Caution for those entering JB with <3/4 full tank

Z_Dash

any kind souls going in JB in 1 hour time can update any checkings? :D

Mai hiong lah if u are worried.... Get catch can pay by nets, cash or credit card.. Also can pay via AXS 2 months later..

4th Gear

Sorry need to hijack this thread.

My friends and I are thinking of hiring a passenger van and drives to M'sia.

May I know if there's any permit needed? And any special lanes for such vans or do we use the bus lane at Woodlands Checkpoint?

And also would the passengers need to get down and pass thru' checkpoints or can just sit inside the van just like cars while clearing checkpoints?

Tried to search on LTA and ICA but can't find any info.....

I will wave to them [wave][wave][wave]

So if you see a sai quai loh driving a wish waving like crazy - run a mile [:(]

I dun mind sticking close. :D

We go in together the next time round? :ph34r:

Sorry need to hijack this thread.

My friends and I are thinking of hiring a passenger van and drives to M'sia.

May I know if there's any permit needed? And any special lanes for such vans or do we use the bus lane at Woodlands Checkpoint?

And also would the passengers need to get down and pass thru' checkpoints or can just sit inside the van just like cars while clearing checkpoints?

Tried to search on LTA and ICA but can't find any info.....

P plate and G plate cannot enter Malaysia without a permit. Better and maybe cheaper to cross causeway and rent a passenger van in JB.

Better still, get the passenger van to come into SG and pick you and your friends up at a common meetup place, then sent you to JB, drop off the driver, you and take-over the van!

yup that shell after customs works bad on both my car and gf's car. tried before shell at sentosa, marginally better but still jialat. feels like 92 also.

in the end i tried esso near KSL, feel much more poewrful though. since then never turned back-

Too many customers.... I usually go to the BHP, I have tested that BHP petrols Ron95 give better mileage...

lets say average car with 60L tank, been wondering what advantages for 1/4 tank in sg~? ard 15L = ard S$30 - eg. high fc: 15km/L - 15x15=225km

for a low mileage user with daily of 50km/225km = 4days, which means every 4 days this driver has to go thru the cycle of maintaining 3/4 tank, queueing thru customs, if suay knn custom checks, if suay knn msian tp checks... not forgetting ica entry & msian entry charges rite?

1/4 tank in sg - $30

1/4 tank in my - $18 (est. exchange rate)

sg/my entry - $4 (est.)

so in summary hor:

$30 - $18 = $12 differences

$12 - $4 = $8

so i wonder if there is any sg car going thru such hassles for afew $ difference~? :huh:

lets say average car with 60L tank, been wondering what advantages for 1/4 tank in sg~? ard 15L = ard S$30 - eg. high fc: 15km/L - 15x15=225km

for a low mileage user with daily of 50km/225km = 4days, which means every 4 days this driver has to go thru the cycle of maintaining 3/4 tank, queueing thru customs, if suay knn custom checks, if suay knn msian tp checks... not forgetting ica entry & msian entry charges rite?

1/4 tank in sg - $30

sg/my entry - $4 (est.)

so in summary hor:

$12 - $4 = $8

so i wonder if there is any sg car going thru such hassles for afew $ difference~? :huh:

as a fact its clear, only some will do that.

but most will go for 1/4 to enter borleh land.

if i go in 1/4 i can pump 45 liters of petrol sum to a total of 130RM where in sgp its 90+ sgd.

cost savings. rather time consuming and risk taking.

as a fact its clear, only some will do that.

but most will go for 1/4 to enter borleh land.

if i go in 1/4 i can pump 45 liters of petrol sum to a total of 130RM where in sgp its 90+ sgd.

cost savings. rather time consuming and risk taking.

hmm.. sorry, i dont get u~ do u mean u are willing to risk with 1/4 in tank thru immigation~?

Yes that is exactly what he means. The more you pump, the more you save.

hang on, so do u mean he meant that he is willing to risk custom 3/4 fine of S$100 with 1/4 tank into msia for 45L-RM130 (S$60) when he does it in sg at S$90+ and differences of S$30+? thanks.

Hi all bros, just to share my experience. I went in on a weekday in the mid-afternoon with 1/4 tank left last week, and kan si lang suah tio the tank check. Fine $100 for 1st-time. Paid by NETS. I didn't bother to argue much coz nothing to argue since it's a clear-cut case when the bloodie meter is too low. However, my advise to all bros here is that if u intend to hiong, do try to pump up to at least slightly above 1/2 tank. My personal take is that when your tank is less than 3/4 but still above half-tank, still got 50/50 chance that the officer can pan zhang u close one eye, or that u can still try to argue ur way thru depending on the officer's mood.

4th Gear

Thanks bro........but I came back 2 weeks ago liao....... [laugh]

We rent a van with driver provided and the van is registered with a normal car license plate. Thus no problem going into M'sia..... [drivingcar]

recent months many new birds... obey the rules.. i doubt they close one eye.

even customs check.. they also take a little longer.

but tuas usually on the ball. lol

1/4 tank in sg - $30

sg/my entry - $4 (est.)

so in summary hor:

$12 - $4 = $8

bro, my car has 60litres tank. first 1/4 can pump more than 20 litres..

if even more slightly below the 3/4 mark, i can pump 30litres.

usually i top up about 2-3 litres more after first click.

i can hit 300km by the time needle reaches 3/4 mark.

for a rough guide, using msian ron97 (RM2.90 /2.44 = SGD1.19) and sg esso 98 after 17%? discount (SGD1.85)

for every litre of ron97 you pump, you save around SGD0.66

similarly, for msian 95 (RM1.90 /2.44 = SGD0.78), sg esso 95 after 17%? discount (SGD1.74)

for every litre of ron95 you pump, you save around SGD0.96

suppose i go in pump 7 times per month

that's [sGD1.20 + RM2.90 /2.44] x 7 = SGD16.70

i use more than 200 litres per month. that's a savings of >SGD 132 for ron97 or >SGD192 of ron95.

I would have saved enough for my car tax and insurance at the end of the year. LOL

all figures are estimated, excluding the wear and tear of your car and the time spend to go JB.

the distance used to go in JB is already taken into account during the calculation (i.e. 300km)

really all depends on your perception and priorities... no such thing this way is worthwhile, that way is not worthwhile.

i can spend more than 1 hr a day to surf internet and MCF.

On the other hand, I can also go in JB pump and come back in less than 1hr. i don't have to do this everyday.

it's all just my own opinion, really.

bro, my car has 60litres tank. first 1/4 can pump more than 20 litres..

if even more slightly below the 3/4 mark, i can pump 30litres.

usually i top up about 2-3 litres more after first click.

i can hit 300km by the time needle reaches 3/4 mark.

for a rough guide, using msian ron97 (RM2.90 /2.44 = SGD1.19) and sg esso 98 after 17%? discount (SGD1.85)

for every litre of ron97 you pump, you save around SGD0.66

similarly, for msian 95 (RM1.90 /2.44 = SGD0.78), sg esso 95 after 17%? discount (SGD1.74)

for every litre of ron95 you pump, you save around SGD0.96

suppose i go in pump 7 times per month

that's [sGD1.20 + RM2.90 /2.44] x 7 = SGD16.70

i use more than 200 litres per month. that's a savings of >SGD 132 for ron97 or >SGD192 of ron95.

I would have saved enough for my car tax and insurance at the end of the year. LOL

all figures are estimated, excluding the wear and tear of your car and the time spend to go JB.

the distance used to go in JB is already taken into account during the calculation (i.e. 300km)

really all depends on your perception and priorities... no such thing this way is worthwhile, that way is not worthwhile.

i can spend more than 1 hr a day to surf internet and MCF.

On the other hand, I can also go in JB pump and come back in less than 1hr. i don't have to do this everyday.

it's all just my own opinion, really.

care to share which car?

3/4 can pump 30 litres and fuel consumption is good too!

if only just for petrol den not worth la. but for supper/car wash/massage/car wash/special den worth LOL

ahh~ finally i see some 'worth it' reason la~ [:p]