Ms Low Yen Ling "hit the nail on her head"

Yewheng

Think she is saying the economy remains the priority as this policy remains THE way to create wealth. Err... does this mean the only rich, elite and FTs will continue to benefit from this priority and the rest of us to get bigger crumbs?

Thats what PM said when he first entered politics. His only concern for those who are graduates from recognised universities (and certain wealthy people)?

Does that mean PAP was wrong in their policies last time to realise it now..people come first? I prefer slower growth, less people, more space and simplier life as compare to now with IR,Glam and Expensive concept...Phew!

I believe their dundamental cullture is still to apply/choose the most expensive methods/solutions. [shakehead]

People come 1st also has its bad point, I mean government cannot please everyone, and if government keep set policies to please people, naturally people will demand more and more from the government. ( this is not healthy )

Yes, people is still of government concern, but economy should be the one above it.

I believe you are aware people determine the economy. Just look around and compare among the different people, the different economies. [:p]

yesterday morning got the chance WP chen sao mao spoke on CNA,

basically he was saying set more stringent FT quotas on certain industries where there are more singaporeans such as biomedical, high tech engineering etc.

although easier said than done, i believe it is the way to go instead of the government policy of 1 bill fits all.

anyway, i wonder why chen sao mao seems be smiling throughout his entire speech [sly]

Oops.. I read wrongly is Ms Low Yen Ling

haha, than it should be Ms Low Yen Ling hit the nail on her head.

How to ask admin to change topic to " Ms Low Yen Ling hit the nail on her head " ??

-------------------------------------------

While you are at it, please also ask admin to change topic to " Ms Low Yen Ling hit the nail on its head", and not "on her head". Why would she want to hurt herself?

what she mean is if singapore economy not good. we will be like zimbawee... where the poor get even worse cause no money even to give goody lah.

A bit extreme, but i think extreme example easier to understand.

Everything need to be balanced.

To me, if SG maintains a slow and steady growth, it will be better and sustainable.

Let all the developed 1st world countries progress till they become too expensive for themselves, their economies will decline but in SG we will always be Work in Progress

Remember, the 1st will be last and the last will be 1st.

Everything need to be balanced.

To me, if SG maintains a slow and steady growth, it will be better and sustainable.

Let all the developed 1st world countries progress till they become too expensive for themselves, their economies will decline but in SG we will always be Work in Progress

Remember, the 1st will be last and the last will be 1st.

yap. unless we go back to the past system where the strong country get a tribute from the weak country. if not, there is no point been number 1 in the world.

i like this year's budget that is aimed at the right sector of our population. not everything can be summed up by numbers and stats, being poor is real and being challenged in life is real and if we do not see this issue as real and choose not to help even when our country is more than capable to lend a hand to this group of people then who else would? a policy should not be A or B (if we have the resources), it should be A and B and this is what makes singapore better and stronger as a nation.

dun run singapore like a company, it is not, it is a country.

The Confucian doctrine of mean ? 中庸之道 ?

I don't read Confucian doctrine..

Developed, 1st world - for what ?

The best run countries are those that do not want to be too disturb by economics and draw a 15 degs line on the Graph and not 45degs.

Look at Bhutan - happiest country in the world - what is the per capita ?

Look at USA, France, UK - walk into their Central Bank and open the vault door only got 1 piece of paper written IOU.

Bhutan maybe the among the last in the developed world, but surely it is the 1st in the real world.

yap. unless we go back to the past system where the strong country get a tribute from the weak country. if not, there is no point been number 1 in the world.

haha you talking about ancient china?

Ms Low is right. Singapore has to import everything from energy to food, from water to workers. Without which, most Singaporeans will not be able to get by with our basic daily needs. Therefore, economy has been the key to our survival. Just as how our ancestors were originally attracted here by the thriving trade and economy, from Java, from Ceylon, from Riau, from Canton, from Amoy, .. morals were less importance, when part of the trade were driven by opium and exploitation of labor.

However, priorities need to be set. If in order to survive, we have to sacrifice a significant part of own culture, a significant part of our values. Then we got to consider whether this is worth it. Maybe there is more than one way to survive ?

question is, at what cost and how far or how much do you want vs need?

we can have the highest gdp in the world and have the highest amt of reserves but whats the intent or the purpose? do we need that much? do we need to be #1?

if we are #1 at the expense of the common singaporean, would that be worth it?

our culture isn't multi-racial, we have a unique singaporean culture. us singaporeans can be found no where else in the world. even malaysians are not a perfect fit.

is diluting our culture to store a few more billions in the reserves worth it?

more importantly, the social ills - china PRCs, inflation, singaporean job losses, raising prices of everything

is that few more billion in reserves worth it? do we urgently need to keep money away that badly?

don't you think it'd be better if we are #2 and took a few more years to get that few billion to store in the reserves?

Ms Low Yen Ling...hmm quite chio and sweet.... [:p]

Chen Show Mao...best suggestion to date...make differentiations...for FTs....we definitely require more construction workers and rubbish collectors..top entrepreneurs to create good jobs and nobel prize winning scientists...what we do not need are the middle class arrogant and smug FTs who think they are a cut above the rest. [rifle]

Ms Low Yen Ling...hmm quite chio and sweet.... [:p]

Chen Show Mao...best suggestion to date...make differentiations...for FTs....we definitely require more construction workers and rubbish collectors..top entrepreneurs to create good jobs and nobel prize winning scientists...what we do not need are the middle class arrogant and smug FTs who think they are a cut above the rest. [rifle]

she is from NTU, and staying in Hall 3 during her time. year of birth should be 1974 :D

that makes her a Tiger Mummy MP......don't play play

Edited by Acemundo

i like this year's budget that is aimed at the right sector of our population. not everything can be summed up by numbers and stats, being poor is real and being challenged in life is real and if we do not see this issue as real and choose not to help even when our country is more than capable to lend a hand to this group of people then who else would? a policy should not be A or B (if we have the resources), it should be A and B and this is what makes singapore better and stronger as a nation.

dun run singapore like a company, it is not, it is a country.

This I fully agree! [thumbsup]