Vulcann 6th Gear February 23, 2012 Share February 23, 2012 From STOMP: http://singaporeseen.stomp.com.sg/stomp/sg...parked_car.html Posted on 23 Feb 2012 Neighbour throws stones down on man's parked car, smashing windscreen STOMPer Christopher found the rear windscreen of his parked car at Tampines 'completely smashed and destroyed'. The culprit was fragments of a black stone, which had apparently been hurled down from the twelfth storey. Said the STOMPer: "I am particularly concerned about the cases of killer litter in Singapore. I happened to be a victim recently, but fortunately it was my car which bore the brunt of the 'killer litter'. "On Sunday Feb 19 at 9am, I wanted to drive my car to church but discovered that my rear windscreen was completely smashed and destroyed. "I found small fragments of a crystalline black stone around my car. I pick up more than 10 pieces and proceeded to make a Police report. "The Police said they would investigate. I then made a door-to-door investigation of the apartments directly above my parked car. "I found out after talking to the residents that is very common to find debris of all sorts thrown. Clearly there must be someone who lives above that is throwing stuff out. "I called the HDB who said the police will deal with this. However, the Police must wait for someone to get injured or worst KILLED before they do any serious investigation. Who has got the time to find this culprit? "Should the HDB, who we are paying for the carpark space and maintenance have some investigative team to look into such a menace? If left unchecked it could ultimately kill someone. "I am going to keep a lookout. I also informed the Chinese Media. I am also going to send this to my MP in Tampines; hopefully they will do something. "If not I will be the first person to highlight this warning made earlier, when a more disasterous event happens." ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vulcann 6th Gear February 23, 2012 Author Share February 23, 2012 Saw a similar thing happening to a black Vios at the open air CP of Blk 106 Serangoon North Ave 1 a couple of years back. Was walking back to my ride at this CP after a hearty roast duck rice lunch at Blk 153 across the road and saw a commotion nearby. A young furious owner was 比手画脚 talking animatedly to the cops and pointing repeatedly to his precious ride and up at the nearest block next to CP. Went closer and saw the car's rear windshield was smashed by a brick which left a small gaping hole and part of the boot also kena. The owner apparently wanted the mata to go up the block to investigate and hopefully catch the litter killer. Not sure what happened after that as I was rushing back for work. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jj5599 1st Gear February 23, 2012 Share February 23, 2012 Could it be a meteorite? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vhtfhwlego Supercharged February 23, 2012 Share February 23, 2012 Could it be a meteorite? an ostrich flew pass and it was it's s--t... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sk65 1st Gear February 23, 2012 Share February 23, 2012 (edited) Could it be a meteorite? Edited February 23, 2012 by Sk65 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vulcann 6th Gear February 23, 2012 Author Share February 23, 2012 Could it be a meteorite? Good guess but I think unlikely. If it was, the impact would be much greater and the owner probably would be looking down at a smoking crater where his ride was previously. [laugh] Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vulcann 6th Gear February 23, 2012 Author Share February 23, 2012 (edited) an ostrich flew pass and it was it's s--t... Must be the world's first flying ostrich suffering from an extreme case of constipation [laugh] Edited February 23, 2012 by Vulcann Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ender Hypersonic February 23, 2012 Share February 23, 2012 I thought killer litter is an offence and police will view it seriously http://www.asiaone.com/News/Latest%2BNews/...218-328737.html The police remind the public that they take a stern view of inconsiderate acts that endanger the lives of other, and will not hesitate to take firm action against offenders. So why the hesitation of have to wait for injury than they would act? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vulcann 6th Gear February 23, 2012 Author Share February 23, 2012 I thought killer litter is an offence and police will view it seriously http://www.asiaone.com/News/Latest%2BNews/...218-328737.html The police remind the public that they take a stern view of inconsiderate acts that endanger the lives of other, and will not hesitate to take firm action against offenders. So why the hesitation of have to wait for injury than they would act? I think the boys in blue may investigate but they will need both evidence and witness to have a strong case for the AGC to follow up with the prosecution. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Alim 1st Gear February 23, 2012 Share February 23, 2012 Windscreens smashed by falling ice cubes in Bishan carpark By Hoe Yeen Nie, Channel NewsAsia | Posted: 05 March 2007 2304 hrs SINGAPORE: Up to 20 cars parked between block 145 and 148, Bishan St 11, are believed to have been damaged by ice cubes hurled from an HDB flat. Residents say the incidents usually occur on Saturdays in the early hours of the morning, resulting in car parks often left empty to avoid car windscreens being shattered. Residents have had to endure falling ice cubes for the past five years. Police are still investigating the case. - CNA/yy CNA Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
KARTer 2nd Gear February 23, 2012 Share February 23, 2012 Saw a similar thing happening to a black Vios at the open air CP of Blk 106 Serangoon North Ave 1 a couple of years back. Was walking back to my ride at this CP after a hearty roast duck rice lunch at Blk 153 across the road and saw a commotion nearby. A young furious owner was 比手画脚 talking animatedly to the cops and pointing repeatedly to his precious ride and up at the nearest block next to CP. Went closer and saw the car's rear windshield was smashed by a brick which left a small gaping hole and part of the boot also kena. The owner apparently wanted the mata to go up the block to investigate and hopefully catch the litter killer. Not sure what happened after that as I was rushing back for work. is the roast duck rice stall still there?.... yummie!! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Alim 1st Gear February 23, 2012 Share February 23, 2012 Another hotspot... Smashed windscreen thanks to high-rise litter The New Paper Wed, Jul 13, 2011 HER car's rear windscreen was smashed by a bottle believed to have been thrown from a nearby block. There was also a dent on the windscreen's metal frame. Miss Gillian Tan, 27, saw this when she went to her car in a carpark near Block 109, Aljunied Crescent, on May 31. The sales engineer cancelled an appointment in Malaysia, called the police and arranged to get the car towed to a workshop. Initially, Miss Tan didn't think much about the cost of the repairs as she assumed her insurance policy would take care of it. But she later found out that her insurance policy covers only claims in excess of $600 for repairs. The cost of removing the dent on her car was less than that. In all, Miss Tan forked out $552 of her own money to pay for that, as well as the towage and an upfront fee to replace the windscreen. Asiaone Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Alim 1st Gear February 23, 2012 Share February 23, 2012 This one better... Used sanitary pad hurled out of window at Tampines A female resident staying at Tampines St 45, Block 489c has been tossing her sanitary pad out of the window. STOMPer neclord369 spotted one landing on a car's windscreen. STOMPer said: " This is uncivilized and disgusting " She threw the sanitary pad from her window and it landed on one of the resident's car windscreen. " This disgusting action has been occurring periodically since mid of 2009 and there were incidents of blood (from used sanitary pad) staining the windscreen". Stomp Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Iwant Clutched February 23, 2012 Share February 23, 2012 Used to stay at the west and the unit 2 floors above us used to throw their leftovers down...rice, half eaten chicken wing etc... Now shifted to the east, always see bread (to feed pigeons and cats), rice thrown down...also used sanitary pad always at certain time of the month.... how to stop them... I feel like buying them a dustbin... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Saabest 2nd Gear February 23, 2012 Share February 23, 2012 From your description, it sounds like a meteorite. By the time it lands, it is no longer hot. Can I have a sample? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Latka 1st Gear February 23, 2012 Share February 23, 2012 I thought killer litter is an offence and police will view it seriously http://www.asiaone.com/News/Latest%2BNews/...218-328737.html The police remind the public that they take a stern view of inconsiderate acts that endanger the lives of other, and will not hesitate to take firm action against offenders. So why the hesitation of have to wait for injury than they would act? Nowadays polis very senang one, they wl only work when instructed by magistrate. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vulcann 6th Gear February 23, 2012 Author Share February 23, 2012 is the roast duck rice stall still there?.... yummie!! Haha bro you also a fan of that stall? Haven't been there for a while liao so not sure if it is still there. Very popular and just before CNY many customers all ta bao whole duck home. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vulcann 6th Gear February 23, 2012 Author Share February 23, 2012 From your description, it sounds like a meteorite. By the time it lands, it is no longer hot. Can I have a sample? Bro not me lah it's the STOMPer who posted his experience. And the no longer hot part you sure? Not a space expert but I understand any object being attracted by our earth's gravitational pull and plunging through the atmosphere will be subjected to very high heat due the friction with air and will be speeding towards us at exceptional velocity. Most of the smaller objects will thus be burnt off inside the atmosphere but the larger ones that survived the process will be literally burning red hot by the time of they hit earth. The impact itself if on dry land would have created a crater and produced immense heat in the process. In any case, it is also not advisable to pick up any meteorite even they have cooled off bec they might be radioactive in nature and caused harm to anyone nearby. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...