Jman888 Moderator February 29, 2012 Share February 29, 2012 2 days for each group and 1 Jan, 1 May and 9 Aug for all. If any group want to increase 1 more day, then other also need to do so, we will get 15 days can each group come out with one more? Chinese is easy Mooncake (中秋), 端午, 清明.... Existing public holidays strike a careful balance my paper Wednesday, Feb 29, 2012 THE existing 11 public holidays represent a "careful balancing of the interests amongst the various groups in our society", said Deputy Prime Minister Tharman Shanmugaratnam yesterday. It would be "sensible" to stick to these days, he added. Mr Tharman was replying to a question on whether Thaipusam would be gazetted as a public holiday. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Acemundo Supercharged February 29, 2012 Share February 29, 2012 in asian region, we are probably having the lower number of publci holidays if we compare ourselves to malaysia, hong kong, china. i doubt they will allow more chinese holidays like (中秋), 端午, 清明 firstly because they have to allocate more for other races/religions as well and secondly because singapore always want to make ourselves more attractive to investors and employers 2 days for each group and 1 Jan, 1 May and 9 Aug for all. If any group want to increase 1 more day, then other also need to do so, we will get 15 days can each group come out with one more? Chinese is easy Mooncake (中秋), 端午, 清明.... Existing public holidays strike a careful balance my paper Wednesday, Feb 29, 2012 THE existing 11 public holidays represent a "careful balancing of the interests amongst the various groups in our society", said Deputy Prime Minister Tharman Shanmugaratnam yesterday. It would be "sensible" to stick to these days, he added. Mr Tharman was replying to a question on whether Thaipusam would be gazetted as a public holiday. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
13177 Hypersonic February 29, 2012 Share February 29, 2012 In terms of public holidays here, i find very pathetic as compared to other countries. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gearoil 1st Gear February 29, 2012 Share February 29, 2012 2 days for each group and 1 Jan, 1 May and 9 Aug for all. If any group want to increase 1 more day, then other also need to do so, we will get 15 days can each group come out with one more? Chinese is easy Mooncake (中秋), 端午, 清明.... Existing public holidays strike a careful balance my paper Wednesday, Feb 29, 2012 THE existing 11 public holidays represent a "careful balancing of the interests amongst the various groups in our society", said Deputy Prime Minister Tharman Shanmugaratnam yesterday. It would be "sensible" to stick to these days, he added. Mr Tharman was replying to a question on whether Thaipusam would be gazetted as a public holiday. Got balance meh? With the number of Ah nehs pouring in...which this Ah neh refused to admit... Darker variants will soon .. blanket the sky..over Sinkland.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jman888 Moderator February 29, 2012 Author Share February 29, 2012 in asian region, we are probably having the lower number of publci holidays if we compare ourselves to malaysia, hong kong, china. i doubt they will allow more chinese holidays like (中秋), 端午, 清明 firstly because they have to allocate more for other races/religions as well and secondly because singapore always want to make ourselves more attractive to investors and employers the key thing is balance so that it is for the local benefit. so one add must add 4 days why more pH not attractive to investors? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Acemundo Supercharged February 29, 2012 Share February 29, 2012 the key thing is balance so that it is for the local benefit. so one add must add 4 days why more pH not attractive to investors? yeah lor, add one means add 4........too much for our govt to stomach. too much holiday lesser working days, we become less attractive to investors lor. singaprore work force in the eyes of foreign investors always bang for the bucks, due to the long hours, subservience, and quality of work. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jman888 Moderator February 29, 2012 Author Share February 29, 2012 yeah lor, add one means add 4........too much for our govt to stomach. too much holiday lesser working days, we become less attractive to investors lor. singaprore work force in the eyes of foreign investors always bang for the bucks, due to the long hours, subservience, and quality of work. i think better to give another 4 days of PH. for big investors like mnc, they are already quite generous on the annual leave, just cut some day from day lor! for small business, they are already very sting on annual leave, some exploit it by giving 5-7 days. Compulsory PH will ensure these work either get paid holiday or pay in lieu it they have to work. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sk65 1st Gear February 29, 2012 Share February 29, 2012 the 4 groups (i.e.races) are not longer an enough representation of our population . i think we have at least 100 groups of people in our tiny island. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Acemundo Supercharged February 29, 2012 Share February 29, 2012 i think better to give another 4 days of PH. for big investors like mnc, they are already quite generous on the annual leave, just cut some day from day lor! for small business, they are already very sting on annual leave, some exploit it by giving 5-7 days. Compulsory PH will ensure these work either get paid holiday or pay in lieu it they have to work. hehe i support! but actually the MNC also not really most generous. i think their annual leave is decent for most levels of employe and only generous for the senior level of employees. but the justification is usually to attract talent the people working in small businesses are damn pathetic when it comes to this. i would support that they get mroe time off or annual leave or public holidays off Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
KARTer 2nd Gear February 29, 2012 Share February 29, 2012 in asian region, we are probably having the lower number of publci holidays if we compare ourselves to malaysia, hong kong, china. i doubt they will allow more chinese holidays like (中秋), 端午, 清明 firstly because they have to allocate more for other races/religions as well and secondly because singapore always want to make ourselves more attractive to investors and employers But soon due to full steam influx of new citizens from diverse racial backgrounds, gahmen will have to add extra pub horridays to be all inclusive! This could only be good when our calendar starts to show many many PH yearly Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Csnewbie 1st Gear February 29, 2012 Share February 29, 2012 the 4 groups (i.e.races) are not longer an enough representation of our population . i think we have at least 100 groups of people in our tiny island. count this way we have public holidays all year round [bounce2] Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Passion 5th Gear February 29, 2012 Share February 29, 2012 Wait for a few years when someone pass away. That day might be marked as yearly holiday to pay respect to him. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Acemundo Supercharged February 29, 2012 Share February 29, 2012 But soon due to full steam influx of new citizens from diverse racial backgrounds, gahmen will have to add extra pub horridays to be all inclusive! This could only be good when our calendar starts to show many many PH yearly hehe add myanmarese, pinoy and viet holidays? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Scion Turbocharged February 29, 2012 Share February 29, 2012 In terms of public holidays here, i find very pathetic as compared to other countries. our number of public holidays is lesser even to North Korea Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Maroon5 5th Gear February 29, 2012 Share February 29, 2012 prob wont happen the 4 extra days. banks close, stocks close not in line w trading n investment hub theory. i thk better to give 4 mandatory leave call it social leave. can use anytime. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jman888 Moderator February 29, 2012 Author Share February 29, 2012 prob wont happen the 4 extra days. banks close, stocks close not in line w trading n investment hub theory. i thk better to give 4 mandatory leave call it social leave. can use anytime. HK also a financial hub, they have about 15 days too, we get 4 more days and par with HK Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Maroon5 5th Gear February 29, 2012 Share February 29, 2012 HK also a financial hub, they have about 15 days too, we get 4 more days and par with HK oh is it? haha then mayb can since our sibeh original-minded scholars always like to called little zurich, HK Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jman888 Moderator February 29, 2012 Author Share February 29, 2012 then there will debate on which festive (中秋, 端午, 清明, etc) deserve a PH [laugh] ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...