Whathefish 5th Gear September 22, 2014 Share September 22, 2014 On 9/22/2014 at 6:49 AM, Jman888 said: i know one dun suffer in silent, always look forward to lunch time coz he got no tea break so lunch time is important. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rollagt 5th Gear September 22, 2014 Share September 22, 2014 ATB don't count. My uncle passed away few weeks ago, few days before his passing, I visited him in the hospital and he very pai sei that his children still have to take turns and took leave from work just to look after him. My cousin reply him, "aiya ! When we are small you take care of me, kor kor and sister, now I take care of you, cannot ah ?" Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Atonchia Supersonic September 22, 2014 Share September 22, 2014 http://m.huffpost.com/us/entry/5826816 Good parenting Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Whathefish 5th Gear September 22, 2014 Share September 22, 2014 On 9/22/2014 at 6:55 AM, Rollagt said: ATB don't count. My uncle passed away few weeks ago, few days before his passing, I visited him in the hospital and he very pai sei that his children still have to take turns and took leave from work just to look after him. My cousin reply him, "aiya ! When we are small you take care of me, kor kor and sister, now I take care of you, cannot ah ?" parents will try not to be a burden to their kids.....there are stories of elderly killing themself when they are diagnosed with terminal disease Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hondacub777 6th Gear September 22, 2014 Share September 22, 2014 On 9/22/2014 at 7:01 AM, Whathefish said: parents will try not to be a burden to their kids.....there are stories of elderly killing themself when they are diagnosed with terminal disease Dun worry I will take care of you. Remember our vows? 不在乎天长地久,只在乎成经拥有 4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ahgong Supercharged September 22, 2014 Share September 22, 2014 On 9/21/2014 at 11:55 PM, Picnic06 said: hmmmmmm............... I posted this 2.5 yrs ago and now some member comes in and saw the meaning of the articles ... So, these group had become DADDY themselves and learning the 'art' of bring up a child .... @picnic06, its call the next wave. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Whathefish 5th Gear September 22, 2014 Share September 22, 2014 On 9/22/2014 at 7:12 AM, Hondacub777 said: Dun worry I will take care of you. Remember our vows? 不在乎天长地久,只在乎成经拥有 of coz remember.....but just in case...i better get a few more.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ronleo 6th Gear September 22, 2014 Share September 22, 2014 On 9/22/2014 at 6:12 AM, Rollagt said: Fathers ALWAYS suffer in silence..no matter how tough life is, they always put on a strong front infront of his spouse and children. For females, they can cry and borrow husband shoulders.. When a father is down, who can he turn to ? His mother is already long gone. Beer and buddies??? These 2 are very impt creations IMO... Agreed with u tat man always put on brave front... But it would be really useful to have tat occasional buddies session to kpkb abt EVERYTHING! In fact, after a few rounds, mood gets better and lesser tension too! 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rollagt 5th Gear September 22, 2014 Share September 22, 2014 Beer can only relieve for a few hours, worse still drink driving and get caught. Buddies ah..got money then got buddies. Some buddies very kind hearted, bring you go kopitiam to gai xiao ah long for you. After that go find ATB since got money liao. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic September 22, 2014 Share September 22, 2014 On 9/22/2014 at 7:01 AM, Atonchia said: http://m.huffpost.com/us/entry/5826816 Good parenting say easy. hard to do in real life. I know this, but i find it not easy to implement. There's always time pressure. Not easy to cajole a kid to try harder also sometimes. I'm not good at soft approach ha 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Typhoonz 4th Gear September 22, 2014 Share September 22, 2014 On 9/22/2014 at 8:57 AM, Lala81 said: say easy. hard to do in real life. I know this, but i find it not easy to implement. There's always time pressure. Not easy to cajole a kid to try harder also sometimes. I'm not good at soft approach ha That's make the 2 of us... Soft approach don't work so always end up resorting to the tuff method... I know it's not good but sigh... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vhtfhwlego Supercharged September 22, 2014 Share September 22, 2014 My dad doesn't give me alot of attention. I can only remember that I ate with him once in the past 30 years. Only until recently I learnt that, The greatest love a father can give to a child is to love the mother. Thank you Dad for being there for us. 5 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ktglfc Hypersonic September 22, 2014 Share September 22, 2014 Sometimes, when we have our own family and have our own home, we tend to neglect our parents who are not staying with us... we tend to visit them, maybe once or twice a week, and only shower them the love and concern at that time... and we will come out with excuse that we have our own family to deal and love with... What our parents want is just some calls to them and have a nice chat with them... have we done this? Have I done this too? ..... 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Spring Moderator September 22, 2014 Share September 22, 2014 On 9/22/2014 at 8:57 AM, Lala81 said: say easy. hard to do in real life. I know this, but i find it not easy to implement. There's always time pressure. Not easy to cajole a kid to try harder also sometimes. I'm not good at soft approach ha My personal belief is that we should use the soft approach for kids who are obedient/kiasu type and hard approach for those lazy/take it easy type of kids. No one size fits all. My own daughter was the obedient type who lacks confidence so had to use the soft approach and whilst it tests your patience, I can say it works most times. My nephew/niece is the opp, have to kick them up the backside to get them going and again I can say it works most times as well. My 2 cents!! On 9/22/2014 at 9:46 AM, Typhoonz said: That's make the 2 of us... Soft approach don't work so always end up resorting to the tuff method... I know it's not good but sigh... 6 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Typhoonz 4th Gear September 22, 2014 Share September 22, 2014 On 9/22/2014 at 10:34 AM, Spring said: My personal belief is that we should use the soft approach for kids who are obedient/kiasu type and hard approach for those lazy/take it easy type of kids. No one size fits all. My own daughter was the obedient type who lacks confidence so had to use the soft approach and whilst it tests your patience, I can say it works most times. My nephew/niece is the opp, have to kick them up the backside to get them going and again I can say it works most times as well. My 2 cents!! I have 3 and need 3 very different approaches... So much so until I blurr and end up using the most effective method... I think I need to do some serious self evaluation... [shakehead] Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Spring Moderator September 22, 2014 Share September 22, 2014 On 9/22/2014 at 10:43 AM, Typhoonz said: I have 3 and need 3 very different approaches... So much so until I blurr and end up using the most effective method... I think I need to do some serious self evaluation... [shakehead] Yes having 3 with 3 diff characters is tough and inevitable they will compare how come A gets away on certain things whilst for B, everything also cannot etc. My bro had the same problem and his daughter who was the most diff compared to her 2 brothers always complain the boys get away with everything but she fails to see that the boys earned it whilst she didn't! We learn along the way and yes we tear our hair out as well! 6 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Typhoonz 4th Gear September 22, 2014 Share September 22, 2014 On 9/22/2014 at 10:53 AM, Spring said: Yes having 3 with 3 diff characters is tough and inevitable they will compare how come A gets away on certain things whilst for B, everything also cannot etc. My bro had the same problem and his daughter who was the most diff compared to her 2 brothers always complain the boys get away with everything but she fails to see that the boys earned it whilst she didn't! We learn along the way and yes we tear our hair out as well! My temper always gets the worse of me during these times... Always tell myself to take a deep breath before scolding my kids but every time also forget... Scold already then regret and start to feel bad... Machiam like when I'm young... Do dumb things and get into trouble then regret... I resolute to hold my temper for 20 seconds before I scold my kids... Perhaps after 20 seconds I might not even scold them but tell them firmly... Let's see how things goes... 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
F355 Turbocharged September 22, 2014 Share September 22, 2014 Kids look up to their dads as heroes. If your dad is still around , spend more time with him. If he's no longer around , dedicate this song to him ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...