Rncw 5th Gear March 1, 2012 Share March 1, 2012 hello all picanto owners, my sister got one picanto 1.1 auto i think, she complaint that going at 85km/h the car feels like floating, other than changing to larger rims and wider tyres, any other remedies? i think its 13 or 14 inches rims.... thanks in advance for all inputs! ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vision86 Neutral Newbie March 1, 2012 Share March 1, 2012 change new shocks Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jamesc Hypersonic March 1, 2012 Share March 1, 2012 Get a fat boyfriend. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rncw 5th Gear March 1, 2012 Author Share March 1, 2012 Get a fat boyfriend. hallo...people old lady liao lah...husband and kids got own car liao Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rncw 5th Gear March 1, 2012 Author Share March 1, 2012 change new shocks shocks? will affect meh...i haven't seen the car yet....let me try out and see Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pocus Turbocharged March 1, 2012 Share March 1, 2012 2nd-hand picanto? maybe alignment off liao? Can check her steering got vibrate? Check wheel balancing or tyre wear even? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
MrFlax Neutral Newbie March 1, 2012 Share March 1, 2012 (edited) 2 types if floating feeling, is it up and down or sideways? up and down can do the following: spoiler bodykit lower springs harder shocks sideways: wider tyres (very effective!!) Edited March 1, 2012 by MrFlax Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tohto Hypersonic March 1, 2012 Share March 1, 2012 My father is driving a Picanto, for the car size and weight. I feel that it is very stable even travel at 100km/h sometimes when I drive it. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bigbadguy 1st Gear March 1, 2012 Share March 1, 2012 1st Check the alignment. Think like what you mention, changing tyre and rim is a good solution if she wants the comfort. Maybe 15" rims and couple with a 195/50/15 tyre or 195/55/15 for more comfort provided can clear fender. Don't go too large a rim cost you won't want to tax the 1.1L engine too much, For lowering spring and coilover, she will lose the comfort. so not very advisable. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kangadrool Supersonic March 1, 2012 Share March 1, 2012 There's a thread on Picanto speeding and weaving in and out of traffic, steady poon pipi that upset one wowo driver. So, cannot be so floaty one lah. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kangadrool Supersonic March 1, 2012 Share March 1, 2012 (edited) 1st Check the alignment. Think like what you mention, changing tyre and rim is a good solution if she wants the comfort. Maybe 15" rims and couple with a 195/50/15 tyre or 195/55/15 for more comfort provided can clear fender. Don't go too large a rim cost you won't want to tax the 1.1L engine too much, For lowering spring and coilover, she will lose the comfort. so not very advisable. Car is too light, tyres may not grip with such wide tyres. Contrary to popular believe, it's better to stick to stock size rather than upsize. Edited March 1, 2012 by Kangadrool Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Watwheels Supersonic March 1, 2012 Share March 1, 2012 Change car lah. Merc C class. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Aaron_soh80 1st Gear March 1, 2012 Share March 1, 2012 hello all picanto owners, my sister got one picanto 1.1 auto i think, she complaint that going at 85km/h the car feels like floating, other than changing to larger rims and wider tyres, any other remedies? i think its 13 or 14 inches rims.... thanks in advance for all inputs! someone had already mention it is make of korean tin can.. better ask her to change car.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Edwardthy 1st Gear March 1, 2012 Share March 1, 2012 Ask your sister to change to volvo. The body is harder. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hamburger Hypersonic March 1, 2012 Share March 1, 2012 Ask your sister to change to volvo. The body is harder. and able to withstand higher crash test against pica............ Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
SimonTan 2nd Gear March 1, 2012 Share March 1, 2012 Install a front lower spoiler will solve the issue. The floating feeling is due to the bottom pressurized air lifting the car upwards. This phenomen was prevalent in many 80's car. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vhtfhwlego Supercharged March 2, 2012 Share March 2, 2012 The first thought on my mind is Picanto floating in bedok reservoir... "floating" can be caused from wheel alignment, bad condition &/or too much/little air pressure of the tires, super worn out shocks/springs, driver... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vhtfhwlego Supercharged March 2, 2012 Share March 2, 2012 2 types if floating feeling, is it up and down or sideways? up and down can do the following: spoiler bodykit lower springs harder shocks sideways: wider tyres (very effective!!) TS avatar represent what type of floating? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...