Ender Hypersonic March 1, 2012 Share March 1, 2012 yeah but not all chinese are buddhist. there are chinese christians, taoists and muslims as well! buddhism originated from india as well as hinduism. that's why i not sure if vesak day also has link to hinduism or not It seems when Tharman say each group has 2X holiday, these group not very well define, whether it's religion, or race... ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mcf777 Turbocharged March 1, 2012 Share March 1, 2012 whoever big day i dont care. i just need public holiday. Example : Qing Ming or Mooncake festival Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Acemundo Supercharged March 1, 2012 Share March 1, 2012 It seems when Tharman say each group has 2X holiday, these group not very well define, whether it's religion, or race... my guess is that is race but with some broad level generalisations that all malays are muslims (2 days) all chinese (2 days) all other race + christians (2 days) all indians (1+1{they are either muslims, hindus, buddhists or free thinkers) all buddhist (1 day) all free thinkers & other race (New Year+Labour Day+National Day) Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Windwaver Turbocharged March 1, 2012 Share March 1, 2012 It's not just the miserable number of public holidays in Singapore, some small companies only give 10 to 14 annual leave nia. That means 11+14=25 days . In some countries, public holidays alone more than 25 . Singapore is not a place to relax. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Acemundo Supercharged March 1, 2012 Share March 1, 2012 It's not just the miserable number of public holidays in Singapore, some small companies only give 10 to 14 annual leave nia. That means 11+14=25 days . In some countries, public holidays alone more than 25 . Singapore is not a place to relax. my brother's australian boss working in australia could be away from work for a whole month Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Joseph22 Turbocharged March 1, 2012 Share March 1, 2012 (edited) ah, that's why i think the holiday is not as meaningful as some thought. it was not christ birthday but birthday of sun god with a roman link to it it depend on how you view it actually. there is a verse in bible which say if you keep a certain day special for the lord it is okay. if you dont keep it for the lord it is also okay. and given that no one know the exact birthday of Jesus, i personally find it okay to celebrate it as his birthday and use it as a reminder. End of the day, depend on what is your view. if you celebrate it only because you think its a real birthday then it might not be as meaningful. but if you celebrate it as a remembrance of his birth and as a reminder to follow his example, i think it is meaningful. my personal opinon only. Edited March 1, 2012 by Joseph22 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Joseph22 Turbocharged March 1, 2012 Share March 1, 2012 St nicholas. He used to give money once a year to the poor or buy them clothes. But the giving itself is stated in the bible about the 3 wise men who visited him at the cradle thanks for the knowledge. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Acemundo Supercharged March 1, 2012 Share March 1, 2012 it depend on how you view it actually. there is a verse in bible which say if you keep a certain day special for the lord it is okay. if you dont keep it special it is also okay. and given that no one know the exact birthday of Jesus, i personally find it okay to celebrate it as his birthday and use it as a reminder. End of the day, depend on what is your view. if you celebrate it only because you think its a real birthday then it might not be as meaningful. but if you celebrate it as a remembrance of his birth and as a reminder to follow his example, i think it is meaningful. my personal opinon only. hehe i do agree with you. but a lot of the people were under the wrong impression it is his birthday and thus wrongly celebrated so. but if it is just a day earmarked to pay tribute, it makes perfect sense. second question - "mas" in Christmas stands for what? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Joseph22 Turbocharged March 1, 2012 Share March 1, 2012 (edited) hehe i do agree with you. but a lot of the people were under the wrong impression it is his birthday and thus wrongly celebrated so. but if it is just a day earmarked to pay tribute, it makes perfect sense. second question - "mas" in Christmas stands for what? this one must wiki liao lah English i very bad one. chinese very direct.. sen tan jie... Saint Birth Festival found it.. very chim http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Christmas Edited March 1, 2012 by Joseph22 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Acemundo Supercharged March 1, 2012 Share March 1, 2012 this one must wiki liao lah English i very bad one. chinese very direct.. sen tan jie... Saint Birth Festival found it.. very chim http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Christmas i find the chinese word 诞 used misleading that's why i say many celebrate the wrong thing. wiki says that it is to celebrate the birth also . but luckily the word mas is suppose to be mass. then i can agree to the meaning Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Joseph22 Turbocharged March 1, 2012 Share March 1, 2012 i find the chinese word 诞 used misleading that's why i say many celebrate the wrong thing. wiki says that it is to celebrate the birth also . but luckily the word mas is suppose to be mass. then i can agree to the meaning it is use to celebrate his birth correct mah. They also say that is not his actual birthday. Like I mention. Its a representation of his birthday as a reminder of him. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Acemundo Supercharged March 1, 2012 Share March 1, 2012 it is use to celebrate his birth correct mah. They also say that is not his actual birthday. Like I mention. Its a representation of his birthday as a reminder of him. hee i think it is more appropriate to say it is a day to commemorate or respect him than have any word that suggest it birth. unless of course they are using the figurative aspect of the word. but again, it would just give some people the wrong idea. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Joseph22 Turbocharged March 1, 2012 Share March 1, 2012 hee i think it is more appropriate to say it is a day to commemorate or respect him than have any word that suggest it birth. unless of course they are using the figurative aspect of the word. but again, it would just give some people the wrong idea. maybe U are right but the original intention was to treat it a his birthday celebration so had been pass down since then Liao. I know some christian refuse to celebrate christmas too because of the pagan background. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wishcumstrue 6th Gear March 1, 2012 Share March 1, 2012 my brother's australian boss working in australia could be away from work for a whole month What's that to do with public holiday here? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Acemundo Supercharged March 1, 2012 Share March 1, 2012 What's that to do with public holiday here? another brotherwas saying other country had more holidays ma.....so i am using the example to support la dey Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nlatio Turbocharged March 1, 2012 Share March 1, 2012 Cannot lar bro... if Chinese want to add...... fist day, 15th day of lunar calender, mooncake, dumpling, qingming, traditional 15days of CNY, "confuse" birthday, Jade emperor birthday, Goddess of Mercy birthday plus all the God birthday.... think company still owe us plenty of holiday without even working.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Scion Turbocharged March 1, 2012 Share March 1, 2012 my guess is that is race but with some broad level generalisations that all malays are muslims (2 days) all chinese (2 days) all other race + christians (2 days) all indians (1+1{they are either muslims, hindus, buddhists or free thinkers) all buddhist (1 day) all free thinkers & other race (New Year+Labour Day+National Day) come to think of it, Singapore has 7 official major religions so each major religion should have at least a holiday for their celebration of events... who agree? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Scion Turbocharged March 1, 2012 Share March 1, 2012 (edited) anyway talk so much also no use... money-faced govt always emphasizes on GDP (that's why the influx of foreigners in recent years... higher population -> higher workforce -> higher productivity -> higher GDP) any extra holidays will impact productivity Edited March 1, 2012 by Scion ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...