West_end Neutral Newbie March 3, 2012 Share March 3, 2012 Read this somewhere... Making a point to always try to live simply. I don't need a lot of stuff. Society makes us think we do, but I don't. I don't have a lot of money but I get by just fine. I'm able to pay the bills, eat pretty healthily, get myself a few things here and there. I don't buy into technology, wasting money on iPads, smartphones & stuff that is not needed. I like living this way because I'm rarely ever stressed out worrying if I'm going to have enough money or something. I've made my life simple and never been happier. There're others who spend their lives trying to get the better job title, making more money, wishing for more money, buying huge homes with space they don't use and struggling to pay the house payments. Buying 'new and better' cars, filling their closets with clothes, shoes, buying 'better' tvs. Filling their homes with stuff and more stuff... they've the high when it first happens, then it goes away and they're depressed again. They're always wanting more, thinking the next thing will be the thing to make them happy again. They spend their time on looks. They spend their time trying to keep from being 'bored' by constantly watching tv, stay on the computer, texting, tweeting... I've seen people who can't do nothing for five minutes, they have to take out their phone and play with it. They have no clue how to be alone with their true selves. It is sad what these people miss out on. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Without_a_car Clutched March 3, 2012 Share March 3, 2012 not many can free their mind Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
RadX Moderator March 3, 2012 Share March 3, 2012 It is but a choice that one has to make to relaly live simply. Yes, we can definitely do this, but how many can really let go? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jamesc Hypersonic March 3, 2012 Share March 3, 2012 I've seen people who can't do nothing for five minutes 5 minutes? I have colleagues who can do nothing for hours! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Csnewbie 1st Gear March 3, 2012 Share March 3, 2012 5 minutes? I have colleagues who can do nothing for hours! ur boss need new colleague? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Piyopico Supercharged March 3, 2012 Share March 3, 2012 My doggies oso live very simply. Sleep and sleep and sleep and eat and pee and s--t...... Fetch ball, scratch scratch, stare ....... Sleep again. Hey, it's a dog life. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jamesc Hypersonic March 3, 2012 Share March 3, 2012 ur boss need new colleague? just send your resume, HR is always looking for more people who do nothing. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Raymondism Twincharged March 3, 2012 Share March 3, 2012 Read this somewhere... Making a point to always try to live simply. I don't need a lot of stuff. Society makes us think we do, but I don't. I don't have a lot of money but I get by just fine. I'm able to pay the bills, eat pretty healthily, get myself a few things here and there. I don't buy into technology, wasting money on iPads, smartphones & stuff that is not needed. I like living this way because I'm rarely ever stressed out worrying if I'm going to have enough money or something. I've made my life simple and never been happier. There're others who spend their lives trying to get the better job title, making more money, wishing for more money, buying huge homes with space they don't use and struggling to pay the house payments. Buying 'new and better' cars, filling their closets with clothes, shoes, buying 'better' tvs. Filling their homes with stuff and more stuff... they've the high when it first happens, then it goes away and they're depressed again. They're always wanting more, thinking the next thing will be the thing to make them happy again. They spend their time on looks. They spend their time trying to keep from being 'bored' by constantly watching tv, stay on the computer, texting, tweeting... I've seen people who can't do nothing for five minutes, they have to take out their phone and play with it. They have no clue how to be alone with their true selves. It is sad what these people miss out on. think i m 5% there i stay 3rm hdb resale flat... buy 2nd hand cars... i never go for latest models... am thinking of downgrading my job.... on hand got a few debts: Debts to parents, debts to friends, debt to iras (income tax), car loan repayment and credit card bills (which i clear monthly)... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Raymondism Twincharged March 3, 2012 Share March 3, 2012 My doggies oso live very simply. Sleep and sleep and sleep and eat and pee and s--t...... Fetch ball, scratch scratch, stare ....... Sleep again. Hey, it's a dog life. different.. dogs dun hv the choice.... to do many things... your dogs did not choose to be your pets Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Donut Supercharged March 3, 2012 Share March 3, 2012 Read my signature.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Maroon5 5th Gear March 3, 2012 Share March 3, 2012 5 minutes? I have colleagues who can do nothing for hours! its all very familiar.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Irene Neutral Newbie March 3, 2012 Share March 3, 2012 But life is never simple. Like it or not Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Maroon5 5th Gear March 3, 2012 Share March 3, 2012 not many can free their mind tats right. until one life changing event happens, we wil cont to pursue blindly this society matrix. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Raymondism Twincharged March 3, 2012 Share March 3, 2012 tats right. until one life changing event happens, we wil cont to pursue blindly this society matrix. must ask the question: Who am I? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tigerwoods Turbocharged March 3, 2012 Share March 3, 2012 West End, It is hard to explain to Sporeans about living simply. To someone Living Simply is, a Mulitmillionaire, who has an iPad, drives an expensive Cabrio, living in a GCB, owning Country Club memberships, sailing in his own yacht, and draped in fine linen as compared to Multibillionaire who has a diamond studded iPad, chauffeured in a Bentley, living in a castle, owning Country Clubs, sailing in his Ocean Liner and draped in Finest Linen. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Piyopico Supercharged March 3, 2012 Share March 3, 2012 must ask the question: Who am I? The correct question is What is my purpose on earth? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Raymondism Twincharged March 3, 2012 Share March 3, 2012 (edited) The correct question is What is my purpose on earth? if u dunno who you really are, how to know your purpose? anyway, see my signature.. the one in english... Edited March 3, 2012 by Raymondism Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Neutralsg 5th Gear March 3, 2012 Share March 3, 2012 Is to simply live. It is all about the level of contentment of each individual's lot. It can be a blessing to reach a stage where $$$ or material wealth is no longer a priority. Have a nice and weekend! ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...