Meeting of in laws

Deucedude

Deucedude...have it occur to your that her Dad may be reading this thread? I mean he already go down to tennis court look for your and your GF...with his ex-occupation experience, finding you in forum should be chicken feet right?

sorry....just have to make fun of you...:D

haha, thanks for the humour. I dont think so lah, cos 4D also not so zhun!!! [laugh]

attend the event and ask your buddy to call your mobile to activiate you (pretend activiation to office for emergency work, or SAF mobilisation)

haha, tried that before in JC [laugh][laugh]

just go for the meeting/ dinner la... just take it easy and chance to know her parents/family some what..

u cant escape from this if u want to advance the r/s further...

anyway it doesnt mean u MUST marry her just from 1 meeting with her parents..

just rem to buy a small gift for them so u dont "empty handed"

Okay jokes aside.....Just go...be natural....don't lie.

You love your GF right? You wouldn't lie to her right? Do the same to the parents. If in one way or another you hinted that you not keen....your GF might see you as a coward... BE THE MAN! Her parents jio you? ON!

As other bros mentioned, if you are serious with her, you must be serious with her family. You marry her, you marry the whole family. It's the whole package.

OK now I am giving myself 2 options. Both will not involve any lies or excuses

1)Tell my gf that I do not want to do the meet up. This is bcos we barely know each other for 3 mths and have been only together for 2 weeks and do not want to give her folks the wrong impression. Pros: That

you cannot tell a gal that you are not ready to meet her parent cos both of you just started. your gf will feel insecure. and this does not leave you a good impression to her parent since they initiate it.

you dun know how gal will think and feel....... i suggest you to go ahead, maybe all will turn out well. it may be a good thing for you to experience if her parent is difficult.. all this attributed to a good relationship.. sometime it is good to know early than late (dun waste each other time)

hv fun brother

another option for you is to drop by her home when u are sending her home after an outing. Then just say a brief hello to the parents. make it a nighttime so that you have excuse not to stay very long in the house..... just say hi, intro yourself and leave.

at least the parents get the satisfaction of seeing your handsome face and you got the excuse to leave quickly. This will help to buy you some more time before formally meeting the parents.

Good suggestion, TS can consider... [laugh]

Speaking from own experience again... :)

That's what I did last time and it always works!

Guess there are things and time where as a man you can't just siam away. my take is just go and meet them over a meal and be polite with them lah. Be honest with them about your relationship with your GF loh, if you havent "misfire" yet [sly] then I dont think they will demand too much from your 2 weeks relationship also right? if things really go smoothly with your GF then you can meet up more often with them to show assurance, if not then slowly fade away loh...marriage cannot be force ...be honest with yourself .....good luck

another option for you is to drop by her home when u are sending her home after an outing. Then just say a brief hello to the parents. make it a nighttime so that you have excuse not to stay very long in the house..... just say hi, intro yourself and leave.

at least the parents get the satisfaction of seeing your handsome face and you got the excuse to leave quickly. This will help to buy you some more time before formally meeting the parents.

Thanks bro, this sounds like a plan. Make it short and simple right, so that once the sensitive bits are raised, i can exit the door!! [laugh]

How about asking your GF to meet your parents first?? And see whether she agrees... [sly]

haha, another reversal tactic. my gf is totally fine with meeting my parents cos 1 she is the social butterfly type and is used to networking and entertaining, 2 my parents are very laid back type, definately unlike hers :D

Wah Bro aren't you jumping the gun a little too early ? Think from the parent's perspective, are you going to ask your daughter's BF whom you met for the first time to marry your daughter ? The first impression is the most important, the dad probably wants to size u up to study u better. Likely questions are family members/ education/work, maybe pay and hobbies. Basically need to show them that u are steady [cool]

You need to meet your gf parents early to assess them cos your gf is likely to take after either of them in character, habits, mannerism, etc. Just be yourself, be matured and go meet them. Not going signals to your gf that you lack commitment.

Thanks bro, but i think i rather go with bro Donut's suggestion or come clean with my gf. At this point of time, i do not wish to be scrutinised and eyeballed by the parents yet. [sweatdrop]