Foregin talent policy may have help widen income gap

Without_a_car

A Singapore towkay is only willing to pay Singaporeans $1500/mth for exec jobs and $800/mth for manual jobs and which he knows fully well that it is difficult for Singaporeans to survive on those salaries.

But for himself, he lives in a luxurious property, owns multiple properties, drives expensive cars, millions in bank account and buys expensive watches to show off.

Wife, an executive in her own right and definitely have a much higher pay than $1500/mth, also indulges in a luxurious lifestyle.

Then the towkay complains Singaporeans not humble like FT and FW.

Given the above situation, any humble Singaporean willing to work wholeheartedly for the Singapore towkay?

No wonder we need many FT and FW for the Singapore towkays.

If now I can only find work in Singapore for $1500/mth. But if in another country X, the local company towkay willing to pay me $15000/mth to work in a job where the locals of that country X get paid $25000/mth, I will definitely go there to be FT even I know that towkay is undercutting the locals there. But would the locals in that country X be happy and integrate me?

I need some clarification

I always think that FW on work permit and they are involved in the more labour intensive job which most Sinkie avoid and FT on Employment pass and they are in direct competition with jobs which most Sinkie want.

Then how come most of the regulation is aimed towards FW and not much on FT?

Shouldnt it be the other way round?

towkay employ FWs...

FTs not his concern

A Singapore towkay is only willing to pay Singaporeans $1500/mth for exec jobs and $800/mth for manual jobs and which he knows fully well that it is difficult for Singaporeans to survive on those salaries.

But for himself, he lives in a luxurious property, owns multiple properties, drives expensive cars, millions in bank account and buys expensive watches to show off.

Wife, an executive in her own right and definitely have a much higher pay than $1500/mth, also indulges in a luxurious lifestyle.

Given the above situation, any humble Singaporean willing to work wholeheartedly for the Singapore towkay?

If now I can only find work in Singapore for $1500/mth. But if in another country X, the local company towkay willing to pay me $15000/mth to work in a job where the locals of that country X get paid $25000/mth, I will definitely go there to be FT even I know that towkay is undercutting the locals there. But would the locals in that country X be happy and integrate me?

But isn't that what is being a towkay all about?

He is not charity organization, you know...

But isn't that what is being a towkay all about?

He is not charity organization, you know...

Yes I agree. But why don't just say he himself greedy but instead shoot Singaporeans down?

If singaporean can accept $1500 pay for exec position and $800 for manual labour position, tomolo first thing i hire sinkie.

I hire you to work and pay you $1501, ai mai ? I can hire you do manual labour also can , help me clean toilets, wash car and do housework; I pay you $801

Edited by Pentium

You know, he is not totally wrong to expect that.

Capital has no conscience in our society (capitalist), that

You know, he is not totally wrong to expect that.

Capital has no conscience in our society (capitalist), that

I have never said that he is wrong. He is the towkay and will do whatever is best for his pocket.

My point is if he is out to exploit Singaporeans but no Singaporeans take the bait, then don't shoot down Singaporeans.

If tiong scholar can call Singaporeans dog, what more a towkay paying income tax...

I find your views towards our current development too narrow and you failed to appreciate the rising costs faced by many Singaporeans...instead you choose to shoot your fellow people down and embrace on profit maximisation...I say, SHAME on you... u hv that little bit regards of your fellow men, I feel sad for you....I say you stopped thinking like a typical Towkay and learn to plough back to the society for the dollars you earned from....

agree... cheapo SG boss spotted

sorry bro

complete rubbish

it is the baby boomers who have voting rights

have been screwing our younger generation

so true... 60.1%

Edited by Mockngbrd

sorry bro

complete rubbish

it is the baby boomers who have voting rights

have been screwing our younger generation

Aiya, no market survey done by me [laugh] . I have a feeling our younger generation (those born after 1990s) are going to have a better time. You can see the tightening of FT already. Although I'll like to see more but it is still better than last time.

So baby bommers are lucky, their kids are not -_-

Aiya, no market survey done by me [laugh] . I have a feeling our younger generation (those born after 1990s) are going to have a better time. You can see the tightening of FT already. Although I'll like to see more but it is still better than last time.

So baby bommers are lucky, their kids are not -_-

baby boomers and their children are lucky (becos got rich parents liao), ppl like me caught in between kenna snoook

Edited by Mockngbrd

I need some clarification

I always think that FW on work permit and they are involved in the more labour intensive job which most Sinkie avoid and FT on Employment pass and they are in direct competition with jobs which most Sinkie want.

Then how come most of the regulation is aimed towards FW and not much on FT?

Shouldnt it be the other way round?

FT = Talents who can help to boost the GDP.

So they are welcome by the gahmen.

Anyway most of the so called FT isn't that talented. I am working in a US MMC but half of the employees are FTs who spend their working hour talking and then doing overtime to impress our VP who think that they are hardworking and keep comparing them to us singaporean.

His favourite sentance - you have 7 days a week, 24 hours a day, so dun tell me that you don't have time.

Like what my director told me over here, it 's either you take it or leave it.

Lucily for me , I manage to find another job and take my chance that the job might be more f up than my current position. But if you never try, you never know.

baby boomers and their children are lucky (becos got rich parents liao), ppl like me caught in between kenna snoook

Alamak, I also la but then, not all baby boomers are rich. I'm sure in the recent vote swing, there are those boomers that switched camps due the raising medical cost and lack of support for old folks (now you see so much is going to be done to win their votes back).

As for their kids, when they're in their 20s and 30s, it was just the SAME period that FT flooded our country. Now that our young generation, those still in their 10s is going to benefit from this recent vote swing. That's why I say those hit hardest are those in their 20s and 30s.

There will be some bad eggs among locals. I see many of my peers work 6-7 days a week, >10hrs a day. It's not that we don't want to do hard work, just show us the money. $1500 for exec job, how to survive? What I faced in company is that boss don't want to give me more increment even though my salary is way below market rate and work 3 years with them. Reason being it's extremely easy to find a foreigner to replace me at a cheaper rate. If every company is like this, my salary will forever be stuck.

I'm talking about survival, not leading a good life with big house, big car and a maid at home. A foreigner with $1500 salary can lead a much better life than us, with enough money for the whole family back home and have spare to retire. Local with $1500 can't get anywhere.

It's not that locals are picky, we need a reasonable wage to survive.

Alamak, I also la but then, not all baby boomers are rich. I'm sure in the recent vote swing, there are those boomers that switched camps due the raising medical cost and lack of support for old folks (now you see so much is going to be done to win their votes back).

As for their kids, when they're in their 20s and 30s, it was just the SAME period that FT flooded our country. Now that our young generation, those still in their 10s is going to benefit from this recent vote swing. That's why I say those hit hardest are those in their 20s and 30s.

I'm in my late 20s and seriously hit by their policies, NS make it worse.

Used to love PAP until I enter U and step into work force. Everyday curse and swear at the policies makers.

There will be some bad eggs among locals. I see many of my peers work 6-7 days a week, >10hrs a day. It's not that we don't want to do hard work, just show us the money. $1500 for exec job, how to survive? What I faced in company is that boss don't want to give me more increment even though my salary is way below market rate and work 3 years with them. Reason being it's extremely easy to find a foreigner to replace me at a cheaper rate. If every company is like this, my salary will forever be stuck.

I'm talking about survival, not leading a good life with big house, big car and a maid at home. A foreigner with $1500 salary can lead a much better life than us, with enough money for the whole family back home and have spare to retire. Local with $1500 can't get anywhere.

It's not that locals are picky, we need a reasonable wage to survive.

His profit must be guaranteed, your survival is incidental.