**How you allocate your saving for a house?**

AFV_V200

not sure where to start. lets say...

A family (just husband and wife) with a total saving of 600k cash and total CPF of 200K. and with a combine income of around 7K take home salary.

putting aside 80K cash for renovation.

How will you allocate the down payment?

And will you go for private property or HDB?

A family (just husband and wife) with a total saving of 600k cash and total CPF of 200K. and with a combine income of around 7K take home salary.

Whoa! You rich man! Buy ec lor

That's a lot of cash you have. Should put them in bonds or investments. It depends how much you want to be left with after buying the new HDB and how much you want to loan.

If I'm in your shoes, I will buy a HDB flat using up all the CPF. The rest take loan. Then use the cash to buy a private property. Take another loan. Rent out the private property to pay for the monthly mortages of both HDB and private.

Private Property about 1.2million 5% cash 15% cash, the rest loan.

That's a lot of cash you have. Should put them in bonds or investments. It depends how much you want to be left with after buying the new HDB and how much you want to loan.

If I'm in your shoes, I will buy a HDB flat using up all the CPF. The rest take loan. Then use the cash to buy a private property. Take another loan. Rent out the private property to pay for the monthly mortages of both HDB and private.

nice but its not possible concurrently.

honestly $7k combined is quite pathetic in todays context.

so all depends on how big a place they want and how big a burden they can take on shoulders.

If I were them , I would get a big HDB and feel very comfortable.

Downpay at least $300k - $400k or about half of the cash + cpf they have.

Life will still be very comfortable and things would be stable.

well within means and have money to invest in other things.

whats the point of a small (public) private property [also known as mass market private property (usually nestled in HDB estates anyway...)]

And have to live with hordes of upstarts and CMIs as neighbors.

So , flame me but thats the truth.... [rolleyes]

Edited by Throttle2

take home 7k but cash reserve 600k... it must be your 20yr? life savings.

i can't advice much cos i'm no financial guru, but pls be prudent.. check out forums for alternate views then draw your conclusion. (personally i won't do it.. too expensive now)

not easy to save this amount, unless that 600k is toto winnings [;)]

take home 7k but cash reserve 600k... it must be your 20yr? life savings.

i can't advice much cos i'm no financial guru, but pls be prudent.. check out forums for alternate views then draw your conclusion. (personally i won't do it.. too expensive now)

not easy to save this amount, unless that 600k is toto winnings [;)]

Yeah, how I wish I have 600K, I think will take me 30 years to save up this much.

i wonder how 7k combined income can appear with another 600k cash.

even if you save up 100% without spending and without cpf, with a 7k combined income, it will take 7.14 years to hit 600k.

anyway, i would suggest you to go for HDB EM/EA/EC or maximum, a 99 years neighbourhood condo.

i am suggesting such because the combined income is really too low to consider a private property.

just my two cents worth.

it is a combine saving including a handsome 250k profit from the sales of flat. so hard saving of 2 person is 350k only in 20yrs.

currently renting a flat .

I earn more than that and I don't even have 600k cash and 200k cpf... How to do that...

Toto? Investment? Inheritance? Not from hard savings for sure

ok, 20 years... That's still good savings compared to lots of other couples.

No kids?

Think buy HDB flat, use up the CPF, use half the cash, that will mean you buy a place that is max 550k.

The rest keep for rainy days.

He and wife saved up and 250k from sale of flat lah.

Actually the CPF can lah. Me already got ~240k (balance + CPF used for property) working about 12 years.

But me don't have 600k cash. Wonder how's the feeling to see the bank account so thick. Maybe I should make that my new target; to have thick thick bank account! [laugh]

non of the above. beside regular salary saving, still able to get abt extra 10k-15k each yr from freelance project, but it slow down in recent year.