Caution for those entering JB with <3/4 full tank

Z_Dash

  On 5/23/2012 at 11:37 AM, GemLeo said:

bro, my car has 60litres tank. first 1/4 can pump more than 20 litres..

if even more slightly below the 3/4 mark, i can pump 30litres.

usually i top up about 2-3 litres more after first click.

i can hit 300km by the time needle reaches 3/4 mark.

for a rough guide, using msian ron97 (RM2.90 /2.44 = SGD1.19) and sg esso 98 after 17%? discount (SGD1.85)

for every litre of ron97 you pump, you save around SGD0.66

similarly, for msian 95 (RM1.90 /2.44 = SGD0.78), sg esso 95 after 17%? discount (SGD1.74)

for every litre of ron95 you pump, you save around SGD0.96

suppose i go in pump 7 times per month

that's [sGD1.20 + RM2.90 /2.44] x 7 = SGD16.70

i use more than 200 litres per month. that's a savings of >SGD 132 for ron97 or >SGD192 of ron95.

I would have saved enough for my car tax and insurance at the end of the year. LOL

all figures are estimated, excluding the wear and tear of your car and the time spend to go JB.

the distance used to go in JB is already taken into account during the calculation (i.e. 300km)

really all depends on your perception and priorities... no such thing this way is worthwhile, that way is not worthwhile.

i can spend more than 1 hr a day to surf internet and MCF.

On the other hand, I can also go in JB pump and come back in less than 1hr. i don't have to do this everyday.

it's all just my own opinion, really.

thanks for your detailed info, me not debating with anyone just like to understand abit more coz i heard from many who does it~

if u have a 60L tank, interesting to pump over 20L for 1/4 leh~ does it mean u can hit over 1000km if u empty a full tank~? thats quite amazing fc to me~

i have a 100L tank but most times i full with 85L averaging 5 visits/mth~ for me, theres no way for me to cover my tax~ hehe..

u have a point on internet usage huh~ cheers! :D

to be honest for my car not worth it. Due to funny shaped tank my 1st 1/4 at most hit 100 km nia... but i everytime about 2/3 go in. if tio stop will try to reason my way out that not every tank shape is equal haha

On 5/23/2012 at 12:43 PM, Otoko said:

thanks for your detailed info, me not debating with anyone just like to understand abit more coz i heard from many who does it~

if u have a 60L tank, interesting to pump over 20L for 1/4 leh~ does it mean u can hit over 1000km if u empty a full tank~? thats quite amazing fc to me~

i have a 100L tank but most times i full with 85L averaging 5 visits/mth~ for me, theres no way for me to cover my tax~ hehe..

u have a point on internet usage huh~ cheers! :D

forums about sharing own reviews and experiences.. not debating la. we learn from each other.

some things just take it like a pinch of salt.

my tank is probably an hourglass lol.. with a narrow in between. it gets down really fast from 3/4 to 1/4. so it won't hit 1000km. when low fuel warning comes up. i can barely top up 50litres... i would have probably hit 600km.

just downsized from 225/45/17 to 16" shoes.. fc will get better.. haha. but right foot getting heavier.. tsk tsk

bro, what car has a 100L tank? that's a heavy car.. i doubt fc is good

On 5/23/2012 at 12:14 PM, Zippaboy said:

care to share which car?

3/4 can pump 30 litres and fuel consumption is good too!

bro no lah.. it's very slightly below 3/4, to hit 30 litres... lol

On 5/23/2012 at 2:11 PM, Rubbermat said:

cheapskate. No $ fill up your gas tank in S'pore?

cheapskate?? maybe, probably...

i not happy contributing to the petrol taxes, thats why.... -_-

On 5/24/2012 at 3:50 PM, Hamburger said:

cheapskate?? maybe, probably...

i not happy contributing to the petrol taxes, thats why.... -_-

Here, everything needs tax. Your income, property, car & etc. You can choose what you want to pay. Period.

Rubber - To each their own decision, what make sense to you, doesnt make sense to others

vice-versa, what makes sense to others doesnt make sense to you, not point come in only fry ppl say ppl cheapskate..

On 5/23/2012 at 9:32 AM, Sunnyday76 said:

Hi all bros, just to share my experience. I went in on a weekday in the mid-afternoon with 1/4 tank left last week, and kan si lang suah tio the tank check. Fine $100 for 1st-time. Paid by NETS. I didn't bother to argue much coz nothing to argue since it's a clear-cut case when the bloodie meter is too low. However, my advise to all bros here is that if u intend to hiong, do try to pump up to at least slightly above 1/2 tank. My personal take is that when your tank is less than 3/4 but still above half-tank, still got 50/50 chance that the officer can pan zhang u close one eye, or that u can still try to argue ur way thru depending on the officer's mood.

Just curious does this still hold true? needle at more than 1/2 tank but less than 3/4 ICA let you go?

I have been going into JB almost every alternate week, always make sure I have 3/4 tank but never encounter any fuel gauge check.

... balls start growing back to normal size wonder if above 1/2 tank below 3/4 is still within ICA's tolerance? :p

Bro,

Don't play play with ICA, I go in once a week for work as we have a sister company in JB. Occasionally I kena before but I always maintain 3/4 tank not worth the risk and fine.

  On 8/25/2015 at 6:42 AM, yrh0413 said:

Just curious does this still hold true? needle at more than 1/2 tank but less than 3/4 ICA let you go?

I have been going into JB almost every alternate week, always make sure I have 3/4 tank but never encounter any fuel gauge check.

... balls start growing back to normal size wonder if above 1/2 tank below 3/4 is still within ICA's tolerance? :p

For my case, yes. Been checked several times, as long as above half, they close one eye. Certain car go by bar one like Vios. Hard to pin point exact half or exact 3/4.

I always drive in with 3/4. why take the risk ? But then again, I only have been checked once and I'll go "Shouldn't have pumped petrol" :D

  On 8/25/2015 at 7:32 AM, Othello said:

I always drive in with 3/4. why take the risk ? But then again, I only have been checked once and I'll go "Shouldn't have pumped petrol" :D

They giving leeway is also because of the constant jam at the causeway. 1 hour jam from 3/4 can drop close to half.

On 8/25/2015 at 7:51 AM, Zxcvb said:

They giving leeway is also because of the constant jam at the causeway. 1 hour jam from 3/4 can drop close to half.

Hmm... hatching a plan...

1. Check LTA website observe traffic condition.

2. If no jam, go pump 3/4 tank.

3. Else if got jam, drive to customs with less than 3/4 tank.

Correct? :=B:

  On 8/25/2015 at 7:56 AM, yrh0413 said:

Hmm... hatching a plan...

1. Check LTA website observe traffic condition.

2. If no jam, go pump 3/4 tank.

3. Else if got jam, drive to customs with less than 3/4 tank.

Correct? :=B:

Lol. Tell me which person in his right mind will check got jam then go in?? [hur]

Conclusion is go in 3/4, confirm safe. If have jam, drop less than 3/4 they won't mind. But of course don't drop less than half lah. Several times they wave me on less than 3/4, more than half.

  On 5/23/2012 at 12:14 PM, Zippaboy said:

care to share which car?

3/4 can pump 30 litres and fuel consumption is good too!

Wish -

Our first 1/4 tank is consistently over 250km

BTW - an "average" BNB car will use 1.5-3 litres per HOUR in a jam - so if you are using 1/4 tank in a jam, it is the mother of all jams. (even 3 hours is lucky to reach a 1/4 tank)

I wouldn't use that excuse - I bet the officers have heard it umpteen times

Was entering thru Woodlands last Fri and can see 2 of the cars infront was checked, both are just small saloon cars, 1 of the car was pull to the side and I was thinking, poor guy, tio liao.... when it come to my turns, the officer just give me a hand sign to move without checking at my fuel guage.Think ICA conducted random checks, not 100%