Meeting of in laws

Deucedude

Thanks guys, for all the valuable inputs and thoughts.

I know you all meant well, but has anyone encountered the same issue before, as in absolute comparison. Its easy to tell me to just go and meet them cos the dynamics might have been different for you guys. Has anyone encountered a request to meet OVERPROTECTIVE parents, just BARELY 2 WEEKS into the r/s, when you guys are NOT TOTALLY SURE about the r/s and you have a CLEVER gf who is accessing your reaction by keeping neutral?

More importantly

she is trying to assess you? seems like an opportunist to. i hate people who like to politicise issues and make matters more complicated than they should be. it appears to me that she is intent on staying on the sideline and observe you throughout rather than engaging you and your concerns let alone communicate subtly to her parents that the meeting might be needlessly too soon.

it is not the meeting itself that is the issue. i mean it is just a meetup essentially to me. however, i am severe irked by the fact that she is more interested in assessing you for her own ends rather partake in a meaningful discussion with you which could have resulted in her parents putting off the said meeting (if she opena her mouth and voice out).

if this sounds to be a damning assessment, you're right, i intended it to be so.

Yes bro, I understand your concern, but that

Whoa!!!! really like the movie! [laugh]:D prepare for lie detector test!

Q1) Yi wo kua porno bo? [laugh]:D

Q2) Yi wo siang ai kan wo eh char bor kiang bo? [laugh][laugh]

Sorry bro...but you sound kinda wishy washy for a guy in his 30s. There are many major decisions in life to be made after 2 person decide to tie the knot...and the decision making doesn't stop till one steps into the grave.

You are just at the meeting the parents decision making stage.....and you can also spin off a while forum thread. Not intending to belittle you bro...but come on lah...be a man.

haha, i dont think i am wishy washy cos i can state with strong conviction that I want to siam. haha

thanks for the reprimand, but what would you have done if placed in my situation. yes its a major decision and thats why i wanna have more time to think about it. and start a forum thread to ask advice from ppl who has the SAME experience.

Police officer???!

bro, u may have a hard time........... [laugh][laugh][laugh]

1st time father asked is for your IC number so that he can run checks on you.......... [laugh][laugh]

[:(]

in all seriouness, bro, the father might be the tough nut to crack.

being a police officer, he can read your character faster than anyone else, and if u wan to hide or act blur, it's going to be tough.

Some tips to note;

Dont talk politics with the father unless he starts the topic. The old civil servants have their own way of thinking about our garment.

Go read up some famous SG crimes in the past, so that u appear to be knowledgable, in case the father talks about his past.

Don't lie too much, coz the father can catch your lies. If you used to have 10 galfriends, just admit it. [laugh]

Q2) Yi wo siang ai kan wo eh char bor kiang bo? [laugh][laugh]

haha... he is the soft spoken, educated kind, not the aggressive ah beng kind [laugh]

haha, i dont think i am wishy washy cos i can state with strong conviction that I want to siam. haha

thanks for the reprimand, but what would you have done if placed in my situation. yes its a major decision and thats why i wanna have more time to think about it. and start a forum thread to ask advice from ppl who has the SAME experience.

Its not the current situation you should worry about. It's the future situation you should be concerned. Do you want in-laws who will let you and their daughter decide what you want out of your life...or in-laws that tells you what to do...from wedding plans to when to give birth...down to what colour should your future baby wear.

Try this, tell the girl NO, not the right time. If she continue to see you, it means she has a mind of her own. If she doesn't, either her parents forbade it (and you should really avoid this kinda of dominating in laws) or she is not neutral at all and is taking advantage of her parents' call to meet you.

haha... he is the soft spoken, educated kind, not the aggressive ah beng kind [laugh]

The soft spoken educated type is the WORST, bro.........

you can't tell what they are thinking in their mind. And usually they are the most scheming guys in the police.

You think our CPIB and ISD are all ah beng kind??

The soft spoken educated type is the WORST, bro.........

you can't tell what they are thinking in their mind. And usually they are the most scheming guys in the police.

You think our CPIB and ISD are all ah beng kind??

:o[dizzy][sweatdrop][sweatdrop][sweatdrop]

Hi guys, I have a problem here.

My partner's parents are presurring me to meet up with them, but the thing is, we are barely officially together for 2 weeks and I am not even sure if the r/s will end up well. In short, experimenting stage. Her parents from what I heard is the very old fashion kind and any meet ups will imply that we are heading towrads something very serious like marriage. That scares me. but i understand from their view point as well cos my partner is not young anymore (30 this year). I also do not want to put my partner in a spot be it now or if it doesnt work out in the future yet how do i tell her that? cos you know, women are very sensitive one.

1 If the meet up really take place, does that mean closing the exit door if it ever happens

2 Any bros here kena like dat before and how to siam

thanks [:(]

Bro..you got enough firepower? e.g. condo, car..cash..if so..no worries, the in-laws will shut up..

Its not the current situation you should worry about. It's the future situation you should be concerned. Do you want in-laws who will let you and their daughter decide what you want out of your life...or in-laws that tells you what to do...from wedding plans to when to give birth...down to what colour should your future baby wear.

Try this, tell the girl NO, not the right time. If she continue to see you, it means she has a mind of her own. If she doesn't, either her parents forbade it (and you should really avoid this kinda of dominating in laws) or she is not neutral at all and is taking advantage of her parents' call to meet you.

Again, I dont think i have been clear enough. she has a mind of her own, in fact, she is maintaining slience to access and observe my reaction to the request, like what i told some of the bros earlier. she's a smart one!! [:(]

in all seriouness, bro, the father might be the tough nut to crack.

being a police officer, he can read your character faster than anyone else, and if u wan to hide or act blur, it's going to be tough.

Some tips to note;

Dont talk politics with the father unless he starts the topic. The old civil servants have their own way of thinking about our garment.

Go read up some famous SG crimes in the past, so that u appear to be knowledgable, in case the father talks about his past.

Don't lie too much, coz the father can catch your lies. If you used to have 10 galfriends, just admit it. [laugh]

wow, thanks bro, good points you have raised.

thats the exact reason why i choose to siam. 1st, I cannot even lie well, 2nd there is more than one party observing me (parents and gf) jialak, i am dealing with a bunch of professionals here man!! [bigcry]

speaking from experience [laugh]

haha, share your experiences leh, if its too private, pm me, we can cry together.haha

Again, I dont think i have been clear enough. she has a mind of her own, in fact, she is maintaining slience to access and observe my reaction to the request, like what i told some of the bros earlier. she's a smart one!! [:(]

You are clear bro...my fault I am not clear. She is using her parents to convey her own thinking.

I teach you this, you use the same trick on her. Tell her yes, let's meet the parents. Then tell her you are happy that the r/s has advanced to the next stage. To celebrate, you want to plan a short weekend getaway to Phuket with her. And we all know what a weekend getaway entails. If she tells you too early, just tell her you thought she share the same wavelength as you since you are meeting the parents already.