Deucedude Neutral Newbie March 5, 2012 Share March 5, 2012 Hi guys, I have a problem here. My partner's parents are presurring me to meet up with them, but the thing is, we are barely officially together for 2 weeks and I am not even sure if the r/s will end up well. In short, experimenting stage. Her parents from what I heard is the very old fashion kind and any meet ups will imply that we are heading towrads something very serious like marriage. That scares me. but i understand from their view point as well cos my partner is not young anymore (30 this year). I also do not want to put my partner in a spot be it now or if it doesnt work out in the future yet how do i tell her that? cos you know, women are very sensitive one. 1 If the meet up really take place, does that mean closing the exit door if it ever happens 2 Any bros here kena like dat before and how to siam thanks ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jman888 Moderator March 5, 2012 Share March 5, 2012 take them to hawker centre Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Deucedude Neutral Newbie March 5, 2012 Author Share March 5, 2012 take them to hawker centre Whats the diff, the meet up be it in rest, in kopitiam or house will still take place. better to advise me how to siam. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jman888 Moderator March 5, 2012 Share March 5, 2012 Whats the diff, the meet up be it in rest, in kopitiam or house will still take place. better to advise me how to siam. hawker centre can siam easier or divert the topic depends on the surrounding. Restaurant quite exclusive and quiet, they will talk and ask you more question. House ............. [wave] Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Celicar Turbocharged March 5, 2012 Share March 5, 2012 I think it is best to get it out of the way, if it keeps the peace with your gf. Just bite the bullet and burn those few hours. It is as much a chance for them to size you up as it is for you to size them up. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Deucedude Neutral Newbie March 5, 2012 Author Share March 5, 2012 hawker centre can siam easier or divert the topic depends on the surrounding. Restaurant quite exclusive and quiet, they will talk and ask you more question. House ............. [wave] haha thats true, but I still prefer to avoid totally or at least drag. any tips? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Silver_blade Turbocharged March 5, 2012 Share March 5, 2012 No harm meeting up with them. Meeting them doesn't mean cannot break up if it doesn't work out. Just treat it as meeting GF's friends for dinner. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Roh96 6th Gear March 5, 2012 Share March 5, 2012 Sound to me that your gf is more ready and steady than u. Are u serious with her? If u are, i don't think there is a need to siam. Are u more concern with exit of this r/s or into it? When my wife(back then gf) brought me to see her parents, i was more happy than worry. It shows she is serious with this relationship. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Calvin79 2nd Gear March 5, 2012 Share March 5, 2012 Hi guys, I have a problem here. My partner's parents are presurring me to meet up with them, but the thing is, we are barely officially together for 2 weeks and I am not even sure if the r/s will end up well. In short, experimenting stage. Her parents from what I heard is the very old fashion kind and any meet ups will imply that we are heading towrads something very serious like marriage. That scares me. but i understand from their view point as well cos my partner is not young anymore (30 this year). I also do not want to put my partner in a spot be it now or if it doesnt work out in the future yet how do i tell her that? cos you know, women are very sensitive one. 1 If the meet up really take place, does that mean closing the exit door if it ever happens 2 Any bros here kena like dat before and how to siam thanks When one day u decide to break up... u break up with her... not her parents leh... funny question you are asking... not like u going for ROM tml and cant make up ur mind today... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jman888 Moderator March 5, 2012 Share March 5, 2012 Sound to me that your gf is more ready and steady than u. Are u serious with her? If u are, i don't think there is a need to siam. Are u more concern with exit of this r/s or into it? When my wife(back then gf) brought me to see her parents, i was more happy than worry. It shows she is serious with this relationship. happy? did her father show you their landed property deed and ready to fill your name in? [laugh] Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Deucedude Neutral Newbie March 5, 2012 Author Share March 5, 2012 I think it is best to get it out of the way, if it keeps the peace with your gf. Just bite the bullet and burn those few hours. It is as much a chance for them to size you up as it is for you to size them up. my gf is smart, and is keeping quiet over the whole issue. i think she is waiting to see my reaction to find out how serious i am. how ah? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jman888 Moderator March 5, 2012 Share March 5, 2012 haha thats true, but I still prefer to avoid totally or at least drag. any tips? i duno, during my time i met them when i was doing homework at her place [laugh] Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Icebrush79 4th Gear March 5, 2012 Share March 5, 2012 Hi guys, I have a problem here. My partner's parents are presurring me to meet up with them, but the thing is, we are barely officially together for 2 weeks and I am not even sure if the r/s will end up well. In short, experimenting stage. Her parents from what I heard is the very old fashion kind and any meet ups will imply that we are heading towrads something very serious like marriage. That scares me. but i understand from their view point as well cos my partner is not young anymore (30 this year). I also do not want to put my partner in a spot be it now or if it doesnt work out in the future yet how do i tell her that? cos you know, women are very sensitive one. 1 If the meet up really take place, does that mean closing the exit door if it ever happens 2 Any bros here kena like dat before and how to siam thanks I pity your situation friend... 2 weeks is just the begining of the fact finding stage, that's barely enough for any long term commitment !! goodness !! How long were you guys dating before being an official couple? But I guess it pretty hard for you to siam since the folks are adamant about the meetup. Just go with it then, but make sure that your partner is mature enough to understand that you're doing it out of respect for her rather than casting your future marriage in stone. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rainbowbiatch 6th Gear March 5, 2012 Share March 5, 2012 my gf is smart, and is keeping quiet over the whole issue. i think she is waiting to see my reaction to find out how serious i am. how ah? u hv to go either way la.. how many times can u avoid? just go lor.. meet does not equate to must marry.. go for casual dinner.. coffeeshop eat tze char. mai stress la.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Deucedude Neutral Newbie March 5, 2012 Author Share March 5, 2012 Sound to me that your gf is more ready and steady than u. Are u serious with her? If u are, i don't think there is a need to siam. Are u more concern with exit of this r/s or into it? When my wife(back then gf) brought me to see her parents, i was more happy than worry. It shows she is serious with this relationship. seriously speaking, its not that i am not serious, but barely 2 weeks? ok i know her for about 3 months before being official, but its still too early to determine if its for the long term. I dont wan to be caught in awkard situations when the overly concerned parents starts drilling down to details. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Maxus-MIFA9 Supersonic March 5, 2012 Share March 5, 2012 Hi guys, I have a problem here. My partner's parents are presurring me to meet up with them, but the thing is, we are barely officially together for 2 weeks and I am not even sure if the r/s will end up well. In short, experimenting stage. Her parents from what I heard is the very old fashion kind and any meet ups will imply that we are heading towrads something very serious like marriage. That scares me. but i understand from their view point as well cos my partner is not young anymore (30 this year). I also do not want to put my partner in a spot be it now or if it doesnt work out in the future yet how do i tell her that? cos you know, women are very sensitive one. 1 If the meet up really take place, does that mean closing the exit door if it ever happens 2 Any bros here kena like dat before and how to siam thanks hur... barely meet 2 wks and already want to meet in-laws.... too early or not, wait another few more months lar unless you have piak paik her and caught by her parents ... .. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jman888 Moderator March 5, 2012 Share March 5, 2012 my gf is smart, and is keeping quiet over the whole issue. i think she is waiting to see my reaction to find out how serious i am. how ah? wrong thread title, why you call them IN LAW already ? [confused] Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tigerwoods Turbocharged March 5, 2012 Share March 5, 2012 Hi guys, I have a problem here. My partner's parents are presurring me to meet up with them, but the thing is, we are barely officially together for 2 weeks and I am not even sure if the r/s will end up well. In short, experimenting stage. Her parents from what I heard is the very old fashion kind and any meet ups will imply that we are heading towrads something very serious like marriage. That scares me. but i understand from their view point as well cos my partner is not young anymore (30 this year). I also do not want to put my partner in a spot be it now or if it doesnt work out in the future yet how do i tell her that? cos you know, women are very sensitive one. 1 If the meet up really take place, does that mean closing the exit door if it ever happens 2 Any bros here kena like dat before and how to siam thanks You not even Married to her and your title is Meeting IN LAWs? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...