CNA: About 1,200 Singaporeans Renounce Citizenship Annually

Vulcann

About 6,000 folks gave up citizenships in 5 years for various reasons.

Not sure the 300 naturalized citizens who surrendered their pink ICs were per year basis or overall figure in 5 years.

Would be interesting to know what was the increase of citizens from the foreigner pool for the same period.

Edited by Vulcann

if those can migrate to elsewhere, think they dun give a hoot about your over-priced HDB lah...

but then, the pappy would be happy with new citizens that can vote for them...

From CNA:

[url="http://www.channelnewsasia.com/stories/singaporelocalnews/view/1185735/1/.html"]"All Singapore citizens and permanent residents who own HDB flats will have to sell their properties if they renounce their citizenship or cease to be permanent residents. There are no exceptions to this rule."

- CNA/fa[/color]

I didnt know abt this.. if it's true then how come my friends who are PR in Aussie (worked there for over 10 yrs) are still holding onto their HDB?

Because they didnt renounce their citizenship; they are just PRs in Australia, and still citizens here.

I'd like to know how many of those 6000 admit they made a mistake

I've heard of two families who wish they hadn't left.

my melayu neighbour who is also a ex-spf regular retired and went to live in malaysia.

he says got bumi benefits and everything cheaper.and i think he renounce his sinkieship.

I know of several friends and relatives know living happily (some gave up citizenship, some stay as PR) in

Australia

New Zealand

Canada

USA

Last count more than 15 families I know of have migrate - since 15 to 5 years ago - and none of them have returned.

Can we STOP using the term Sinkies! You do not hear Hongkonger calling themselves Hongkies. Its a very deteriorating term.

its only those few who choose to use this word again and again.

I know of several friends and relatives know living happily (some gave up citizenship, some stay as PR) in

Australia

New Zealand

Canada

USA

Last count more than 15 families I know of have migrate - since 15 to 5 years ago - and none of them have returned.

Majority cannot afford to migrate , otherwise the figure will be 10x higher lah .

I think no one will know if any of the 6,000 regretted their decisions unless they share with us publicly.

Giving one's citizenship is a big decision which cannot be taken lightly.

As we do not allow dual citizenship, once one surrenders his pink IC ( not up lorry hor! [laugh] ) there is no way to turn back as our dear govt has made it clear that anyone who renounces the Singapore citizenship but wishes to get it back will be treated like other foreigners by going through a lengthy due process with no guarantee of obtaining it.

Edited by Vulcann