for 30secs to 1min, which allow up to three cars to turn before the right turn becomes red.

Then opposite direction becomes green.

When traffic light(same direction one, on Yishun Ave 2 towards north) is red, right turn will turn to green again. This time its longer. Opposite straight going direction will be red, but opposite right turn will be green also.

The timing is good as it prevents the backlog of cars turning right from jamming up the right lane at Yishun Ave 2.

So I tink the Spark chiong on the first right turn light which is pretty short time interval one.

If the guy wearing seatbelt, then I say sue the car manufacturer.

If he's not wearing seatbelt, then he should be fined. Cannot stand it when people take safety for granted, especially some of those cars where u see kids standing and moving around in the car. Once kena jialat jialat, those parents better don't regret lives lost.

Full story here: Full Story

" A man was flung out of the passenger seat of a car after a high speed collision with a bus near Khatib MRT Station. The entire collision was captured on video via a camera in a car facing the junction at the time.

The man appeared conscious immediately after the incident and did not seem to have been wearing a seat belt.

STOMPer Rachel, who found the video on YouTube, commented:

"This bus crashed into a car in front of Khatib MRT." "

That driver never wear seat belts in a Chevrolet Spark, anyway, not sure if the Spark was speeding across the junction *maybe blind if he didn't see that bus coming towards him [rolleyes] .

This junction has a signalised right turn traffic light + LTA's J-camera. I always turn right here to visit the fish shop.

Either driver must have beat the lights.

During peak hour, the traffic flow coming from lentor ave along Yishun ave 2 has priority and traffic going straight down and turning right will be allowed to proceed while all traffic including straight going traffic from Northpoint (along Yishun ave 2) will be stopped by a red signal. However, this timing phase is only for about 9 seconds after which the green arrow will cease (for traffic turning into Khatib NTUC) and straight going traffic from Northpoint will be allowed to proceed. Subsequently, any right turning traffic will have to wait for oncoming traffic to clear before turning right. You will observe the green arrow disappear but the green light will persist. I believe the fella was in this phase and he misjudged the bus's speed.

Honestly, i think a lot of people do not abide by a basic "distance or speed" precept when negotiating their vehicles in the path of other oncoming vehicles. You should ideally have sufficient speed and sufficient clearance for best case scenario. Otherwise, you should have sufficient clearance or sufficient speed as a bare minimum. In the video, the fella have neither. [shakehead]

Edited by Happily1986

I normally will skip that turn, green arrow the most two or three car only, either take the first one at the stadium or the next, all can interlink.