Yeshe Turbocharged February 26, 2012 Share February 26, 2012 So can someone preeasse tell us why VW cars are still selling like hot cakes har? becos of its low OMV. given singapore context, most people will go n buy conti car which is cheaper than jap car now ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cdior 1st Gear February 26, 2012 Share February 26, 2012 Can get auto wrx if u ok with the fc. Should be 7-8km/l only. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Adrianlim13 2nd Gear February 26, 2012 Share February 26, 2012 its the dsg problem limited to sg only ? I find it strange as if its a real problem that it should be widely reported Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vega Turbocharged February 26, 2012 Share February 26, 2012 its the dsg problem limited to sg only ? I find it strange as if its a real problem that it should be widely reported Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Heavenspirit Clutched February 26, 2012 Share February 26, 2012 Can get auto wrx if u ok with the fc. Should be 7-8km/l only. Evo X sst solve the problem, it's auto, 9-10km/l , can drive as normal car as long turbo not kick and drive in a cruise manner ( rpm maintain at 2k) Great handling , any driver can handle it, Demand car in future if future hybrid evo sucks. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jolie888 Clutched February 26, 2012 Share February 26, 2012 (edited) But after reading their forum, Now i think twice again, how can a car running 100km/h and suddenly gearbox alarm and cause a e-stop to 50 km/h and created accident by someone hit behind. That why very dangerous gearbox. TS, why you so liddat one? :angry: I thought that the DSG problem was a well kept secret, discussed only within the confines of vagsg forum, by VW owners only?!!! See lah now what you have done? :angry: In case you are not aware, MyCarForum is a very much visited website, so much so that it is oft quoted in the local newspapers. Now, more than half the country's car owning community will now know about the DSG problem! There goes the resale value of our VW cars lah. Cannot liddat one lah Edited February 26, 2012 by Jolie888 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Toothiewabbit Supersonic February 26, 2012 Share February 26, 2012 (edited) Just don't understand why the renown Germans are putting out a product that has serious technical flaw? Do they actually expect new owners to find this out on their own and accept this? Edited February 26, 2012 by Toothiewabbit Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Adrianlim13 2nd Gear February 26, 2012 Share February 26, 2012 exactly my point. how could this happen ? if is isolated case I can understand but it seems its so widespread. How can the VW continue to sell the product with a faulty gearbox. Its not only unethical but dangerous Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Toothiewabbit Supersonic February 26, 2012 Share February 26, 2012 exactly my point. how could this happen ? if is isolated case I can understand but it seems its so widespread. How can the VW continue to sell the product with a faulty gearbox. Its not only unethical but dangerous Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
KARTer 2nd Gear February 26, 2012 Share February 26, 2012 Errr, are you sure your wife can handle an evo? I don't think so from the way you describe her driving capability.. Evo is a killing machine if fall into the hand of a kanchiong spider.... One way to prevent accidental "flooring" of the accelerated by kanchiong driver:- customize the spring rate of the acc pedal so that once beyond say one-third point (roughly before turbo kicks in) the pedal becomes extra stiff Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
KARTer 2nd Gear February 26, 2012 Share February 26, 2012 Yap loh, if go for the lancer 1.8, maigt as well get the evo lah. This Singapore women can"t drive manual is fast becoming an international joke. Other countries, women have no issue driving manual (except maybe USA) Many men in the US also have problem Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vega Turbocharged February 26, 2012 Share February 26, 2012 One way to prevent accidental "flooring" of the accelerated by kanchiong driver:- customize the spring rate of the acc pedal so that once beyond say one-third point (roughly before turbo kicks in) the pedal becomes extra stiff Some cars have this feature....... but the reverse effect. Once you step hard on the pedal, it will drop gear to give you more power. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
KARTer 2nd Gear February 26, 2012 Share February 26, 2012 Some cars have this feature....... but the reverse effect. Once you step hard on the pedal, it will drop gear to give you more power. Talking about throttle-induced down shift:- the driver can do the reverse ie up-shift by slightly easing off the throttle at the right point during acceleration. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tailgatepro 1st Gear February 26, 2012 Author Share February 26, 2012 Then I would suggest that you go back to vagsg.com forum and read again. VW DSG repeatedly stall at traffic lights (when about to move off) and at U-turns! This is in addition to the recent postings of VWs stalling on the move, while doing 100 km/h on the expressways. WTF? You still want to buy such an unreliable car hah? Resale value sure very lousy one. Go to sgcarmart - see how many VWs are dumped in the used car market? They can ask for any price ... But no takers leh Can you tahan not knowing when the DSG will fail on you? Your family also at risk when it stalls on road suddenly. Forget the $/BHP or cc/Nm factors lah. I think your life ... and especially your family's life should be most important to you. Life is not just value for money, when a product is unreliable! LOL, cool down man, that why I also mention, after reading their forum, I already think twice. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kiadaw 6th Gear February 26, 2012 Share February 26, 2012 its the dsg problem limited to sg only ? I find it strange as if its a real problem that it should be widely reported Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tailgatepro 1st Gear February 26, 2012 Author Share February 26, 2012 TS, why you so liddat one? :angry: I thought that the DSG problem was a well kept secret, discussed only within the confines of vagsg forum, by VW owners only?!!! See lah now what you have done? :angry: In case you are not aware, MyCarForum is a very much visited website, so much so that it is oft quoted in the local newspapers. Now, more than half the country's car owning community will now know about the DSG problem! There goes the resale value of our VW cars lah. Cannot liddat one lah Really, let me know if local newspapers come out I don't think is secret as it posted in any VW forum, not matter in SG, UK, USA. Even youtube also have. example : Don't said VW, Audi also inside youtube. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tailgatepro 1st Gear February 26, 2012 Author Share February 26, 2012 what is 2L auto rex? By the way, anyone know why WRX is abt 50% cheaper then EVO base on same year? I never heard WRX got problem, only WRX love petrol alot only. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Blueblack Neutral Newbie February 26, 2012 Share February 26, 2012 wat car dont have problem ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...