M1 Fibre Broadband Discussion

LMFAO

Today checked my M1 bill on hp AXS.There is a $30+GST credit back.Think is adjustment of some sort.

Will have to see what's up in bill 2 months later. [lipsrsealed]

edmw also got people kpkb say recontract with m1 got $30 recontract fee

some say never kena, some say kena, some say talk to cso, some say other say, say say say :blink:

looks like it's better for me just to stick to SH. which is my original plan anyway.

Am using M1 broadband 1G promotion with higher end Asus router. Can't really feel the difference in speed... :-( from200 Mbps to 1G.

Anyone have the the same experience ? :-(

just recon with M1 for the 1gbps.

tried out wired connection but can only get about 521 mbps with speedtest.net

my pc has built-in gbps network connection, am using cat7 cables. only thing is still using the old Asus RT-N56U router - but i am wired in.

so is the router affecting my d/l speed ?

my pc has built-in gbps network connection, am using cat7 cables. only thing is still using the old Asus RT-N56U router - but i am wired in.

I tested my new 1 Gbs with cat 5 wired to N56U with my Z97C and I got about 95%. A picture attached. I suggest to run a few of the app and see what's the avaerage speed. [rolleyes]

post-163302-0-32283200-1449333241_thumb.jpg

N56U specs https://www.asus.com/sg/Networking/RTN56U/specifications/

try to do a speed test using direct from your M1 modem to test the result and you will know the answer

I recontract to 1Gbps last month.

M1 made me buy the AC56S @ $4 monthly x 24months. Which I think is reasonable.

This router is quite good. Some blind spots in my home now has signal.

Possible to shift fibre point for better coverage? Made a mistake in locating the fibre point on the 'wrong' wall. That fibre pt is not in the middle of the hall, resulted in poor coverage in bedrooms. Now, would like to move the fiber point to the wall direct opposite. Ultimate goal is to get the wireless router to the middle of the house. Which is the best solution?

1. One way is ask Singtel/M1 to shift the FP, do they relocate FP FOC inside house with a new subscription?

2. Don move the FP but run fibre optics along the perimeter of the hall to bring the fibre modem to the opposite wall. What is the max distance of the fibre provided with the fibre modem?

3. FP and fibre modem stay at same side/wall. Run ethernet cable along perimeter of hall, to bring wireless router to the opposite wall. 4. Other solutions/recommendations?

Distance between walls running along perimeter is ~7m.

Edited by Matrix0405

Possible to shift fibre point for better coverage? Made a mistake in locating the fibre point on the 'wrong' wall. That fibre pt is not in the middle of the hall, resulted in poor coverage in bedrooms. Now, would like to move the fiber point to the wall direct opposite. Ultimate goal is to get the wireless router to the middle of the house. Which is the best solution?

1. One way is ask Singtel/M1 to shift the FP, do they relocate FP FOC inside house with a new subscription?

2. Don move the FP but run fibre optics along the perimeter of the hall to bring the fibre modem to the opposite wall. What is the max distance of the fibre provided with the fibre modem?

3. FP and fibre modem stay at same side/wall. Run ethernet cable along perimeter of hall, to bring wireless router to the opposite wall. 4. Other solutions/recommendations?

Run ethernet cable from the point to your preferred location, that's the easiest 

thought the contractor won't run the fiber cable to the middle of the rooms unless u pay separately for that?

anyway, like dafansu said, i run the cable myself.

just go challenger buy some 10m cable (or whatever length u want).

there is a type of 'flat' cable, looks nicer than the traditional 'round' one.

if u want, u can buy the cable tray (dunno what it's officially called), basically the cable goes inside the long plastic trunk guide u can cut, and u stick it on the ground, or over the ceiling towards your desired location.

i use industrial 3M double-side tapes. so far few years already, haven't come off. 

I tested my new 1 Gbs with cat 5 wired to N56U with my Z97C and I got about 95%. A picture attached. I suggest to run a few of the app and see what's the avaerage speed. [rolleyes]

4894673795.png

this was done at 10:45pm on a weekday .... if during off-peak will get 9xx mbps.

but this is on my i5 machine - cabled from room to router in the hall.

Just to refresh this thread. I am currently a Singtel 200 mbs user and contract is ending Jan 2016. I contacted Singtel, yes I called them instead of they inform me, but they treat me like dirt.

I am thinking of switching over to M1. Would like to hear your experiences and what is the best deal around. I just need fibre and nothing else. So far, I have 1 fibre point and I don't have issue with wifi within my house. Do I need the 1 Gb or any other installation?

Thank you

Just to refresh this thread. I am currently a Singtel 200 mbs user and contract is ending Jan 2016. I contacted Singtel, yes I called them instead of they inform me, but they treat me like dirt.

I am thinking of switching over to M1. Would like to hear your experiences and what is the best deal around. I just need fibre and nothing else. So far, I have 1 fibre point and I don't have issue with wifi within my house. Do I need the 1 Gb or any other installation?

Thank you

M1 give 1G of mobile bb with a SIM card.

I use the SIM in my old iPhone for my son. Can Facetime or whatsapp him.

Save 1 phone line.

Also, M1 gives $100 voucher to off set mobile phone purchase. So, sign up only when you are ready to get a new phone from M1.

thought the contractor won't run the fiber cable to the middle of the rooms unless u pay separately for that?

anyway, like dafansu said, i run the cable myself.

just go challenger buy some 10m cable (or whatever length u want).

there is a type of 'flat' cable, looks nicer than the traditional 'round' one.

if u want, u can buy the cable tray (dunno what it's officially called), basically the cable goes inside the long plastic trunk guide u can cut, and u stick it on the ground, or over the ceiling towards your desired location.

i use industrial 3M double-side tapes. so far few years already, haven't come off. 

Good advice but I'd just like to add on that he should get at least a CAT 6 cable for future redundancy. 

Thank you

Are you okay with your current speed? 

If so, then just look around for the cheapest 200mbps deal (I believe that would be M1 but I haven't been keeping up). My opinion is that you don't need 1 gbps unless you have many heavy users in your house.

My household has 6 users with 2 of us being heavy users and we are surviving well on 200 mbps. Also note that we have around 15 gadgets connected to the router.

M1 give 1G of mobile bb with a SIM card.

I use the SIM in my old iPhone for my son. Can Facetime or whatsapp him.

Save 1 phone line.

Also, M1 gives $100 voucher to off set mobile phone purchase. So, sign up only when you are ready to get a new phone from M1.

Good idea.

Does the sim card automatically block out connectivity when it hits 1GB or does it charge you the standard 10 dollars per GB after that?

Edited by Kusje

Good advice but I'd just like to add on that he should get at least a CAT 6 cable for future redundancy. 

Are you okay with your current speed? 

If so, then just look around for the cheapest 200mbps deal (I believe that would be M1 but I haven't been keeping up). My opinion is that you don't need 1 gbps unless you have many heavy users in your house.

My household has 6 users with 2 of us being heavy users and we are surviving well on 200 mbps. Also note that we have around 15 gadgets connected to the router.

Good idea.

Does the sim card automatically block out connectivity when it hits 1GB or does it charge you the standard 10 dollars per GB after that?

Good question. I am not sure. Will need to check the contract.

I only started using it since mid Nov. Only used 70MB.

Good question. I am not sure. Will need to check the contract.

I only started using it since mid Nov. Only used 70MB.

Will be good to check in case your son starts surfing facebook or whatever on his phone.

You might just be shocked when you see the bill.

Will be good to check in case your son starts surfing facebook or whatever on his phone.

You might just be shocked when you see the bill.

no auto block out lah

you think telco running charity?

might be able to limit if the phone has such a feature

Edited by Enye