Foregin talent policy may have help widen income gap

Without_a_car

I'm in my late 20s and seriously hit by their policies, NS make it worse.

Used to love PAP until I enter U and step into work force. Everyday curse and swear at the policies makers.

My company recently had a recruitment exercise hired 6 person. 2 perm jobs went to foreigners, 4 locals, fresh from school got contract jobs...

It also depends on the type of jobs you are offering right?

For eg: if you need a table wiper, I doubt Throttle2 will join your company for 1.5k since he's current is 3.8k.

It also depends on the type of jobs you are offering right?

For eg: if you need a table wiper, I doubt Throttle2 will join your company for 1.5k since he's current is 3.8k.

40k pa for entry level job not too bad right?

Now towkay conditioned to low wages.

How much you think gahmen will do without angering towkay?

Well, IF they are smart enough, they will know that there is only 1 towkay in every company, but there are a lot of employee. So when voting comes, everyone are the same, 1 vote. You can be towkay, you can be ministar, or even PM, you still only 1 vote. If too many employee are angry, you will know the consequence..........

you only vote once every 5 years

Singaporeans have poor memories,

there is Straits Times to bleach the news,

all else fail, can always take the dissenting voices to court to silence them.

If singaporean can accept $1500 pay for exec position and $800 for manual labour position, tomolo first thing i hire sinkie.

Wait long long. [:p]

you only vote once every 5 years

Singaporeans have poor memories,

there is Straits Times to bleach the news,

all else fail, can always take the dissenting voices to court to silence them.

that why we must keep stirring all these negative feeling about papaya until next GE.

Well, it seem after almost a year, all these negative feeling is still on going, it a bit different from last time where after GE, everything went back to normal. So I think this time, it will be a different, all thanks to the internet where all the negative feeling can be air....

'Foreign talent policy had effect on income gap'

Inflow hurt wage growth for some, says expert panel

Government policies to boost the number of foreigners working here may have indirectly contributed to greater income inequality, a panel of experts said on Monday.

TMD!! 大才小用

Why we need "experts" to recognize this PROBLEM when even my Ah-chek and In-chek already know ?

TMD!! 大才小用

Why we need "experts" to recognize this PROBLEM when even my Ah-chek and In-chek already know ?

Because MIWs, is in denial.

They can't communicate with average joe like you and me.

So have to use expert panel to speak MIW language.

There are some sense of economics discussion going on...let me put it this way to the Govt and to those who have doubts paying Singaporeans decently....

if Singaporeans are paid enough, tendency to spend would be much greater and such aggregated consumption power will be much greater than 1 Towkay...A successful Towkay would be one that is willing to plough back his earning to the society and if he is wise enough, he is helping to generate greater consumption for the economy as a whole which will in turn bring him better business....

Picking on cheap labour one day would have its repercussion by setting operating cost artificially lower and most Towkdays ended up a bankrupt when one day FT or FW volumes are curbed...

Hopefully, the old Towkay's mindset on profit maximisation will shift away one day and true blue Singaporeans believe in wealth creation that benefit his fellow brothers and sisters will rise....Understanding the principle of wealth creation and creating wealth is not about enriching one's pocket....

There are some sense of economics discussion going on...let me put it this way to the Govt and to those who have doubts paying Singaporeans decently....

if Singaporeans are paid enough, tendency to spend would be much greater and such aggregated consumption power will be much greater than 1 Towkay...A successful Towkay would be one that is willing to plough back his earning to the society and if he is wise enough, he is helping to generate greater consumption for the economy as a whole which will in turn bring him better business....

Picking on cheap labour one day would have its repercussion by setting operating cost artificially lower and most Towkdays ended up a bankrupt when one day FT or FW volumes are curbed...

Hopefully, the old Towkay's mindset on profit maximisation will shift away one day and true blue Singaporeans believe in wealth creation that benefit his fellow brothers and sisters will rise....Understanding the principle of wealth creation and creating wealth is not about enriching one's pocket....

you are forgetting the entire setup is almost a family business...

towkay mindset is very entrenched

I believe the Elites are planning for themselves only [shakehead]

Some hard truths about this country - If you are not in the Elite Club, you are expendable. You are a tool, to be used and abused.

Nowhere else on earth is there another country whereby foreigners/migrants make up two fifth of the inhabitants. It is equally mind boggling that there is no ceiling to the issuance of Employment Pass. This is a blanket license for businesses to hire similarly qualified but cheaper non-locals. In other countries, there are regulations in place to make sure that foreign labour or expertise is turned to only as a last resort. Here, the door is wide opened. Viceroymenthol of course, is taking full advantage of this.

you are forgetting the entire setup is almost a family business...

towkay mindset is very entrenched

If you ask for unreasonable salary, towkay has a right to ask you to fcuk off but if towkay wants to underpay you, you also have the right to ask the towkay to go fcuk himself.

T2 already mentioned he will wipe tables for another foodcourt if his towkay does not respect him. Willing buyer, willing seller. Why so emo?

Some hard truths about this country - If you are not in the Elite Club, you are expendable. You are a tool, to be used and abused.

Nowhere else on earth is there another country whereby foreigners/migrants make up two fifth of the inhabitants. It is equally mind boggling that there is no ceiling to the issuance of Employment Pass. This is a blanket license for businesses to hire similarly qualified but cheaper non-locals. In other countries, there are regulations in place to make sure that foreign labour or expertise is turned to only as a last resort. Here, the door is wide opened. Viceroymenthol of course, is taking full advantage of this.

Sure or not? Dubai?

Actually VM will feel very at home in Dubai...[rolleyes]

The irony is many locals support these protocol against themselves, like comitting suicide. :angry:

May?? I would say: Definitely had contributed to the widening income gap.

Do you think the MIW are shortsighted?? I doubt some of them are.

One thing is certain: Most are self serving.

Hence, the current situation. The worse is yet to come with the changing demography as a result of opened floodgates welcoming one and all - even the worthless.

Why must buy? Why cannot rent? If ang moh, korean, malaysian, PRC, indian, myanmar FT and FW etc can do it, why not sinkie?

If people in HK can bring up a whole family in a tiny shared rented ROOM (not flat, mind you) and their children turn out ok, why can't sinkie?

Why for sinkies, everything also must buy, everything also must have. Why cannot be humble and start small like young people all over the world do? Got NUS/NTU/SMU degree big fcuk ah? Must wear nice nice sit in office ah? Must drive car ah? Kan nin na......

I respect those FT and FW a lot more than sinkie. These people got the guts to leave their homes and families to come here to work and tough it out. They don't mind the hardship, they don't mind the low pay as long as there is a chance of earning more next time. They work hard, striving to do better in life.

Sinkie leh? Stay in parents house, eat parents food, enjoy parents utilities, treat mother like washerwoman and maid. You ask them go overseas to find a better job, a better life, their balls shrink.

Bro... Can you accept $1.5k and $800 for those positions? If you can, good for you. Are you an employer? If you are, then let me ask you one question... Can you accept a low profit margin instead of some ridiculously high profit margin? If you can, then I guess no harm if you can offer a bit more to your employees who are helping you with your business. After all without them your earning capacity is just so limited. Don't be an employer who just thinks for himself. You wanna make more money but others must earn lesser so you can make more?

Rent... Are you renting a house? Or you bought a house? If you buy, why others cannot buy? Personally, I have some rental experiences before. Not cheap I tell you. The salary range you mention just cuts it for a basic housing rent. What about other expenses? Please lah... If you have gone through all these before you wouldn't be saying all these. Don't make comments from that high chair of yours... Come down and see for yourself how these people you're calling Sinkies are struggling out here. If you're humane enough, then you will understand.

Please hire based on merits. Not asking price. FW earn 800, can send home 300... That 300 in the countries they come from, that's a lot of money. Furthermore, they have no other responsibilities here. Lodging, allowance provided...

Please don't misunderstand me hor... I'm not defending the whole of S'pore. Some of your statements are true. Some... [;)]

If singaporean can accept $1500 pay for exec position and $800 for manual labour position, tomolo first thing i hire sinkie.

Tat is unfair judgement.

This is where the cost of income gap widen.

U onli want to hire a exec tat eat bee hoon or roti pata to survive.

But you understand most of us here eat chicken rice for lunch !

Surely you achieve your objective to hire cheaply but this also make your worker eventually becoming your competitor...