GSwhite 1st Gear March 19, 2012 Share March 19, 2012 (edited) [/size]To All those Born in the 40's, 50's , 60's & early '70s.. The article below was written by Patrick Teoh in his blog "Niamah!!". To All those Born in the 40's, 50's , 60's & early '70s... First, we survived with mothers who had no maids. They cooked /cleaned while taking care of us at the same time They took aspirin, candies floss,fizzy drinks, shaved ice with syrups and diabetes were rare. Salt added to Pepsi or Coke was remedy for fever. We had no childproof lids on medicine bottles, doors or cabinets and when we rode our bikes, we had no helmets. As children, we would ride with our parents on bicycles/ motorcycles for 2 or 3. Richer ones in cars with no seat belts or air bags. Riding in the back of a private taxi was a special treat. We drank water from the tap and NOT from a bottle. We would spend hours on the fields under bright sunlight flying our kites, without worrying about the UV ray which never seem to affect us. We go to jungle to catch spiders without worries of Aedes mosquitoes. With mere 5 pebbles (stones) would be an endless game. With a ball (tennis ball best) we boys would ran like crazy for hours. We catch guppy in drains / canals and when it rain we swim there. We shared one soft drink with four friends, from one bottle and NO ONE actually worry about being unhygenic. We ate salty, very sweet & oily food, candies,bread and real butter and drank very sweet soft sweet coffee/ tea, ice kacang, but we weren't overweight because..... .. WE WERE ALWAYS OUTSIDE PLAYING!! We would leave home in the morning and play all day, till streetlights came on. No one was able to reach us all day. AND WE DON Edited March 19, 2012 by GSwhite ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Thedream 3rd Gear March 19, 2012 Share March 19, 2012 are all those born during these periods going blind, such that you need to use such big fonts??? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mecontle 1st Gear March 19, 2012 Share March 19, 2012 cavemen wrap in animal skin thought very highly of themselves too Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
2009k Neutral Newbie March 19, 2012 Share March 19, 2012 Good one! Trying to let my son go through tough times to strengthen his character. Hope he will not be a social outcast but one that others look up to. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
GSwhite 1st Gear March 19, 2012 Author Share March 19, 2012 sori hor, i am just repeating the Author's intention here... for easy reading.. catered for that age group Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jman888 Moderator March 19, 2012 Share March 19, 2012 sori hor, i am just repeating the Author's intention here... for easy reading.. catered for that age group Yes big font helps but size 3 will do, it's a pain to read long message of such big font, please reduce if you can still make it. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
GSwhite 1st Gear March 19, 2012 Author Share March 19, 2012 Yes big font helps but size 3 will do, it's a pain to read long message of such big font, please reduce if you can still make it. Edited as per request Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jman888 Moderator March 19, 2012 Share March 19, 2012 Edited as per request Thank you!! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Garis Clutched March 19, 2012 Share March 19, 2012 You have just in under 500 words, recounted my childhood. Yes, I was born in 1969. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
NAI011 Clutched March 19, 2012 Share March 19, 2012 (edited) i second for what u said , nowdays boys enter NS also complain . saw & heard with my own eyes & ears during last ICT in P.TEKONG , surprise surprise surprise ...one recruit during rifle drill , complain to platoon sergeant '' sir very hot '' and the sergeant reply '' take 10minute break '' !! Edited March 19, 2012 by NAI011 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bird5011 3rd Gear March 19, 2012 Share March 19, 2012 Yes...those were the good old days..after school just drop school bag at home, had lunch and starts to play. No home works or tution to worry about! Half of my childhood days were in Naval Base and Sembawang 12 milestone (now is Yishun Town). Primary school is Canberra ( now is Sembawang MRT station). Always swims in the big open pool inside Naval Base.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
GSwhite 1st Gear March 19, 2012 Author Share March 19, 2012 You have just in under 500 words, recounted my childhood. Yes, I was born in 1969. Those were the happiest days, and parents aren't worried about us at all, we are are very street smart. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jchuacl Clutched March 19, 2012 Share March 19, 2012 That's why we have the "Happy Days" series then (who can forget the Fonzie's look). Those were the happiest days, and parents aren't worried about us at all, we are are very street smart. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
GSwhite 1st Gear March 19, 2012 Author Share March 19, 2012 Those days when dinner is ready, our mother will just stick their heads out of the kitchen window and yell: AH SENG, CHIA BERNG LIAO!! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kopites Supersonic March 19, 2012 Share March 19, 2012 Those days when dinner is ready, our mother will just stick their heads out of the kitchen window and yell: AH SENG, CHIA BERNG LIAO!! hmmm you very lucky. I have my mum with a cane in hand...coming after me. Merely to go home "Jia Perg". Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Asd78 Clutched March 19, 2012 Share March 19, 2012 Yes...those were the good old days..after school just drop school bag at home, had lunch and starts to play. No home works or tution to worry about! Half of my childhood days were in Naval Base and Sembawang 12 milestone (now is Yishun Town). Primary school is Canberra ( now is Sembawang MRT station). Always swims in the big open pool inside Naval Base.. Wah, didnt expect to find old Canberra Sch mates here....I was there till Pri 4 when they ceased operation and moved to Yishun....I still rem the drive way in there's a sizeable grass area on the left which I always play and the big field which Canberra share with NBSS.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
KARTer 2nd Gear March 19, 2012 Share March 19, 2012 Thank you for the memories..... After playing in the hot sun after school, and sweating, nothing beat an multi-color Ice-Ball in hand..... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jman888 Moderator March 19, 2012 Share March 19, 2012 To All those Born in the 40's, 50's , 60's & early '70s.. The article below was written by Patrick Teoh in his blog "Niamah!!". To All those Born in the 40's, 50's , 60's & early '70s... First, we survived with mothers who had no maids. They cooked /cleaned while taking care of us at the same time (me never had maid) They took aspirin, candies floss,fizzy drinks, shaved ice with syrups and diabetes were rare (?? doubt those born then will continue to do that ). Salt added to Pepsi or Coke was remedy for fever (yes, still do that for but not for fever lah). We had no childproof lids on medicine bottles, doors or cabinets and when we rode our bikes, we had no helmets. As children, we would ride with our parents on bicycles/ motorcycles for 2 or 3 (that day saw one bicycle with family of four on it at woodlands ). Richer ones in cars with no seat belts or air bags. Riding in the back of a private taxi was a special treat. (yes, 霸王车) We drank water from the tap and NOT from a bottle (still do that in office). We would spend hours on the fields under bright sunlight flying our kites, without worrying about the UV ray which never seem to affect us. We go to jungle to catch spiders without worries of Aedes mosquitoes. (no more catching of spider and grasshopper, but now the young also no lack of outdoor activities lah) With mere 5 pebbles (stones) would be an endless game. With a ball (tennis ball best) we boys would ran like crazy for hours. (now the young will call that lame ) We catch guppy in drains / canals and when it rain we swim there. (haha.... i did that at the big longkang along commonwealth ave, queens town) We shared one soft drink with four friends, from one bottle and NO ONE actually worry about being unhygenic. We ate salty, very sweet & oily food, candies,bread and real butter and drank very sweet soft sweet coffee/ tea, ice kacang, but we weren't overweight because..... .. (yes we did, but many now face consequences and will not dare to do that now) WE WERE ALWAYS OUTSIDE PLAYING!! We would leave home in the morning and play all day, till streetlights came on. No one was able to reach us all day. AND WE DON ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...