RadX Moderator August 28, 2014 Share August 28, 2014 2 year old thread Evergreen topic and Throttle2 still the same obnoxius from day uno ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wt_know Supersonic August 28, 2014 Share August 28, 2014 (edited) but this will never beat the number of COE threads .... hehe 2 year old threadEvergreen topic Edited August 28, 2014 by Wt_know Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Roh96 6th Gear August 28, 2014 Share August 28, 2014 One of our members suggested that one should not buy a car worth more than 50% of annual household income. Most of us widely accepted it as a thumb rule for sound financial stability. To start with, my present car is much more than 50% of our household income.. . Those do not want to tell the %, just join the poll as it is confidential! You may do one SK and one pre-SK series cars. Just to give an example, if my car is 100k, and household income is 200k. then the percentage is 50% To follow your example, some ppl household income 200K but bought a new car at 100K, and they drive it for full 10 yrs. So it work out to be 50%. If the same ppl with 200K household income bought a used car at 40K (eg. 7 yr old car) but they change car every 3 yr. It may look like their car price is always 20% of household income, but actual fact is higher because they would have changed 3 cars at least in 10 yrs. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nzy Twincharged August 28, 2014 Share August 28, 2014 (edited) $3500 - 20% cpf = $2800 spend $1500 (bare minimum) on car ... left with $1300 $1.3k ... enough to sianz char bor or not? muahahahaha if family man ... don't even think about buying car Maybe they save long time then buy car lo. I saved $2000 a month for 1 whole year before I got a 2 year old car. That time COE was still low. So after buying the car the only thing I spend on the car was for servicing, insurance and petrol. Hardly drive so petrol only $50-$100 a month. Now with 2 kids and COE so high I am still considering whether want to get another car or not since I park my car at home almost 7 days a week. Edited August 28, 2014 by Nzy Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Throttle2 Supersonic August 28, 2014 Share August 28, 2014 To follow your example, some ppl household income 200K but bought a new car at 100K, and they drive it for full 10 yrs. So it work out to be 50%. If the same ppl with 200K household income bought a used car at 40K (eg. 7 yr old car) but they change car every 3 yr. It may look like their car price is always 20% of household income, but actual fact is higher because they would have changed 3 cars at least in 10 yrs. Oh then i siao liao, change cars every other year. But changes cars also got residual value , doesnt mean everything gone right? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Quantum 5th Gear August 28, 2014 Share August 28, 2014 One of our members suggested that one should not buy a car worth more than 50% of annual household income. Most of us widely accepted it as a thumb rule for sound financial stability. To start with, my present car is much more than 50% of our household income.. . Those do not want to tell the %, just join the poll as it is confidential! You may do one SK and one pre-SK series cars. Just to give an example, if my car is 100k, and household income is 200k. then the percentage is 50% before vote, can explain what is SK and pre-SK? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
1fast1 Supersonic August 28, 2014 Share August 28, 2014 before vote, can explain what is SK and pre-SK? Licence plate series - first two letters. and Throttle2 still the same obnoxius from day uno And I thought you did such a great job of closing that other thread that was inevitably going to become a hao lian vs green/red eye thread. It's like Hydra - cut one head off, two more will grow in its place. Hail Hydra! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
RadX Moderator August 28, 2014 Share August 28, 2014 Licence plate series - first two letters. And I thought you did such a great job of closing that other thread that was inevitably going to become a hao lian vs green/red eye thread. It's like Hydra - cut one head off, two more will grow in its place. Hail Hydra! lol...still gotta have some evil, else good ppl no work to do...kekekeke Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
1fast1 Supersonic August 28, 2014 Share August 28, 2014 (edited) lol...still gotta have some evil, else good ppl no work to do...kekekeke I think "good" is too strong a word for people like you. I'd describe you as "necessary, but regrettable". Edited August 28, 2014 by Turboflat4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
RadX Moderator August 28, 2014 Share August 28, 2014 I think "good" is too strong a word for people like you. I'd describe you as "necessary, but regrettable". and you think i care what you think? 'one SWALLOW does not make a summer' Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
1fast1 Supersonic August 28, 2014 Share August 28, 2014 and you think i care what you think? 'one SWALLOW does not make a summer' Don't talk about swallow, wait Porker get jealous of you. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
RadX Moderator August 28, 2014 Share August 28, 2014 Don't talk about swallow, wait Porker get jealous of you. lol...... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vhtfhwlego Supercharged August 28, 2014 Share August 28, 2014 In MCF, car annual depreciation should never exceed one's 1month salary. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Quantum 5th Gear August 28, 2014 Share August 28, 2014 MCF people very rich. Maybe they want to advise all the "poor" people not to buy cars so COE will go down. :( average singapore household income shld only around 5-8k per mth. (HDB only allow household income <10k) to buy new flats. Meaning no car, no house for all these guys agree with you, we are not speaking same language with them, most of MCF members household avg annual income shld be more than 300k, especially few loyalty members should be 500k above Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Angcheek Hypersonic August 28, 2014 Share August 28, 2014 You want controversy ok i start. Its just a car. Whatever your household income. No full cash settle, plse dont buy car. Whether $50k or $500k. Dont sia suay. This is MCF! Ok now waiting for the flames. This advice is 2 year late haha :-D 2 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Angcheek Hypersonic August 28, 2014 Share August 28, 2014 In MCF, car annual depreciation should never exceed one's 1month salary. like that a Class will dep at about 16k , meaning I need to have 16K salary to drive one ..... NOticed some are looking at gross income , some at expendable income , some at NPV .... 2 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ngck 3rd Gear August 28, 2014 Share August 28, 2014 (edited) well done.... manage to revive a 2 year old thread.... lol i no money... can only pay full for bicycle Edited August 28, 2014 by Ngck Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Joseph22 Turbocharged August 28, 2014 Share August 28, 2014 You want controversy ok i start. Its just a car. Whatever your household income. No full cash settle, plse dont buy car. Whether $50k or $500k. Dont sia suay. This is MCF! Ok now waiting for the flames. Next time.. U looking for ppl to troll u. Just pm me. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...