New satellite-based ERP is ready

Billcoke

Minister said "Some years' before new satellite-based ERP is ready" , but you put the title as "New new satellite-based ERP is ready" Talk about selective quoting....

Read between the lines, the message is very clear.

these are mine thoughts on this issue

1. government planning to charge by per km or even per 100m when the satellite comes into service, this will be disguise as monitoring traffic flow

2. government is going to act blur about the existence of road tax, COE and GST it involves, when their function was to ensure reasonable car population on the road

3. some government body or individuals connected to the government has invested in this technology, so it will be public money to government to selective favored individual or company (this is just a conspiracy theory)

i just dont get why we pay millions of dollars to ministers to think of all this convoluted ways (expensive to tax payers) just to reduce the car the population on the road

- build better public transport system - if public transport system is so easy to use, comfortable and convenient - cheap also, do think many would not change from traveling in private car to public transport

what a bunch of ............. LAN JIAO LANG ?

Just cover the receiver.. the receiver cannot see the satellite.. [lipsrsealed]

Then you'll pay FULL.

Just like you enter ERP that cannot deduct your money, you'll be guilty until proven innocent.

seriously...this will take away the joys of owning a vehicle.

no more taking a leisure drive to nowhere..

and drivers will no longer offer giving a ride to friends etc, or ask gf go home herself.

lesser visits to ah gong ah ma's house..

pay-by-distance is like taking taxi. i wont be surprised if got surcharges for peak periods and midnight!!

i'm now looking forward to GE2016 more than before [;)]

knn....your wife will know where you go by looking at the monthly ERP bill...siao liao

Unless they erect new ERP gantry at GL lorong 1 and Lorong 38. [laugh]

When there is will there will be way to get around it.

Hope the ERP satelite only charges at peak hours or when traffic is heavy and the rest of the day no charges. [laugh] [laugh]

Edited by Yewheng

Read between the lines, the message is very clear.

I notice the title have changed a little. IMO, now its better. Just saying its not clear the title until you read the article.

[:)]

It will never work because you can disconnect the fuse, while using the car.

Even so, you can wrap aluminum foil around the unit to cut out the GPS signal.

There will be a lot of potential loopholes.

And gov will have to enact alot more laws to prevent people from abusing the loopholes.

Having said that....I am really looking forward to zero ARF and COE, and charged based on per use basis.

The current one time payment, reduces the 'pain' and 'burden' that car owners feels while on the road; meaning already paid so much, die die use the car everyday everywhere.

When change to daily charges, people will feel the direct 'pain' for 365 days. Just like when petrol price hike up, people will feel the pain when refueling and try to drive less aggressively to save fuel.

If the distance basEd ERP is charged directly from the cash card every time, the 'pain' is felt everyday, which is very effective to control the driving habits.

Most likely will install tamper proof transponder that will auto power on when engine starts or power on for electric cars. Like those installed on taxi. Will immobilise the engine if being tampered.

If it's is disengag

Hope the ERP satelite only charges at peak hours or when traffic is heavy and the rest of the day no charges. [laugh] [laugh]

What i heard is prices will change according to traffic condition. So during peak period u drive, confirm will be more ex den off peak period.

Peak charge more, off peak charge less??? Then got charge at all times? [bigcry]

That'll be nice, very nice if I'm able to receive 'free' World Cup live telecasts. So thoughtful of you to share the idea.

I ask myself why they're doing it. I could not think of any reasons other then that it is purely to generate more, alot more revenues...

Peak charge more, off peak charge less??? Then got charge at all times? [bigcry]

That's sad.. Off peak hours not much cars also want to charge??

Nevermind still got a few years, hoping when it started implement it is not what rumours as it is now.

Then existing car owner who pay sky high price for their COE how? Refund? :huh:

Two options:

1) Gahmen can allow existing owners to scrap at fair value. Some loss, but not a lot.

2) Gahmen can tell existing car owners to suck it up and live with it.

Remember, cars are not an investment. We're not talking real estate here. Your life savings should not be tied up in a mere car, and anyone should be able to stomach this kind of loss. If they still end up in a bad spot, well, that's their own folly to begin with.

I can't believe how many marginal car "owners" are happy with being in a state of negative equity for most of their loan period here. [rolleyes] If they get caught out, I'm not shedding any tears for them.

seriously...this will take away the joys of owning a vehicle.

no more taking a leisure drive to nowhere..

and drivers will no longer offer giving a ride to friends etc, or ask gf go home herself.

lesser visits to ah gong ah ma's house..

pay-by-distance is like taking taxi. i wont be surprised if got surcharges for peak periods and midnight!!

i'm now looking forward to GE2016 more than before [;)]

On the contrary. If they make car ownership dirt cheap, you can always buy a Fallali and take it up to Truly Asia every weekend. Pasir Gudang at the least, Sepang whenever you can. "BMW" for the rest of the week.

But knowing the Pay And Pay people, they'll be quite happy to levy this GPS thing on top of all the existing charges (which is something I dread).

knn....your wife will know where you go by looking at the monthly ERP bill...siao liao

still got bicycle to ride to rendervours................. it doesnt have erp record :D

if that happens

what are they going to do with ERP gantry

scrapyard

after spending money on this

put in front of every mscp exit? still can generate some money for LTA there :D