**How you allocate your saving for a house?**

AFV_V200

if it were me, assuming not young, and have no more plan to have children, i will buy a small hdb, like 3 rooms or smaller, pay with cpf and loans. The remaining cash use for investment in good companies, for their dividend and liquidity. then spend some money regularly for holidays or something u enjoy, goes into pre-retirement immediately (with a job).

Last time Shenzhen is Er Nai Chun but now not so many already.

JB can be The OLD Shenzhen hor ? :wub:

Your forte Mr. Woods... [laugh]-_-

not sure where to start. lets say...

A family (just husband and wife) with a total saving of 600k cash and total CPF of 200K. and with a combine income of around 7K take home salary.

putting aside 80K cash for renovation.

How will you allocate the down payment?

And will you go for private property or HDB?

there is some missing information....

1) how old is the couple

2) how much is the mthly expenses.. given that it's only 2 persons , it shld be min. Do they have high car loan or expecting to have a child.

if couple is above 40, i suggest hdb as there shld not be significate growth in salary. Pay up most of the house and any spare cash can consider investing on fixed income. And plan for a carefree retirement.

honestly $7k combined is quite pathetic in todays context.

so all depends on how big a place they want and how big a burden they can take on shoulders.

If I were them , I would get a big HDB and feel very comfortable.

Downpay at least $300k - $400k or about half of the cash + cpf they have.

Life will still be very comfortable and things would be stable.

well within means and have money to invest in other things.

whats the point of a small (public) private property [also known as mass market private property (usually nestled in HDB estates anyway...)]

And have to live with hordes of upstarts and CMIs as neighbors.

So , flame me but thats the truth.... [rolleyes]

i agree. a big HDB does gives better value than a small heartland condo.

A family (just husband and wife) with a total saving of 600k cash and total CPF of 200K. and with a combine income of around 7K take home salary.

go buy a geylang property near paya lebar... and wait for 10 yrs...

buy condo liao cannot buy HDB

buy HDB first, later still can buy condo

yes.. buy hdb.. fully pay.. but condo.. then use the rental to pay the condo... and not using salary income.. make more sense..

buy condo liao cannot buy HDB

buy HDB first, later still can buy condo

TS is more than 40 years old. savings high but income not very high. better don risk getting hdb + condo [sweatdrop]

To each its own. Personally, I'll go for a bigger HDB, put 1yr cash in FD or ordinary account then the rest into various investment instruments to fight inflation. You never know when kena retrench, not everybody have high paying 5 years contract [lipsrsealed][:p]

7K monthly : very common couple

600K Cash: very not common for any family

600K as a number: very idential to Group 1 toto winning prize

if its me,

of cos down HDB,

swipe out all CPF,

continue working,

invest? only if you know how

private, MOP = 5 yrs right?

grey area, ask you agent.

should be very very stable life if small car, that hdb, no condo.

7K monthly : very common couple

600K Cash: very not common for any family

600K as a number: very idential to Group 1 toto winning prize

if its me,

of cos down HDB,

swipe out all CPF,

continue working,

invest? only if you know how

private, MOP = 5 yrs right?

grey area, ask you agent.

should be very very stable life if small car, that hdb, no condo.

can get an apartment and rent out for rental yield la

or buy gold lor

there is some missing information....

1) how old is the couple

2) how much is the mthly expenses.. given that it's only 2 persons , it shld be min. Do they have high car loan or expecting to have a child.

if couple is above 40, i suggest hdb as there shld not be significate growth in salary. Pay up most of the house and any spare cash can consider investing on fixed income. And plan for a carefree retirement.

1. 40s

2. car fully paid. no kids. monthly total out going about $3.5k.

honestly $7k combined is quite pathetic in todays context.

so all depends on how big a place they want and how big a burden they can take on shoulders.

If I were them , I would get a big HDB and feel very comfortable.

Downpay at least $300k - $400k or about half of the cash + cpf they have.

Life will still be very comfortable and things would be stable.

well within means and have money to invest in other things.

whats the point of a small (public) private property [also known as mass market private property (usually nestled in HDB estates anyway...)]

And have to live with hordes of upstarts and CMIs as neighbors.

So , flame me but thats the truth.... [rolleyes]

Depends on HOW you perceive this $7k..

His S$7k are very stable jobs for both of them..and will be more as years go by..more or less confirm....as I can gather from my 8th sense!..

Your more then $7k as a table wiper.... come and go...

There is a vast difference between the two especially if years go by....

Since you always like to 'talk down' to ppl who has a modest amount of money..

I will also be able to 'talk down' to you as you will have perceived by now! :D

wait

calling for experts,

if 40s,

whats the most likely loan tenure?

cannot take 30yr HDB/bank loan right?

Depends on HOW you perceive this $7k..

His S$7k are very stable jobs for both of them..and will be more as years go by..more or less confirm....as I can gather from my 8th sense!..

Your more then $7k as a table wiper.... come and go...

There is a vast difference between the two especially if years go by....

Since you always like to 'talk down' to ppl who has a modest amount of money..

I will also be able to 'talk down' to you as you will have perceived by now! :D

hvg said that, there is nothing stable in this world...