Can I use portable BBQ pit at grass patch below HDB ?

Relacklabrudder

I don't see why it cannot be allowed as long as you clean up after you leave. I'd hope you'd not drop the idea without a try. We have a lot of self-censorship and self-imposed restrictions here.

Seeing how Singaporeans won't even return their trays in food court and Ikea, it could be a challenge for Town Councils, National Parks Board, etc.

I mean not in multi purpose shelter or void decks but a grass patch beside playground. I mean it's like family fun to have kids at playground playing, few chair and tables and BBQ pit bbqing.

Yeah sometimes the restriction is in our mind after yrs of 'conditioning'.

I mean I see ppl using the multi purpose hall for RC cars too, dun tink got permit

TS, its not allowed cos the main thing is bbq in sg need apply permit. if u wanna go by army rule, u can try see see. but given such lovely pple we hv in stomp, i def wont wan to b in such publicity. ^_^

I think you need to register in able to use the BBQ pit. I dont know those pits is in-charge under town council or RC?!

it's ok lah... just go ahead and do it ... nobody will stop...

If anyone kaypoh, just say it's a religious thing, barbequeing sacrifices to appease the gods ... guarantee chop they'll leave you alone after that... it would make your claim more authentic if you light a bonfire and burn a few effigies at the same time. [cool]

grass patch no good lah.. people burn paper offerings for hungry 'brothers' [laugh]

can try apply permit..depending on your hdb vicinity design.. your place have a multi-purpose 'hall' (to me, looks like train shed [laugh])

people can hold activities there.

else, hold on the top level of mscp.. have seen my MP holding some resident party there

I am bringing my own portable BBQ pit

Own BBQ pit? If only one pit, dont think need to apply permit lo. But if you are using the facilities at your block, like having the BBQ inside the pavilion, then maybe you need to apply permit?!

Three years ago when my grandmother passed away in the wee early hours of the day, we went town council to apply for the use the compound next to the playground... They approved the permit so my uncle called to inform me then we send the people to set up the tent, shortly after that 2 officers in uniform came to ask us for the permit... We were all damn busy with the set up of the wake and the person who went to apply for the permit went to take his breakfast after the approval of the permit... We needed to see that the tentage and tables and chairs are properly set up before the box arrives...

We told them that we have applied for the permit already but the person holding the permit is not there... they called their office and informed us that its not yet approve on the system and if the person dun show up with the permit we have to pack up and leave... i was like wtf.... then 5 mins later 4 police officers arrived on standby asking us to see permit together with the TC people... I ask them to double check again cos we were very sure its approved, maybe system not yet updated... they called and say that yes we did apply but its unsuccessful...

i was like wtf? seriously?? the box is coming in 30 mins and you asking us to pack???? then i was kinda annoyed with my uncle, i thought he did a shabby job... then in a very rebellious voice i told the workers to continue, I will sort this out.. the officers LLST..... lucky my uncle came back just as they were about to throw us out.... have to show the physical document that it is approved.. Didnt even say sorry, just say that paper say approve system not approved, they will monitor again... I look at them and say, brother, we holding a wake here, not throw party, does this look like a wedding to you? IF your system is lousy, go back and sort it out dun come and mess the wake... are you going to help carry the box out for us? I was abit hysterical cos I am very close to my grandma... can say mdm hope you understand... i say no, i dun understand... how can the paper say approve and system not approve??? Then its your problem RIGHT??? Then the police pretend pretend and walk away, then when I were to ask the foreman to lay the carpet, i turn around all of them have disappeared....

Dun mess with them... wake also want to throw pple out....

You can bbq, just hope no one complain...

Edited by Meganut

At least they never tell you "OK you got permit, but next time make sure its done properly in the system" .. and I would say "is it my problem, or your problem and your responsibility and making sure you do a proper job?"

A combination of dodgy procedure and slack staff screw up my paper work once, and they dare to tell me "next time we cannot correct it for you again", I was like "why would I need to correct if you did it right the first time ?" and they just keep quiet.

You don't have to swallow it, be sure to identify each of them and even if their bosses are doing anything about it, make sure they feel bad and really bad about it. Take down their names even if you don't intend to do anything, at least they will feel some pressure and feel that someone is holding them accountable.

Hmm... Agree with u.. Why the hell would they have to correct for you if they did it right the first time.. I would have applauded u if I was around..

Anyways, I dunno if you can BBQ, but I know it'll surely attract alotta attention.. In this STOMP age, anything deemed "special", will find its way to STOMP in double quick time.. If u wan some publicity, by all means try it.. But if u just wan a good time without having to live with any media mess after it, den just follow wat everyone does lor.. Find a park nearby where there's proper BBQ pits..

You all dont understand....one word...complaints.......no complaints, no issues......get it? U thk Town council, police so free come and catch ppl bbq?

And to the bro who said mscp alot of cars in and out.....if you go to the top floor of mscp, I doubt there will be alot of cars unless your carpark is damn overcrowded...mostly those who use the top floor open carpark are those who want to siam putting coupons, buying season tickets.....