Cars Vs Public transport in singapore. (Your Views)

Xtremee

Hi guys, i am sure u guys are aware of the pros and cons of Car drives and Public transport users.

Recently cost of purchacing cars have gone up again! However must not for get about the frequent breakdown and highly congested public transport.

With current situation i want to hear the Public's viewpoint of Users of Cars and Public Transport in Singapore

Folding bicycle is the BEST. No traffic jam. No MRT breakdown.

folding + battery = BEST!! ........ no need fondling... [:p]

I travel frequent around the globe and I still think SIN public transport is quite good and easy to take.

The problem with topical countries is the hot temp and high humility. As a result, most people will choose other form of transport such as car & taxi.

I really enjoy weekends on the MRT even standing.

WOW i dont think u have tried taking the train during peak hours on the week days.

Even the train staition itself is crowded with ppl.

You should go try one day at bishan mrt at about 6pm on a week days.

Its a really interesting experience.

depends on where you stay, i am fine with taking bus/mrt from my place which is quite convenience to/from work. Yes, it was crowded at time but managable :D

in fact i dun drive most of the weekday to work.

I stay at Bishan and taking public transport is faster for me. About 15min faster. So I take public transport on most days except when I need to go off somewhere after work.

Lor 3 geylang to Toa Payoh lor 8 drive takes 7 mins.

Bus, 45mins.

Mrt, 35mins.

Cycling, if travelling on expressway is allow, it would take 15mins.

If travelling via small roads, max 20mins.

Bus, 45mins.

Mrt, 35mins.

Bus cannot be 45mins lah. Bus 13 is quite direct 1 hor.

How do u know bicycle via expressway is 15mins?

Bus, 45mins.

Mrt, 35mins.

Guess whether worth it to drive or not depends on where you stay and where your destination is. Another example is from my house to a nearby coffee shop for breakfast is about 10-15min walk away. Drive is 10min plus another 5-10min looking for a lot. So normally if I am in a rush to meet someone there I'll just walk.

Give me a car any time. My condo has a shuttle to MRT and shopping mall every 20 mins but I will still drive my car. I would rather get stuck in a jam in my car than take the crowded Mrt or wait for bus. Call me spoilt.

I need car on weekday but I don't mind public transport on weekend.. Cannot imagine I take public transport from punggol to joo Koon on weekday peak hour.... [sweatdrop]

Bus cannot be 45mins lah. Bus 13 is quite direct 1 hor.

How do u know bicycle via expressway is 15mins?

I estimate as distance is about 6.5km apart...

The best solution is to leave Singapore for good if one can can PR status in their preferred country. Couple of my friends already migrated and they live in big houses and own a few cars now! How i wish........

Get the fundamentals right:-

Good natural resources,

Good climax - no extreme heat or cold,

Reasonably gracious society,

Less elitist,

Wide-spread middle class, relatively speaking,

Established and matured economy,

Good work-life balance,

Space for leisure,

Etc

If we look around, there are places which offer the above outside the tiny red dot. Why not study/work hard and make these places want/accept you to be part of the people there? .....for the sake of our next generation.

It will not be a bed of roses, for sure, but the hard work will be rewarded. [:)]